We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wailua Bay View 104 Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wailua Bay View Condominiums

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Wailua Bay View Condominiums to your Saves list
Wailua Bay View Condominiums
2.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Papaloa Road, Coconut Coast, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wailua Bay View 104 Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed at Wailua Bay View in unit 104 last month and it was an awesome home away from home. We really liked the location of the Bay View apartments, being in the central coast of Kauai, so you can go to north or south island in less time. We liked the shopping in Kapaa and found it to be very handy. Unit 104 itself was wonderful. It had some new updates including stove, furniture and other stuff like internet in room and flat screen tvs. We liked the convienient location of not having to carry the luggage and groceries up the stairs and we found it comfortable. There is no resturant in the complex and certainly no room service, but very much a good value for the money. We booked on VRBO, vacation rentals by owner, and will be back soon. Tip: If you can, take a hike up the back of the Sleeping Giant which is really close by. The view from the top is fantasic! Make sure you have water and go early in the morning...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Wailua Bay View Condominiums, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for the review of the Wailua Bay View and unit 104, which we manage. I am glad you enjoyed the great views of the popular surfing beach as well as the central location on the island.
We hope to see you at the Wailua Bay View again in the future!

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    55
    9
    8
    5
See reviews for
28
129
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed in condo #207 for one week in November, 2012 and we were very pleased with the experience, especially with the ocean views. We were escaping the rain and cold here in Tacoma, WA and, though the sun did not shine a whole lot during the week, the weather was warm both day and night. We chose this condo in part because of the very reasonable price, about 150/night, which included a senior discount and all taxes; the price is really remarkable given that you are right directly on the ocean and the condo is filled with the sound of the surf. The set of condos is especially well maintained, with gardeners and pool people working most every day; beautiful flowering bushes throughout the property. The on-site manager was friendly and helpful. The street in front of the condos is undergoing work to install a new sidewalk and bike lane, but driving around the workers was no problem. There was no construction noise in the evening or at night and, of course, never any on the surf side and the lanai.The living room was well furnished and the kitchen was adequately supplied. Carpeting was immaculate as was the bathroom. The bed was king sized and truly comfortable. During the day, the whole condo is filled with the sight and sound of the ocean, just a few steps away. At night, the air conditioner in the bedroom was welcome, but only IF you did not set it on either Low or Sleep, because then it would rattle. Set it on medium and cool.The ceiling fans were a nice option in both the LR and the BR.
Each day we could sit on the large lanai and watch the kite surfers, surfers, boogie boarders and swimmers both right in front of the condo and in Weilua Bay, all of which you can see. At many other condo units, the individual condos are either set back from the edge or set at an angle to it. Not here. Here each and every unit is parallel to the ocean and only a few yards away from it. The view from #207 is a 270 degree view, all water and waves. Between the condos and the street (They are separated by a tall, stone wall.) is a cute little pool, long enough that I could do twelve swimming strokes from end to end. Nice that it is tucked in out of the trade winds that are almost always blowing (but warm). Plenty of free and convenient parking on site.
We ate at two of the five or six restaurants that are right across the street. Wood Fired Pizza is pretty basic inside, but the pizza is among the best we have ever tasted. At the Cafe Coco we dined on scrumptious seared sashimi grade ahi in a pleasant, garden setting. We did not try the Japanese, Mexican, or Korean restaurants, but they are all highly regarded. Just think though, these good places to eat are right outside your door. And I have not even mentioned the macadamia nut rolls at the Passion Bakery, which is right there too. There are lots of good restaurants on the island, but between these and your own kitchen, you can leave the car parked.
Located here on the East coast, you can find your way to either the north or south beaches in less than an hour. Make sure to leave time for a visit to Weimea canyon: it is truly one of the most remarkable places I have ever seen. Buy a pineapple from a roadside stand just north of Kapa'a, unbelievable taste. And get chicken from Chicken in a Barrel, just wonderful.
This was out first visit to Lanai but I hope we will get a chance to return. And we will certainly consider Wailua Bay View when we do, because it met or exceeded all our expectations.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Wailua Bay View Condominiums, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Mahalo for your review of Wailua Bay View and unit #207, which we manage. I think you hit the nail on the head with your great descriptions of the panoramic views, lovely pool, well-landscaped grounds, close proximity to great restaurants, and central location on the island (so you can travel both north and south with ease). I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back at the Wailua Bay View!

