We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place for Mini Golf” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kauai Mini Golf

Kauai Mini Golf
5-2723 Kuhio Highway, Kilauea, Kauai, HI 96574
(808) 828-2118
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 17 Activities in Kilauea
Type: Golf Courses, Sports
Attraction details
Burleson, Tx
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
115 attraction reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“A Great Place for Mini Golf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is simply THE BEST mini golf course I have ever been on. The gardens were beautiful, the holes were challenging, and they have flags in the cups.

The staff were totally laid-back, very friendly, and made the experience entirely pleasant.

Go. Play. You won't be disappointed.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    43
    12
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Putt-putt with a view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Bring your camera, each hole has beautiful botanical gardens surrounding the holes. Fun and challenging putt-putt, even has holes where water comes into play, haha. Luckily they provide a net to fish out lost balls. No need to spend money on any other botanical gardens. You get a fun round of mini golf and botanical gardens, absolutely awesome! We had lunch after, food was delicious.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xinbei, Taiwan
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“EXPENSIVE but good, clean, natural & educational fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Full disclosure: I have always loved mini-golf. After reading that this place combines a botanical garden with min-golf, it was on the “hope to do” list. The driveway entrance makes a great photo and there was plenty of parking. Like many small businesses, this is not only mini-golf but a souvenir stand, basic snack bar, and coffee bar. The biggest problem comes in the cost. To say it’s expensive is an understatement. We let a family start playing before us- hate being rushed in such life and death game- and soon after we got hit with a rainstorm giving us a chance to sample the coffee (decent; reasonable price for a coffee bar). The course is your typical mini-golf course except you are surrounded by native vegetation that starts from the beginning of the islands’ history at hole one until you get to the end at hole 18. We saw families, young couples, and everyone in-between playing. The strapping security guard walks through the place to keep out any hooliganism. The grounds are very well kept and the entire place is super clean. The personnel are extremely friendly. And as a bonus for the shoppers, the gift shop is really well-done (good local book collection) with quite reasonable prices- much more so than the golf itself. Surprisingly my traveling companion had to be convinced to do this. But afterwards was very happy with the sheer amount of enjoyment we had. If you can get past the sticker shock (minus one star for that reason only), everything else is great.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeville, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lots of fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This was so much fun! They've done a great job of landscaping with local plants. It is beautiful. I went with several people who live on Kauai, and they were impressed too.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Top Contributor
395 reviews 395 reviews
254 attraction reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
305 helpful votes 305 helpful votes
“Lots of fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Went with a group of friends, some local and some visiting from the mainland. Normally, this is not the sort of thing I'd be bothered to do, however, the friend organising it said that if nothing else, the collection of Hawaiian native plants and other specimens is really worth it and also, there was a special free entry the day we went for "kama'aina" - local Hawaii residents.

Well, the golf itself was indeed a lot of fun and in two groups of 5, we spent about 2 hours traversing the different holes and admiring the gardens which are a real bonus in that they offer a great sense of the diverse plants used by native Hawaiians as well as those they brought with them when they discovered and settled the Hawaiian Islands. Although only established in 2010, the gardens are already looking as if they have been there forever. The lush vegetation-inducing climate of Kaua'i helps no doubt.

There were lots of people - adults and families with children - enjoying the mini golf and the gardens and we were actually surprised how popular it was. There are food and drink options available and restrooms so all things considered, this is worth a visit.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kauai Mini Golf also viewed

 

Been to Kauai Mini Golf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kauai Mini Golf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.