We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to stay hands down” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aloha Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilauea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aloha Cottages
Save
You added Aloha Cottages to your Saves list
4899-A Waiakalua Street, (Aloha Sunset Cottage and Aloha Sunrise Cottage), Kilauea, Kauai, HI 96754   |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The perfect place to stay hands down”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010 via mobile

We spent the tail end of our honeymoon here and wished we could have stayed longer. A cozy, relaxing home nestled in among a beautiful landscape. It was better than any hotel, it was a home and a home among the locals. We were free to walk around the property and eat the fresh fruit that we could pick!
The house was very clean and it felt like we were the first people to stay there. The house had everything
we needed including a few special touches to really make us feel welcome. We can wait to go back! I would love to keep this place a secret, but it's best to let others enjoy it too.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seal Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

So happy we decided to stay at a cottage instead of a big resort. It was so nice sleeping with the sounds of the rain and jungle. The cottage is really clean and well kept. Tastefully decorated. Catherine was friendly yet gave us our space so we felt very secluded. Nice to have a full kitchen to cook some dinners in and enjoyed using the beach gear. Also saved money by not always eating out and prices were better than the resorts. Loved it!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

It was a fantastic deal to stay at the Aloha Sunrise Cottage, & it gave us a much more unique experience than a tourist-y resort. Very comfortable & extremely relaxing. Catherine, the owner, is so friendly & helpful that we felt right at home. We'd definitely recommend this to our friends & hope to go back soon!

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

After renting the Aloha Sunset Cottage for a glorious week in May (2010), my husband and I hope to always return to this spot on future trips to Kauai. It’s difficult to know what you’ll encounter in person from online material, and the Sunset Cottage exceeded all of our expectations. Our congenial exchanges with Catherine Rietow, one of the property owners, set the tone for a great stay.

The location, on the North Shore, is a genius jumping off-point for exploring the island (not that any other part beats the North Shore!). Upon entering the cottage, we were greeted by a generous fruit/coffee/tea/chocolate welcome basket and a SPOTLESS interior. The place is just immaculately clean and inviting.

The grounds are spectacular, replete with a lush, mountainous backdrop, fruit trees, an herb garden from which you’re welcome to snip samples, and horses and chickens (whose multi-colored eggs, delivered to us by the lovely caretakers one morning, made for several memorable breakfasts).

One afternoon during our stay, we spent a couple of hours at the pool/beachside bar at the posh St. Regis resort in Princeville. Following cocktails (decent) and lunch (seriously mediocre), we wandered around the hotel a bit – and while the setting is undeniably gorgeous, we were so happy to head back to our secluded oasis on the Rietow property. Having a place all to ourselves, a true home-away-from-home (not just a room), was key for us – and money-saving to boot!

From the washer/dryer and guidebooks, to snorkel equipment and beach towels, we were very pleased with the cottage’s amenities. The Rietows have done a fantastic job stocking the cottage with everything you need on vacation from both a practical and pleasurable standpoint. We love to cook, and the compact, well-equipped kitchen for preparing the catch of the day from the Kilauea Fish Market along with wonderful finds from the local farmers’ markets was another highlight for us.

I can’t say enough good things about these accommodations, and we can’t wait to try out the Rietow rental on Molokai too one of these days.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

I can't say enough good things about the Aloha Sunrise Cottage in Kauai. The hosts, Cat & Alan were so nice.... they gave us fresh avocados, bananas & grapefruits upon our arrival and we were also welcome to some fresh lettuce out of their garden. They had great suggestions for beaches, restaurants & snorkeling (they also had gear to use). There are only 2 cottages and the main house on the property which made for a nice and quiet stay. Located at the end of a road but also quite close to many attractions. I definitely would recommend this to others - especially if you are looking for a quiet, relaxing environment to enjoy your vacation.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyoming
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2009

My husband and I just returned from spending a week at the Aloha Sunrise Cottage near Kilauea, Kauai. This was our first trip to Hawaii and we had a wonderful time. The cottage is every bit as nice as their web site indicates. We had debated about whether to stay on a beach or inland a bit and we were very glad we stayed here. Even though it is not on the beach, the cottage is only about a mile off the road on the mountain side and since Kilauea is in the northeast corner of the island, it was very easy to access the north end beaches. We especially liked the seclusion of the property and the gardens were wonderful for relaxing. It was very peaceful and quiet (except for the chickens, of course) and inviting. We felt very welcome and right at home. We enjoyed fresh grapefruit and avacados grown on the property. If we ever make it back to Kauai, we know we'll stay here!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in August, 2008, and we loved it. Catherine is a fantastic host and went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed. She even let us stay in the room a bit longer than usual so we could shower before catching a flight. Also, she knew that we were in Hawaii for a wedding on Oahu, and she was happy to share her tips for the other islands.

We stayed in the one story cottage on the property and it was perfect for us. The kitchen allowed us to make our own breakfast and lunch and hit the road for the day. We also appreciated the choices of movies after a long day of hiking the North Shore.

The location is wonderful. It is a great point to see the North Shore from, and still allowed us to drive the hour to the other end of the island.

All in all we would highly recommend these cottages to anyone who wants to avoid the tourist beat, not pay a fortune, and still get great service and accommodations.

  • Liked — Having privacy and a kitchen.
  • Disliked — A bit tricky to find the road in the dark.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aloha Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aloha Cottages

Address: 4899-A Waiakalua Street, (Aloha Sunset Cottage and Aloha Sunrise Cottage), Kilauea, Kauai, HI 96754
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kilauea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Kilauea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aloha Sunrise and Sunset Cottages are romantic one bedroom, one bath, honeymoon guest cottages for two. Stunning sunsets, Napali Coast mountain views and lush forest surroundings frame these amazing retreats. Relax and unwind in the privacy of these sparkling, Hawaiian style hideaways. Our returning guests love the simple comfort and beauty of our cottages, the great weather, our tropical seven acre estate and our famous world class North Shore beaches just minutes away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aloha Cottages Hotel Kilauea
Aloha Cottages Kauai/Kilauea, HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aloha Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.