We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise found” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aloha Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilauea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aloha Cottages
Save
You added Aloha Cottages to your Saves list
4899-A Waiakalua Street, (Aloha Sunset Cottage and Aloha Sunrise Cottage), Kilauea, Kauai, HI 96754   |  
Hotel amenities
Holland,Mass.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Paradise found”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

My wife & I spent two fantastic weeks at the Aloha sunrise Cottage and we can't wait to go back.The grounds,all seven acres,we're gorgeous and you could pick your own grapefruit,oranges,limes,papaya,it was great.The cottages were like a home away from home,you didn't need anything.very well maintained,The mountain views,the flowers and fauna,and all the birds were very peaceful and relaxing.Their 2 cats and jack russell terrier"A'kiku are so friendly you feel like their your own.The secluded beach's are a 5 min. drive away and your close to Hanalai Bay, If your looking for a nice,peaceful and quiet place,this is it;look no farther. Denny & Marian Holland,Mass.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

After saying “I do’s” on the south shore of Kauai, my husband and I headed up the coast to Aloha Sunset Cottage and paradise is what we found. Carved out of the most peaceful 7 acres you can imagine, Catherine and Allan Rietow have thought of every little detail to make your stay comfortable. From the well-equipped kitchen to a fabulous assortment of guide books, snorkeling equipment, beach chairs and towels, we felt right at home. There is even a washer/dryer unit, which really comes in handy after hiking, snorkeling and ziplining.

This charming cottage is beautifully appointed with furnishings and decorations that are reminiscent of “old” Hawaii. We really appreciated the old style pictures which provided a glimpse into the past. Plenty of windows and an open beam design create a light and airy feel, filling the rooms with tropical breezes. Our expectations for the accommodations were more than met. In fact, they were exceeded.

Wandering through the lush grounds, you can’t help but feel a sense of tranquility. Fresh fruit and herbs abound and vibrant colors and scents grab you from every direction. Remember, this is a working farm. And what fun to find out that horses love avocados just as much as people. We got a kick out of feeding them every morning. And we also enjoyed the regular (outside only) visits from “Snowflake”, one of the resident cats.

Catherine is a wealth of knowledge. Not only did she offer up some great recommendations for restaurants and activities, but her island stories were fascinating. She and Allan have such a gracious and easy way about them, that I feel I have found a friend for life.

We can’t wait to go back! The north shore offers such breathtaking scenery that we are already planning our next trip to Aloha Sunset Cottage.

Mahalo Cat and Allan!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010 via mobile

We spent the tail end of our honeymoon here and wished we could have stayed longer. A cozy, relaxing home nestled in among a beautiful landscape. It was better than any hotel, it was a home and a home among the locals. We were free to walk around the property and eat the fresh fruit that we could pick!
The house was very clean and it felt like we were the first people to stay there. The house had everything
we needed including a few special touches to really make us feel welcome. We can wait to go back! I would love to keep this place a secret, but it's best to let others enjoy it too.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

So happy we decided to stay at a cottage instead of a big resort. It was so nice sleeping with the sounds of the rain and jungle. The cottage is really clean and well kept. Tastefully decorated. Catherine was friendly yet gave us our space so we felt very secluded. Nice to have a full kitchen to cook some dinners in and enjoyed using the beach gear. Also saved money by not always eating out and prices were better than the resorts. Loved it!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

It was a fantastic deal to stay at the Aloha Sunrise Cottage, & it gave us a much more unique experience than a tourist-y resort. Very comfortable & extremely relaxing. Catherine, the owner, is so friendly & helpful that we felt right at home. We'd definitely recommend this to our friends & hope to go back soon!

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

After renting the Aloha Sunset Cottage for a glorious week in May (2010), my husband and I hope to always return to this spot on future trips to Kauai. It’s difficult to know what you’ll encounter in person from online material, and the Sunset Cottage exceeded all of our expectations. Our congenial exchanges with Catherine Rietow, one of the property owners, set the tone for a great stay.

The location, on the North Shore, is a genius jumping off-point for exploring the island (not that any other part beats the North Shore!). Upon entering the cottage, we were greeted by a generous fruit/coffee/tea/chocolate welcome basket and a SPOTLESS interior. The place is just immaculately clean and inviting.

The grounds are spectacular, replete with a lush, mountainous backdrop, fruit trees, an herb garden from which you’re welcome to snip samples, and horses and chickens (whose multi-colored eggs, delivered to us by the lovely caretakers one morning, made for several memorable breakfasts).

One afternoon during our stay, we spent a couple of hours at the pool/beachside bar at the posh St. Regis resort in Princeville. Following cocktails (decent) and lunch (seriously mediocre), we wandered around the hotel a bit – and while the setting is undeniably gorgeous, we were so happy to head back to our secluded oasis on the Rietow property. Having a place all to ourselves, a true home-away-from-home (not just a room), was key for us – and money-saving to boot!

From the washer/dryer and guidebooks, to snorkel equipment and beach towels, we were very pleased with the cottage’s amenities. The Rietows have done a fantastic job stocking the cottage with everything you need on vacation from both a practical and pleasurable standpoint. We love to cook, and the compact, well-equipped kitchen for preparing the catch of the day from the Kilauea Fish Market along with wonderful finds from the local farmers’ markets was another highlight for us.

I can’t say enough good things about these accommodations, and we can’t wait to try out the Rietow rental on Molokai too one of these days.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

I can't say enough good things about the Aloha Sunrise Cottage in Kauai. The hosts, Cat & Alan were so nice.... they gave us fresh avocados, bananas & grapefruits upon our arrival and we were also welcome to some fresh lettuce out of their garden. They had great suggestions for beaches, restaurants & snorkeling (they also had gear to use). There are only 2 cottages and the main house on the property which made for a nice and quiet stay. Located at the end of a road but also quite close to many attractions. I definitely would recommend this to others - especially if you are looking for a quiet, relaxing environment to enjoy your vacation.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloha Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Cottages

Address: 4899-A Waiakalua Street, (Aloha Sunset Cottage and Aloha Sunrise Cottage), Kilauea, Kauai, HI 96754
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kilauea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Kilauea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aloha Sunrise and Sunset Cottages are romantic one bedroom, one bath, honeymoon guest cottages for two. Stunning sunsets, Napali Coast mountain views and lush forest surroundings frame these amazing retreats. Relax and unwind in the privacy of these sparkling, Hawaiian style hideaways. Our returning guests love the simple comfort and beauty of our cottages, the great weather, our tropical seven acre estate and our famous world class North Shore beaches just minutes away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aloha Cottages Hotel Kilauea
Aloha Cottages Kauai/Kilauea, HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloha Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.