We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wailua Bay # 204” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wailua Bay View Condominiums

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wailua Bay View Condominiums to your Saves list
Wailua Bay View Condominiums
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Papaloa Road, Coconut Coast, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Andover, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wailua Bay # 204”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We found the condo to be just as advertised. It was clean, extremely comfortable and well supplied with everything one could need. The view was spectacular and the sound of the surf very soothing. The decor was pleasing and the bed extremely comfortable. It is a convenient location for exploring the island. Nearby Kapaa has many good restaurants. The management was very obliging when we had questions (not that there were many). There was no noise from other units. The traffic sounds from the busy road nearby were not a problem because of the roar of the surf.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Wailua Bay View Condominiums, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Mahalo for your review of the Wailua Bay View and room 204. I am glad our management company was able to address any questions you had while you stayed with us. We look forward to possibly hosting you again in the future.

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    52
    9
    8
    5
See reviews for
25
118
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Snohomish, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

WBV #204 was all Chuck had claimed it to be.
The updated appliances and stonework were beautiful.
We could hear and see the waves at all times, including whales!! The beach access was a bit inconvenient but private and calm when you got down there. I must say the beach area was A+!
We didn't eat out once. There was a fresh fish market in Lihue and we grilled by the pool every night.
The bed was just like home and we really appreciated the flat-screen TVs and wireless access.
The condo location was perfect -- with day trips up and down isle.
We rented kayaks for the river and it was just down the street.
We also stayed in Poipu and the state park while were on Kauai. We definitly will come back to Chuck's place. He was easy to work with and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Wailua Bay View Condominiums, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding condo #204, which we manage. We will be sure to relay your messages on to Chuck. It sounds like you got to experience a lot of the joys that Kauai has to offer. We hope to see you at the Wailua Bay View again in the future.

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I want to start off by saying that we initially booked #304 and received a confirmation for this booking, but at the last minute, the booking agent made an error and that we were really suppose to be confirmed for #204. We were told that these two units were essentially the same, so we agreed to this switch.

Within the first hour of our arrival at #204, we saw three roaches -- one in the bathroom and a couple in the kitchen. We immediately contacted the booking service we used through airbnb and complained. I asked point blank if there had been a roach problem in this unit and was told that there had been and that an exterminator had sprayed the place a couple of weeks prior. We were told that "there was nothing" that could be done and that roaches were essentially a part of life in Hawaii. (BTW, when the rep from booking service came by two days later with the exterminator, we asked how many roaches they had killed at their homes that morning, neither were willing to respond. We had killed 4 and killed 2 more while they were there. Roaches are not part of life in Hawaii or anywhere where you pay $150+ a night for a room).

My husband and I have between us taken three trips to Hawaii and never experienced a roach problem. In fact, the two of us have traveled all over the world and never experienced a roach problem, so I could not believe my ears. But, I have lived in enough cities where roaches were an issue to know that spraying once two weeks ago will not get rid of roaches. The booking service apologized and eventually agreed to move us to #304, but couldn't move us for another two nights and couldn't get an exterminator out for another two days. We felt trapped because we had already paid and did not want to spend our vacation looking for other places to stay (plus it was the holidays, so almost everything was booked!). We started looking for other places to stay, but again, we had already paid! The next night, we saw several more roaches. Eventually, the booking service refunded 50% of one night's stay. Apparently, we were compensated for one night of roaches, but not both. We honestly can't believe that we had to pay for either night of killing roaches.

On the third day, they had the exterminator come out, and he immediately confirmed that there were roaches, roach droppings, and hatchings all over the kitchen, and even in the dishwasher. Before agreeing to move to #304, we had the exterminator examine that unit. He didn't find any evidence of roaches. Reluctantly, we agreed to move up to that unit. We shook out all of our stuff and moved our bags up to #304.

