We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice tour and interesting places.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Best of Kauai Tour

Best of Kauai Tour
4560 Waiakalua St., Kilauea, Kauai, HI
8086347260
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 17 Activities in Kilauea
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: No Hassles - Just the Best of Kauai! Be effortlessly chauffeured by our personable and entertaining tour guides on a day filled with the absolute Best of Kauai. Are you looking for a fun-filled Kauai vacation tour that incorporates the perfect blend of breath taking views, scenic Kauai beaches, waterfalls, Island history and culture, as well as local advice on the best things to do while visiting Kauai? Kauai Northshore Limousine & Tours has been welcoming visitors to the Garden Island with their Best of Kauai Tour since 1987. Let us show you the absolute Best of Kauai on one of Kauai driving tours or land/air combo tours. We offer a variety of Kauai tours including a land and air tour combo which includes our Best of Kauai tour plus an hour long aerial tour of the island by airplane.
Belleville, IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice tour and interesting places.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We started our tour by having to go to the airport to pick up 2 other passengers. We had to be at the dock for the Fern Grotto trip by 9:30. Unfortunately construction help us up and we got there 10 minutes late. The Smith's had to run another boat for our van. Nice but inconvenient for the Smiths. The Grotto was great with nice weather. The rest of the tour took us to some of the better known sites on Kauai. If you don’t want to spend money on lunch I suggest you take a lunch with you since we stopped at a local diner for lunch. The rest of the tour was nice driving to the coast to see the lighthouse and some of the stars homes. The only negative thing was the driver asking for a 20% gratuity for the tour. I thought that was a bit tacky since we already paid over $120 per person for the tour.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahonui B, Manager at Best of Kauai Tour, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Aloha David W,

Mahalo for taking the time to review our tour. I am glad that you enjoyed your day, despite the traffic delays, and am sorry that our guide's behavior negatively affected your time with us. Please know that we have taken this issue up with our driver & it will not happen again.

Again, thank you for your honest response. It helps us to improve our tour & to continue offering our guests quality service & a memorable experience.

Mahalo nui,

Ahonui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    13
    3
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Steve really knows the island.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Receive insider tips on beaches, good local restaurants, have somebody drive you to the local sites, and hear some good stories on the way. Lots of fun...ask for Steve.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahonui B, Manager at Best of Kauai Tour, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Aloha redheaddr,

And mahalo for your review! We're glad you enjoyed your day with us & will pass your comments on to Steve!

Mahalo nui,

Ahonui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Better than driving”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Tour Guide picked us up at hotel. Took us to Wailua River Boat Cruise to Fern Grotto. Then the Wailua Falls. Had lunch at Kountry Kooking Kitchen. (good breakfast menu). Went to the light house. Saw monk seas Very enjoyable.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahonui B, Manager at Best of Kauai Tour, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Aloha Tennis78633,

We're so glad you enjoyed your day with us (and that you were able to see some one of our "shy" monk seals).

We hope to see you again in the future.

Mahalo nui,
Ahonui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great way to see some of the highlights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

As part of this tour we did the Wings Over Kuaii and Smith Family boat up to Fern grotto. We saw the Lighthouse. I would likely skip the Fern Grotto if it wasn't part of the tour. Our host, Steve, also took us to an excellent restaurant, Kountry Kitchen for lunch. He gave us good information on some of the recent history of the island, such as the 1982 and 1992 hurricanes, as well as info on some of the celebrities that live on the island. He did enjoy his job, going out of his way to point out a monk seal on the beach when we were at the lighthouse. Good thing to do early in your stay.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahonui B, Manager at Best of Kauai Tour, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Aloha Dominic P,

Mahalo for your review! We appreciate your feedback and are glad that you enjoyed your day with Steve.

Mahalo,

Ahonui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oyama, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lots to see, nice driver but too long locked in a van”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

We wanted to get an overview of the island and things to do there. This tour did that but in doing that you end up sitting in a not terribly comfortable van with a lot of other people (well maybe 8) with a driver talking loudly to point out interesting facts and sites (after a while oh my splitting head) driving on the only road (so at the whim of traffic) to see sites on a drive by basis (what was that again and how do we get there by ourselves?). We took our 19 month old along - not good for him or anyone else in the van although he was a good kid, what kid likes to sit in a car seat for that many hours? So we were the wrong clients for this tour and even if we had been the right clients I did not feel it was value well spent to give up a day of holiday just to get an overview - we should have read up on sites in the tour books and gone to points of interest.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Best of Kauai Tour also viewed

 

Been to Best of Kauai Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best of Kauai Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.