We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Sad!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Aloha Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Aston Aloha Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   3-5920 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Vancouver Island, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“So Sad!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We decided that we would check this place out for future reference and all I can say is that I am so glad we had booked elsewhere. Very sad neglected resort that once must have been very nice. If there were renovations being done they were not in any way obvious. 2 people at the pool,bar and dining room closed and it was suppertime ( we were considering eating there.) Forget the price - look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaBeach4Manager, Manager at Aston Aloha Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are renovating and will be completed in early 2016. We welcome you back in 2016 to enjoy our new product. Please call us directly so we many better serve you.

Mahalo
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    202
    173
    104
    95
See reviews for
118
291
34
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Top Contributor
341 reviews 341 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife would give this place 5 stars for the location (15 minutes from the airport) and its beach, which is terrific, but only two or three stars for the physical plant. Clearly whoever is running this place has fired everybody he or she can; the lady at the front desk had to handle all of the calls, and when my wife called the day before there was no answer so she called the reservation number, which works. She would also give 5 stars to the desk lady who was really helpful. The room was a bit shabby. However, in fairness to the hotel, their air conditioner worked fine. Also, they were able to get us in a room early so we could drop our bags off. It was also cheap as hell - perhaps $158 for a cottage on the beach.

Room Tip: Get a cottage since it doesn't cost much more than a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaBeach4Manager, Manager at Aston Aloha Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your posting on Trip Advisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your vacation we are under renovations and will be completed by early 2016. Thank you again for your comments.

Mahalo
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I went, solo, to Kauai for a job interview so I wanted to save money. When traveling alone, I am not at all picky about accommodations. For $77/night (not including Hawaii Hotel tax) I had a detached garden bungalow with one bedroom (queen bed) and a pullout couch in the living room. The kitchen was just a sink, small fridge, coffee pot and microwave (no stove). The bathroom was large. There's a TV in the living room and one in the bedroom. The facilities are very dated, but relatively clean. The location is great, adjacent to Lydgate Beach Park which is the most family-friendly park on the island. Grocery stores (Safeway and Foodland) are about a 2 mile drive, which isn't bad since I wouldn't recommend Kauai without a rental car. Plenty of restaurants within the same short drive, and a couple within 1/2 mile safe walk along protected (away from traffic) path. These bungalows would be ideal for a non-picky couple, singles, or even families with a child or two who can sleep on the pullout. Remember, no cook stove though. And don't expect fancy (emphasis on non-picky about the age of amenities).

Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaBeach4Manager, Manager at Aston Aloha Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments of your stay. We have a great location and beautiful swimable beach access. We are upgrading our product and will be completed early 2016. We want to invite you back to our property to see the finish product I promise you won't be disappointed. Thank you again for sharing your experiences.

Mahalo
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I relied on the reviews here in selecting my hotel so promised myself I'd write one too. We were in room 1134: one of 4 ground-floor (=walk right outside to beach) oceanfront rooms in Maile wing; I'd consider those the best in the hotel. Pros: at $102/night (including mandatory amenities fees all the hotels charge) it was a bargain. Location, midway between the north & south coasts, meant short drive to either, yet right on Lydgate Park beach and river for "at hotel" water fun. Wi-fi strong. Beds comfy, rooms decent sized, grounds pretty with gardens and big fish pond. I loved walking right out the room sliding glass door to the grounds, or even - when it rained - sitting just inside but watching the sunrise. Cons: housekeeping/repairs could be better; the room looked grungy, eg dis colored grout, worn sheets. Breakfast buffet pricy ($13/adult, $10/kid) for what you get (but we did it anyway because the free fruit plate was sparse). If chickens bother you, you will be bothered (we thought they were charming - they are wild but friendly). In summary, I know there are bad reviews on this site but I would book this exact hotel again - for us, location (close to Kapaa for grocery stores; beach right out the door) and value were excellent. But if you want white-glove housekeeping and a spa-type hotel, this is not it. A couple more rebuttals to other reviewers: the A/C worked fine (but is set at 72- you need to open the little door to set it lower), and a fridge is included but you need to pay an extra $10/day for microwave (we didn't, but consider if you want to save $). We never turned on the TV so can't opine there.