#304 was much nicer than #204, with newer and nicer amenities, newer paint etc. It generally felt much cleaner (no mold on the ceiling in the bathroom like in #204). We didn't have any problems in #304. It was quiet, clean, had a great view of the beach and ocean and a comfortable bed. The condo building is across the street from a small shopping center that has a decent taquiera and a nice little coffee shop. Plus it's walking distance to the beach, and the ocean view from the balcony is incredible. Had we just been able to stay in #304 the whole time, we would have been able to give this place a rating of "very good". But, because of the roach problem, we have to rate this place as "terrible".

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Wailua Bay View Condominiums, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
We are sorry for the inconvenience in your room move from 204 to 304. Despite our pre-room inspection where we saw no bugs and the condo association quarterly bug sprayings, we were sad to hear that you found some bugs in your condo. Under normal circumstances we would have moved you promptly into a room that was available, but unfortunately we were completely sold out during the holiday season between Christmas and New Year's (as most of Kauai was), so when the first room opened up on Dec 31 we worked promptly with you, the cleaners, and bug extermination company to make sure that you could have a smooth transition into your new room. We hope the refund we offered and gift basket in your new room was well recieved. We also hope you were able to enjoy the rest of your stay on Kauai and understand that accommodating your requests was a number one priority for us during this sold-out travel window.

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed at Wailua Bay View in unit 104 last month and it was an awesome home away from home. We really liked the location of the Bay View apartments, being in the central coast of Kauai, so you can go to north or south island in less time. We liked the shopping in Kapaa and found it to be very handy. Unit 104 itself was wonderful. It had some new updates including stove, furniture and other stuff like internet in room and flat screen tvs. We liked the convienient location of not having to carry the luggage and groceries up the stairs and we found it comfortable. There is no resturant in the complex and certainly no room service, but very much a good value for the money. We booked on VRBO, vacation rentals by owner, and will be back soon. Tip: If you can, take a hike up the back of the Sleeping Giant which is really close by. The view from the top is fantasic! Make sure you have water and go early in the morning...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Wailua Bay View Condominiums, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for the review of the Wailua Bay View and unit 104, which we manage. I am glad you enjoyed the great views of the popular surfing beach as well as the central location on the island.
We hope to see you at the Wailua Bay View again in the future!

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed in condo #207 for one week in November, 2012 and we were very pleased with the experience, especially with the ocean views. We were escaping the rain and cold here in Tacoma, WA and, though the sun did not shine a whole lot during the week, the weather was warm both day and night. We chose this condo in part because of the very reasonable price, about 150/night, which included a senior discount and all taxes; the price is really remarkable given that you are right directly on the ocean and the condo is filled with the sound of the surf. The set of condos is especially well maintained, with gardeners and pool people working most every day; beautiful flowering bushes throughout the property. The on-site manager was friendly and helpful. The street in front of the condos is undergoing work to install a new sidewalk and bike lane, but driving around the workers was no problem. There was no construction noise in the evening or at night and, of course, never any on the surf side and the lanai.The living room was well furnished and the kitchen was adequately supplied. Carpeting was immaculate as was the bathroom. The bed was king sized and truly comfortable. During the day, the whole condo is filled with the sight and sound of the ocean, just a few steps away. At night, the air conditioner in the bedroom was welcome, but only IF you did not set it on either Low or Sleep, because then it would rattle. Set it on medium and cool.The ceiling fans were a nice option in both the LR and the BR.
Each day we could sit on the large lanai and watch the kite surfers, surfers, boogie boarders and swimmers both right in front of the condo and in Weilua Bay, all of which you can see. At many other condo units, the individual condos are either set back from the edge or set at an angle to it. Not here. Here each and every unit is parallel to the ocean and only a few yards away from it. The view from #207 is a 270 degree view, all water and waves. Between the condos and the street (They are separated by a tall, stone wall.) is a cute little pool, long enough that I could do twelve swimming strokes from end to end. Nice that it is tucked in out of the trade winds that are almost always blowing (but warm). Plenty of free and convenient parking on site.
We ate at two of the five or six restaurants that are right across the street. Wood Fired Pizza is pretty basic inside, but the pizza is among the best we have ever tasted. At the Cafe Coco we dined on scrumptious seared sashimi grade ahi in a pleasant, garden setting. We did not try the Japanese, Mexican, or Korean restaurants, but they are all highly regarded. Just think though, these good places to eat are right outside your door. And I have not even mentioned the macadamia nut rolls at the Passion Bakery, which is right there too. There are lots of good restaurants on the island, but between these and your own kitchen, you can leave the car parked.
Located here on the East coast, you can find your way to either the north or south beaches in less than an hour. Make sure to leave time for a visit to Weimea canyon: it is truly one of the most remarkable places I have ever seen. Buy a pineapple from a roadside stand just north of Kapa'a, unbelievable taste. And get chicken from Chicken in a Barrel, just wonderful.
This was out first visit to Lanai but I hope we will get a chance to return. And we will certainly consider Wailua Bay View when we do, because it met or exceeded all our expectations.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Wailua Bay View Condominiums, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Mahalo for your review of Wailua Bay View and unit #207, which we manage. I think you hit the nail on the head with your great descriptions of the panoramic views, lovely pool, well-landscaped grounds, close proximity to great restaurants, and central location on the island (so you can travel both north and south with ease). I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back at the Wailua Bay View!

