We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids tour was awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Na Aina Kai Botanical Gardens

Na Aina Kai Botanical Gardens
4101 Wailapa Road, P.O. Box 1134, Kilauea, Kauai, HI 96754
808-828-0525
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 19 things to do in Kilauea
Attraction details
Carmel, IN
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Kids tour was awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

There are many things I liked about this tour/place. We did the kids tour (so I can't comment about the other tours obviously). It was split somewhat 50/50 between the gardens and the kids village. Both were great. I loved overall that there was no timeline, no hurry, we just strolled enjoyed and took pictures, explored the flowers and trees. Also on our tour we had a really small group 2 families, total of 10). I think this is standard there. In fact make sure you have a reservation before you get there. Loved having the small personal group.

In regards to the gardens the kids liked being able to 'collect treasures', feed the fish and explore the maze. To keep kids entertained while exploring gardens for more than hour, that is impressive in any sense of the word.

Then the children's garden areas was just a kids dream. To qualify, my kids are 3 and 6. They would have spent a whole day in the playground. They had a splash area, couple of areas for smaller kids and then an assortment of various climbing structures and slides and swings. There was a Navajo area at the back which was more education in its nature, but also very cool.

I also want to mention how awesome the staff is. They are volunteers but they care both about their customers and the gardens. They could not have done anything more to be gracious or helpful.

Everything was so well maintained, and just a pleasure to be there. It is all not for profit as well.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    32
    9
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

The guide frequently didn't know the answers to questions-and I'm NOT a botanist. She had a deep disdain for people who,have brought plants/animals to Hawaii and yet was constantly praising the Doty's for their adventurous spirit in experimenting with new species. Not impressed with care taken of garden, invasive plants all over the place damaging the garden.
Husband was bored out of his mind.
Would not recommend, should have followed the advice in the Kauai guidebook and not gone.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful, amazing and peaceful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

We joined another couple of friends and decided to take the 3 hr. ride tour. Our driver was a volunteer named Betty who was amazing. She was informative, humourous and her infectious love of the property could not be avoided....The love and attention given to the property by the original founders is amazing considering all they did in a short time period. We initially thought the entrance price of $50. was a little steep but found out it was worth every penny. You won't be disappointed, promise!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Well worth all the time you choose to spend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

This is a huge fascinating botanical garden but don't let the size put you off. You can wander about at will totally in control of your time, take a mini-tram tour (our choice), or--if you have children with you--take a briefer tour specifically designed for shorter interest spans and the need for activity. The volunteer docents are delightful--filled with good information, stories, and a willingness to accommodate garden guests' questions and guest wishes to stop and take photographs. (We were sooo lucky to get Norm, who has a great story for everything.) The variety of plants, sculpture, and vistas is amazing. And our guide showed--and let us touch and smell--flowers, fruits, and spices that none of us had ever seen. We didn't know, for example, the allspice is NOT a mix of all spices, but the dried and powdered leaf of a single tree. If you are going on the tram tour (8 per mini-tram) plan on 3-4 hours. There are several immaculate pleasant bathroom stops along the way. Na Aina Ka was a highlight of our visit to Kauai.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davison
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Stroll tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We did the walking stroll tour. It took about 2 hours. Our guide was very knowledgeable. The gardens are very interesting and beautiful. All of the tours are guided. I think I would have enjoyed an unguided tour more. It would have been nice to wander around and enjoy the gardens at my own pace.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Na Aina Kai Botanical Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Na Aina Kai Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Na Aina Kai Botanical Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.