Room Tip: Rooms 1132-1135 are oceanfront ground floor, perfect for beach access!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaBeach4Manager, Manager at Aston Aloha Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your comments. We are happy to see that you enjoyed the beautiful ocean view unit. We are currently doing renovations and will be completed early 2016. Please watch for our new product its going to be awesome. Thank you again for sharing

Mahalo
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I booked this hotel because it said it was a resort, had a pool, TV, etc... And I wanted a nice place to stay for my family. Unfortunately we found out this place is far from a resort! This place makes a Motel 6 on the mainland look like a resort! It was very dirty inside our room stains in the bathroom stains on the floor the walls where scummy.
There were ants on our bed but we did not have any food or drink in the room. The least this hotel could do would be to buy some brand-new sheets from Walmart for $20 because the ones on our bed were scratchy and snaggy. The fruit pate sounded exciting on their website but the reality of it is. It just a joke to get you inside the restaurant. The TV was big and boxy it look like it was from 1980 and it had lines going through it and bad picture quality. Even super eights have flat screens and you can buy them at Walmart for $100... The worst part of the hotel though was the fact that the halls and the walls look as though they were going to crumble so I can not be certain that the foundation of the building was even safe. The whirlpool is closed a resort at least should have a whirlpool and the pool is missing tiles in the steps are crumbling how can that be safe? Half of the rooms are closed for what appears to be cracking floors. Also beware that there is a daily resort fee of $18 so $85 a night room is actually $103. As far as I'm concerned it's just a ploy to make there hotel appear to be cheaper, because this is not a resort. If you think I'm being harsh look at the pictures!

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaBeach4Manager, Manager at Aston Aloha Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We appreciate you taking the time to post your comments. We apologize for any inconvenience and want to let you know that we are under renovations. Our property will be completed early 2016. Please watch for our upgrades and new product in 2016

Thank you
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a very uncomfortable time. There was ants on our bed, and the curtains we're moldy. The floors were dirty with hair, and stains. The air conditioning didn't work, and the sliding glass door took a lot of effort to open. The hallways are Peeling paint, the elevator is slow small, and scary because it sounds like it will break. Driveway Ceiling is crumbling. Half the rooms are missing door knobs and the doors are screwed shut. The pond is so green it's just disgusting.
The whirl pool is closed,the TV had lines running through it. The pool had a quarter of it's tiles missing and crumbling steps, I'm surprised it's legal to even have the place open.
The fruit pate that is so heavily advertised is just a few prices of fruit that you cant get unless you sit down in there restaurant, and our waited on. Of course then they will ask you to order something else's on the menu, and if you don't you will receive rude service...
And for the all the misery that we went through the crumbling pool, rude service huge grainy tv, etc... We were rewarded with a mandatory $18 "resort fee" resort?? More like last resort! They are using the term resort very loosely. Also if you are allergic to dust or mold don't stay here your life could be endanger. And the resort fee is just a insult!

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaBeach4Manager, Manager at Aston Aloha Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your comments we are going through a renovation of our property and invite you to return after our renovations have been completed in 2016. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments


Mahalo

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our room was dirty we found hair in the bed, and on the bathroom floor that was not ours. Our Air conditioner did not work so we switched rooms, and in the 2nd room it did not work either. It was hot and humid, and the sheets were scratchy.
The whirl pool was closed, and the pool was looking deteriorated, and missing tiles, with partial step crumbling. Also part of the ceilings on the driveways, and interior halls are crumbling, and peeling. The ponds are so Green you can't see the fish. I didn't believe all the previous reviewers so I booked the room anyways, but now I believe they are all true. Ironically the Condemned Coco Palms is near by, and this place is headed in the same direction.
The free fruit plate is a scheme to get you into there restaurant you can't take it to go without paying a $1, and if you eat in you feel guilty for not ordering anything else or leaving tip.
Overall I just wanted a comfortable place to sleep and this hotel could not deliver. And the price is $18 higher then what it says because of a daily resort fee that is also a scheme because the amenities are deteriorated. I would pay a maximum of $49 to stay here with no fees! There's a ocean front hotel closer to Kapaa that charges near to the same rate as this Aloha hotel but has no resort fee, and is in better condition. Next time I will stay there instead.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaBeach4Manager, Manager at Aston Aloha Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for sharing your comments. We apologize for the inconvenience of our property. Please watch for our completed renovations in early 2016. Thank you again



Mahalo
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Aloha Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Address: 3-5920 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aston Aloha Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 216-room beachfront resort rambles across ten landscaped acres next to the scenic Wailua River. The hotel features newly renovated rooms and one-bedroom cottages, a variety of on-site dining options and Kauai's only protected swimming beach. The resort offers a great central location from which to explore Hawaii's Garden Isle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Aston Aloha Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Aloha Beach Resort
Aloha Beach Hotel Kauai
Aloha Beach Kauai Hotel
Aston Aloha Beach Hotel Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Aloha Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.