We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath taking views, but pack a blanket!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Koke'e State Park

Koke'e State Park
Kokee Rd, Hwy 550, Kekaha, Kauai, HI 96796
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$108*
and up
Waimea Canyon Bicycle Downhill
Ranked #2 of 9 Attractions in Kekaha
Type: State Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking, Viewing wildlife, Viewing foliage, Birdwatching
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A beautiful state park encompassing 4345 acres and containing 45 miles of scenic trails.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Breath taking views, but pack a blanket!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We camped in Koke'e State Park for three nights during our week-long stay on Kaua'i and it was great. The views as you drive up and down the winding road leading up to the park are incredible and it is well worth stopping at all the scenic pull-off spots. We never watched the sunset over the canyon, but we did see the sunrise and that was gorgeous!

Camping was a great way to save money while having a wonderful vacation on Kaua'i!

One really big piece of advice: pack warm clothes or blankets. We had been checking weather.com and it kept saying it would be between 70 and 80 degrees, but it got down to the 50s at night and we really appreciated the extra layers of clothes and towels.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    25
    2
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Takes a bit to drive up the windy road, but our whole group did feel it was worth it. Some did a small hike - easy trail, while others stayed and at at the lodge. Really good food and lots of hiking trails in same general area.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastrop, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Excellent Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We hiked one of the ridge tops along the coast. It had the best view I have ever seen in my life. It was strenuous, but totally worth it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Pihea Trail slippery enough to detract”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We hiked the Pihea trail and while the views were wonderful, when we could see beyond the clouds and mist, the trail itself was so slippery as to be a distraction. I'd recommend Kokee State Park to anyone and we found some other trails that provided just as good views without slick clay ruts for trails.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Wet but beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Great hiking. Swamp trail a must. Check the weather before you go! It can get very rainy up there. The hiking cannot be beat.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koke'e State Park also viewed

 

Been to Koke'e State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Koke'e State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.