Aloha,

Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Condo #311 was everything we needed. Beautiful views from the lanai. Condo was clean and nicely furnished. Wailua Bay View is the perfect location on the island. Great starting place for going to the North Shore or South Shore. We plan on returning to Kauai in 2013 and will be staying at Wailua Bay View.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Wailua Bay View Condominiums, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your great review of Wailua Bay View and unit #311 which we manage. We are glad you enjoyed the views, furnishing, and central location. We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit!

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I've visited Kauai a few times over the years and have always stayed on this side of the island because of its proximity to everything else on Kauai. The complex I used to stay at is no longer in business, so I had to try a new place. Recently stayed at the Wailua Bay View Condos #306 and it was absolutely perfect! The complex is quaint and quiet, has a nice pool where I swam laps every morning, grills, and is oceanfront! The unit itself was perfect! The first amenity I look for wherever I go is a/c - I like it cool and comfortable! There is a/c is in the bedroom only, which was great for sleeping well. And actually, it's all we needed b/c the fans and the non-humid weather kept us comfortable in the rest of the unit. The unit was very clean, quiet, upgraded, and had a direct view of Wailua beach down below. The bedroom had double-pane windows, so we never heard a sound from outside. The w/d worked just fine, and we had free wifi. Fun beach gear was also provided, like snorkels, masks, boogie boards, noodles, etc. Just a tip: be sure NOT to leave any open food in the kitchen unless it's in tightly sealed containers, as we encountered tiny ants - it is Kauai after all. Even open boxes of cereal and bread should be kept in the fridge, along with everything else to avoid attracting these little visitors as much as possible. We enjoyed our breakfasts and many dinners out on the lanai each day and loved the location. We could easily walk to shops/restaurants across the street and to the Coconut Marketplace (unfortunately, a lot of empty stores but great burgers at TC's Island Grill). There's construction on the street...I believe it's to continue the bike/walk path....but it was fine. I'll definitely stay here again as everything was perfect!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Wailua Bay View Condominiums, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Mahalo for your review of Wailua Bay View and condo #306, which we manage. We are glad you found the condo to be very comfortable. We will be sure to pass on your kind words to the owner. We hope to see you again at the Wailua Bay View in the future.

Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wailua Bay View Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wailua Bay View Condominiums

Address: Papaloa Road, Coconut Coast, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wailua Bay View Condominiums 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wailua Bay View is a three-story oceanfront condominium complex overlooking Wailua Bay, a popular surfing and kite surfing beach in Kapaa. Each condo has a private lanai overlooking the ocean, full kitchen, washer/dryer, and private bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Wailua Bay View Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wailua Bay View Condominiums Hotel Kapaa
Wailua Bay View Condominiums Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wailua Bay View Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.