Aloha,

Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Condo #311 was everything we needed. Beautiful views from the lanai. Condo was clean and nicely furnished. Wailua Bay View is the perfect location on the island. Great starting place for going to the North Shore or South Shore. We plan on returning to Kauai in 2013 and will be staying at Wailua Bay View.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Wailua Bay View Condominiums, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your great review of Wailua Bay View and unit #311 which we manage. We are glad you enjoyed the views, furnishing, and central location. We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit!

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
151 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I've visited Kauai a few times over the years and have always stayed on this side of the island because of its proximity to everything else on Kauai. The complex I used to stay at is no longer in business, so I had to try a new place. Recently stayed at the Wailua Bay View Condos #306 and it was absolutely perfect! The complex is quaint and quiet, has a nice pool where I swam laps every morning, grills, and is oceanfront! The unit itself was perfect! The first amenity I look for wherever I go is a/c - I like it cool and comfortable! There is a/c is in the bedroom only, which was great for sleeping well. And actually, it's all we needed b/c the fans and the non-humid weather kept us comfortable in the rest of the unit. The unit was very clean, quiet, upgraded, and had a direct view of Wailua beach down below. The bedroom had double-pane windows, so we never heard a sound from outside. The w/d worked just fine, and we had free wifi. Fun beach gear was also provided, like snorkels, masks, boogie boards, noodles, etc. Just a tip: be sure NOT to leave any open food in the kitchen unless it's in tightly sealed containers, as we encountered tiny ants - it is Kauai after all. Even open boxes of cereal and bread should be kept in the fridge, along with everything else to avoid attracting these little visitors as much as possible. We enjoyed our breakfasts and many dinners out on the lanai each day and loved the location. We could easily walk to shops/restaurants across the street and to the Coconut Marketplace (unfortunately, a lot of empty stores but great burgers at TC's Island Grill). There's construction on the street...I believe it's to continue the bike/walk path....but it was fine. I'll definitely stay here again as everything was perfect!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Wailua Bay View Condominiums, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Mahalo for your review of Wailua Bay View and condo #306, which we manage. We are glad you found the condo to be very comfortable. We will be sure to pass on your kind words to the owner. We hope to see you again at the Wailua Bay View in the future.

Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We had the pleasure of staying in Wailua Bay View #204 from 09/12/2012 to 09/20/2012. When researching a condo to rent on Kauai, our priorities were something affordable, not on the ground floor, killer view, and centrally located so we could easily explore the whole island. Wailua Bay View #204 was all that and more.

The Owner:
Working with the owner, Chuck, was a breeze. He was very responsive and beyond helpful. The amount of information this man has compiled on things to do on the island is insane. Definitely a huge aid when planning your trip.

The Location:
The condo is located pretty much in the center of the east coast of Kauai, which is ideal for day trips either to the south or to the north. It’s a few minutes south of Kapaa, which we found to be a wonderful town. The town is large enough to have a couple of grocery stores (i.e. Safeway) and a large selection of restaurants, yet small enough to explore on foot. We met a number of shop owners and artists, some of whom we’re still in contact with!

Wailua Bay itself is a nice, uncrowded beach, used mostly by locals for fishing and body boarding. We swam there often with no issues – it’s a very short walk from the condo.

The Condo:
In short, the condo was perfect. You enter the condo basically at the end of a long hall with the kitchen/living room at the other end. As you enter, the bedroom is on the left, which contains a queen bed, large dresser and a closet with plenty of hangers. There’s lots of room to unpack and store your clothes. This room also has a large TV and DVD player, and an air conditioner. This room does face the front of the building, which faces the main road and a gas station, but noise really wasn’t an issue. We did sleep with the a/c fan on for white noise, which is what we do at home, but honestly we slept fine.

