We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodations on Kauai's west side” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hale Puka 'Ana

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kekaha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hale Puka 'Ana
Save
You added Hale Puka 'Ana to your Saves list
8240 Elepaio Road, Kekaha, Kauai, HI 96752   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Kekaha B&B and Inns
Flagstaff, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodations on Kauai's west side”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Hale Puka 'Ana is a well adorned B&B serving excellent breakfast and seaside views on Kauai's west side. The location is an excellent jumping off point for hiking in Waimea Canyon, fishing and tour boat trips leaving out of Port Allen, as well as visits to the amazing Polihale beach. Our ground floor suite was roomy, exceptionally clean, and had an outstanding deck on which to relax and enjoy the sight and sound of the ocean after a day of adventure. Jules served a hearty and delicious breakfast (including fresh local fruit), which we could enjoy on the stunning balcony overlooking the ocean. She was kind enough to prepare and package a breakfast for us in advance for one morning that required us to leave very early for a fishing trip. Any time we had a question, either Jules or Patrick were available to help. This property certainly deserves the accolades and overwhelming positive reviews it has received. We visit the island every year and plan to return here as our base for all our west shore activities.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    8
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
114
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The truth is that I haven't ever actually been to the Hale Puka 'Ana B&B, however Patrick was so incredibly helpful when I was trying to arrange a special honeymoon wedding present for my friends who were staying there. He helped me organize champagne and strawberries, a surf lesson and helped us give a super special wedding present. I am sure that they their awesomeness extends to all areas. Next time were in Kuaui, we're for sure staying at the B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

The owners, Jules and Patrick were extremely helpful and friendly.
The location is remote from "the action" but absolutely fine for explorers who like to drive and discover.
The breakfast was generous and extremely tasty to say the least, with local and organic produce. From the breakfast terrace you have a wonderful view of the sea. Worth a fortune in and of itself.
The room was extremely comfortable, with spacious bathroom, plus a vast fridge and freezer in the room.
Also, there is the Tikka Hut on the property, which is an outdoor grilling area where guests can exercise their culinary skills and grill a piece of fish or a steak. And guests, including us, absolutely love it!

Room Tip: Choose seaside view if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed at Hale Puka 'Ana for two nights in March. I am so glad we decided to spend a few days visiting Waimea Canyon and West coast of Kauai. This charming B&B was the perfect home base for our adventures.

We arrived much later than we had planned and Jules was sweet enough to call a local restaurant to reserve a table for us, even though they were near closing time. Though the upper lanai where breakfast was served is near a busy road, the view looks above the road and out on the ocean. The breakfasts were organic and tasty.

Our room had a newly remodeled bathroom which was very nice and very clean. Our room opened up into the backyard where we enjoyed the grill and tiki bar for dinner.

Jules and Patrick also know their side of the island inside and out. They were full of tips and suggestions to make our stay especially enjoyable!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I strongly agree with what everyone else has written!! This is a great place to stay for a few days to explore the canyon and west and south shore. We were cared for by Jules as if we were family and her insider tips resulted in 2 great days of amazing hikes and finds all due to her. The breakfast and care was amazing....she even washed my dirty shoes that were out on the lanai for me! Last night we returned home to find an amazing gluten free chocolate cake that she made for my husband out on our lanai table with the candle lit....flowers, cute napkins and forks too! We enjoyed her thoughtful treat listening to the ocean waves and then laid our towels in the grass to stargaze...amazing! Only 3 rooms but private. Loved it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Hale Puka 'Ana on our first stop for our honeymoon and it was all we could talk about the remainder of our trip. The rooms are quite nice, the view from the second floor is amazing, but what really stood out is the hospitality. As many others have written, Jules and Patrick are INCREDIBLE hosts. The hospitality we received was far above and beyond, from the warm greeting (with lays) when we arrived, to the "mix CD" and personalized congratulations calendar, to the amazing breakfasts each morning. Patrick even gave us his business card and told us to call him for a tow if our 4WD truck ever got stuck in the sand - you'd never see that from a big resort! In addition, on our last day we had to get up early for a Na Pali boat tour - not only did Jules wake up early to make us a "to go" breakfast, but they also let us come back after the tour to shower and change (well after checkout time) before heading out to our next destination.

We stayed in other nice places later in our trip, but we always compared them to the gold standard of Hale Puka 'Ana. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

We came straight here from our wedding and it was perfect. Kekaha is far enough out that you feel separate from the gaudy resort areas.

Jules & Patrick (and their parents) were great. As everyone else has said, we lived the personalized CD and rocked it all over the island.

We stayed intone Ali'i suite and it was great, especially the big shower, private lanai and separate entrance, though we didn't spend a heck of a lot of time there.

Jules gave great recommendations on places to go and there were beach and hiking supplies galore. We also had masseuses come out and got private massages on the side of the house with the beach and waves in the background.

Unfortunately the time of year we went, the beach was about 1/4 mile away but they told us it can be across the street some times. That's the only thing I wish would've been better.

I would definitely recommend this. I think all the other guests we met were repeat customers too.

Oh and you're right at the entrance to Waimea Canyon so you can get up and on a trail in maybe 20 min. Way better than a drive over from Poipu.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hale Puka 'Ana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hale Puka 'Ana

Address: 8240 Elepaio Road, Kekaha, Kauai, HI 96752
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kekaha
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Kekaha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Hale Puka `Ana Hotel Kekaha
Hale Puka 'Ana Kauai/Kekaha, HI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hale Puka 'Ana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.