We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch with a definite Yum-factor” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bistro

The Bistro
Kong Lung Village Center, 2484 Keneke St, Kilauea, Kauai, HI 96754 (Formerly Lighthouse Bistro)
808 828 0480
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 14 Restaurants in Kilauea
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: European, Seafood, Pacific Rim, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Bistro: A small restaurant serving moderately priced meals in a modest setting.At the Bistro our goal is to serve fresh,local,and great tasting food, while trying to minimize our environmental impact. Please enjoy yourself in our modest bistro,and be assured that we put faith in taking time to enjoy food,drink,and life.
Burt Lake, Michigan
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Lunch with a definite Yum-factor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

If you find yourself in Kilauea, Kaua'i in Hawaii, you can't do better for a casual lunch with family than the Lighthouse Bistro. The food, service, atmosphere, and price are all excellent. We were there with our son and his family on vacation. They had been there several times before and as this was our first time in Hawaii recommended it to us and we weren't disappointed. They have a little of everything, and with our party of six, ranging in ages from 10 to 62+, it was a good thing. From fish to burgers, it's all good!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    91
    30
    25
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kilauea, Hawaii
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A Great Dining Experience in Kilauea!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Open for lunch & dinner, The Bistro offers many interesting choices and is definitely worth the price. We especially love the appetizers.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troutdale, Oregon
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Best Mai Tai of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We drove into Kilauea to check out the shops and have dinner at The Bistro. Unfortunately, by the time we were finished shopping it was only 4:30 and dinner doesn't begin until 5:30. We decided to stay for Happy Hour. Very friendly bartender. My husband had the steak sliders with ice tea and I had a delicious Caesar salad with a Mai Tai. Best Mai Tai I had while we were on Kauai. Even though it wasn't served in a fancy tropical glass, it was made to perfection! No need for another drink, one was plenty!

Wished we could have had lunch or dinner. Next time!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Top Contributor
381 reviews 381 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
“Pleasant setting, good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stopped in at The Bistro on the way to the Kilauea Lighthouse and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. I had a beet salad that was tasty and creative. The greens were very fresh and the dressing tangy and sweet (a good combination). My companions had fish sandwiches. The setting is modest. That said, The Bistro has a full bar and a wide range of wines by the glass. I would definitely return to the Bistro if I were on Kauai's North Shore again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Montana
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere, reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I should start by declaring I go to this restaurant every time I'm in Kauai, which is about once a year. The menu has changed, the servers change, but one thing I can count on is a spectacular, well-thought-out dinner. This year there were some new entrees, and each of us at the table had specifically different tastes. We all found something to rave about. That's success. Add to that a good wine list and adjacent bar, great nightly specials, and an indoor (yet outdoor) dining area, and I'm happy to go there anytime. A little asian, a little seafood, a steak or two . . . we love the Lighthouse Bistro!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.