Next down the hall is the bathroom on the left. But before you actually enter the bathroom, there’s a small linen closet on the left with a supply of towels (beach and bath), extra linens and detergent for the washing machine. On your right is a closet with the stackable washer and dryer – which to my surprise, were actually a good size and did a decent load of laundry.

The bathroom is a little on the small side, but perfectly adequate. There is storage in the vanity and medicine cabinet, so it is possible to keep the counter space clear. There is a shower (no tub) and one sink – water pressure was good. I should also note that the whole condo has obviously been recently renovated, so all the fixtures, counters, cabinets and appliances are new.

Continuing down the hall you enter the kitchen (on your left) and living room area. There’s a pretty good chance that this kitchen is better equipped than your own. You could make Thanksgiving here. Really. At one point I had to stop and think about which of the many pots to use to make hot dogs. In any case everything you need is here; full size fridge with robust ice maker, microwave, coffee maker (with filters), full size stove, garbage disposal, dishwasher, pots and pans, dishes, glasses, cutlery, silverware, even a rice maker and blender. Martha Stewart would want for nothing.

The living room, separated from the kitchen by an eating bar with stools, is a good size containing a couple of chairs, sofa and coffee table, as well as a small dining table and chairs. The room is also equipped with a large TV, DVD player, stereo system, internet modem and router. To be honest, we really didn’t spend a great deal of time in this room as it just got in the way of us getting out to the wonderful lanai, which is where we ate our meals, drank our mai tai’s, and enjoyed the killer view. A lot.

In closing, there’s no need to post a bunch of photos as the one’s posted by the owner are exactly what you’ll find. Including the view. Trust me, you’ll come home with an embarrassingly large number of photos of those two palm trees.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Wailua Bay View Condominiums, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for your very detailed review of Wailua Bay View and condo #204. It sounds like you had quite a memorable stay on Kauai. Our condo rental company helps rent this condo out with Chuck, so we will be sure that he sees your kind words.

Mahalo and hope to see you again in the future,

Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

If you don't need or like the resort scene and wall to wall people this place is perfect. Central location with easy airport access and several tasty restaurants within a 1 block radius where you don't have to spend a fortune. Washer and dryer in the room/condo is pure gold to me. Just don't expect maid service or a concierge. But they keep the condo supplied with helpful extras like beach towels/mats, sunscreen, etc.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I was here in January 2012 for 3 weeks. I'm back for another 2 weeks. I really love this place. Wailua is a great location for quick access to most of the Island. The condo I stay in is 109. The bed is very comfortable. The aero-type beds are very comfortable too. I prefer to sleep on one of them in the living area near the lanai doors to hear the ocean all night. I love to lounge on the lanai and just watch the ocean or the people surfing. The kitchen has been updated in this condo and it is stocked with just about anything you would need. There was even stuff in the fridge. Beach chairs, umbrellas ,coolers. Just about anything needed. The pool area is attractive and never crowded. All sorts of beautiful flowers growing on the property. When I first arrived there were ants in a box of brown sugar that hadn't been closed up well. They evidently felt threatened by the bottle of vinegar I set on the counter cause they all took off. Having a washer and dryer is a plus. If you are looking for "comfortable and reasonably priced" this is the place

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Wailua Bay View Condominiums, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind review of the Wailua Bay View. We do not manage unit 109, but appreciate your kind comments about the proeprty and views.

Happy travels,

Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
0.3 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
2.8 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#5 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 1,699 reviews
0.6 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach
0.5 mi away
Kauai Coast Resort at the Beachboy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wailua Bay View Condominiums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wailua Bay View Condominiums

Address: Papaloa Road, Coconut Coast, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wailua Bay View Condominiums 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wailua Bay View is a three-story oceanfront condominium complex overlooking Wailua Bay, a popular surfing and kite surfing beach in Kapaa. Each condo has a private lanai overlooking the ocean, full kitchen, washer/dryer, and private bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Wailua Bay View Condominiums reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wailua Bay View Condominiums Hotel Kapaa
Wailua Bay View Condominiums Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wailua Bay View Condominiums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.