We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service and Very Good Fare in a Casual Atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bistro

The Bistro
Kong Lung Village Center, 2484 Keneke St, Kilauea, Kauai, HI 96754 (Formerly Lighthouse Bistro)
+1 808-828-0480
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 15 Restaurants in Kilauea
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, European, Pacific Rim
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Bistro: A small restaurant serving moderately priced meals in a modest setting.At the Bistro our goal is to serve fresh,local,and great tasting food, while trying to minimize our environmental impact. Please enjoy yourself in our modest bistro,and be assured that we put faith in taking time to enjoy food,drink,and life.
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Service and Very Good Fare in a Casual Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Our waitress provided some of the best service experienced this side of my favorite server at the Capital Grille in Kansas City. Her pace was perfect for this laid back bistro in the tiny town of Kilauea on Kauai. The menu provided a broad range of appropriate and flavorful items. A nice surprise was the small but varied wine list with modest markups. Overall a great casual experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    108
    33
    26
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great dining experience !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

First the night started off great with the beautiful hostess Melody seated us promptly when we walked in the door on a busy Saturday night ! Our waitress Sara was very pleasing and brought our drinks right away followed by our appetizers ! Our main course was delicious as I had the shitome special and my wife had the blackened pork ! Our dining experience was excellent and I would recommend The Bistro to anyone ! A+++ dining !!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great food & entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We loved the atmosphere, the food was nice, the place was clean, dinner was served on an actual plate, which we found to be a rare thing to the islands many eating establishments. We enjoyed listening to the live entertainment offered by Pancho Graham. A nice memory of a lovely stay in Kauai.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneham, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delicious food in a laid-back setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The food was outstanding. We had the fish rockets to start; my husband had the linguini con pollo, which had a delicious zippy sauce and I had the shutome special, which was out of this world, and finished with the grasshopper pie. We enjoyed the live music, which was never intrusively loud. The service was leisurely, perhaps because our table was behind a pillar, but that didn't bother us.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakley, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not To Scenic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Just dropped in for lunch. It wasn't a planned place to be. The view is of a little group of shops.

We sat on the porch area. That day the plastic window screens were down because of the wind.

My pulled pork sandwich was excellent. My daughter had the fish sandwich and complained I wished I had ordered what you had. We had an appetizer. can't remember the name but it was a deep fried wrap and it was the best of all three items ordered. Suggestion order the appetizer and a nice salad for lunch.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bistro also viewed

 

Been to The Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.