We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay for the price.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Aston Aloha Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aston Aloha Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   3-5920 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 hotels in Kapaa
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Okay for the price.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at this place for 6 nights. The room we were given was located at the bottom ground level, which kinda felt like we were in a dungeon. But it's clean and with comfy bed. Bathroom looks like it's just been upgraded. Close to the airport. All in all, it's not a bad place considering the price we paid for.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    185
    146
    92
    70
See reviews for
98
244
29
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Finally decided to get around to writing this review, my girlfriend planned our trip to Kauai , we went in March of 2014, the hotel entrance was nice open air room , we checked in , the staff was great , when we got to our room it was ok , the room faced ocean had big window with sliding glass door , but you couldn't open it , when in Hawaii , I always want to smell and hear , feel the hawaiian life , the windows were heavily water spotted, there was a little frig in the room but no microwave !. Ok on to the beds ..... I have NEVER EVER slept in a worst bed then what was in this room !... When you laid on bed you sank into two body shaped depressions one on each side of bed , I'm talking like 4" of sink ! , Terrible !!!.....so if you have romantic plans for ending the night , try the sofa ! Then the air conditioning really didn't work right , no matter what you set it for it never change the coolness !..... Then my girlfriend found a cockroach in bathroom , come to find out later a couple days later after coming back to hotel every door had a little not saying that they pest control were going to spray rooms the next day !..... We got these complimentary breakfast tickets ..... Don't wast your time and start off day wrong by eating here.......you know this is Hawaii and we really didn't spend a lot of time in hotel and I did enjoy everything as always when in Hawaii but I really thought that a hotel like this would be smart enough to maintain their hotel at a higher standard , rooms are what you expect to find in a 40$ night hotel ..... Oh one more note ... There's chickens all over Kauai even on hotel grounds , I'm a early riser so they didn't bug me at all, I liked them .

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victorville, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Yes this is a dated resort soon to be upgraded and some areas are awaiting repair, But the price is very affordable, location extremely young family oriented with Lydgate Park just out it's back gates supplying safe lifeguard snorkeling beach..picnicking and playground access..vast views of scenic beach/coastal & wailea river photo opps. The staff is the most courteous and Ohana I've encountered here in Kauai. Bad side is only 1 old washer available for entire resort (can"t wait for the new renovations to fix that) located with a few minutes of Lihue Airport and Walmart/Costco for us budget conscious travelers. It is equal distant to visit either north/south shores of Kauai making it easy to reach scheduled attraction such as outfitters zip lining...Kauai Sea Tours..Ke'Ee Beach or the Lighthouse to name a few.For Elvis Presley Fans this is directory located by the famous Coco Palms Resort destroyed by hurricane and both are from the same Era.
Yes we will stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in two bottom floor garden rooms main bldg..excellent access to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel is ideally located about 15 minutes from the airport and within easy reach of other attractions.

The hotel is dated with 1980s decor and felt a bit tired but for the price it couldn't be faulted on this.

The wifi works very well (could support FaceTime) and the cleaners do a great job each day. You can get unlimited DVDs which was a nice touch.

The hotel Is behind Lydgate beach park and you can practice snorkelling (saw several fish) in the protected pool.

Overall I would definitely stay here again and if you are not looking for luxury but a clean and affordable place to stay then this is for you.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaBeach4Manager, Manager at Aston Aloha Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Mahalo (thank you) for taking the time to comment on your stay at the Aston Aloha Beach Hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of the wonderful snorkeling at the safest swimming area our island (Lydgate Beach Park).
We are so grateful to hear that you will return to our property again.
Please feel free to contact us directly and we will make your stay another enjoyable one.
Mahalo
Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, TX
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We recently returned from our third stay at the Aston Aloha. You just can't beat the price!!! We stayed in a suite (Room 1216), for the first time here. The bed (a couple of doors down) was much more comfortable last year! The sofa bed in the room was much more comfortable than the King size bed. For this reason, in the future, I would probably give up the benefits of the suite, although that would be a VERY TOUGH decision, because the microwave is such a huge incentive!! I was pleasantly surprised by the dishes, silverware and glasses that were also available in the room. The front desk staff was very friendly & helpful! As I've mentioned before, the free laundry is a great incentive, but be prepared to wait awhile as there is only 1 washer & 1 dryer for the whole property. The line was so long one evening that we decided to go to the 24 hour laundromat down the road, which was NOT cheap. I highly agree that the property needs some updates, but I would hate to see the rates increase in order to allow for these updates to happen. If you only need somewhere to sleep and shower and want to wake up to an AMAZING view each morning, than this is the place!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaBeach4Manager, Manager at Aston Aloha Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments. We appreciate your loyalty to our resort. We are glad that you have enjoyed and chosen Aston Aloha Beach for your accommodations. In your future return please call us directly so we can again make your stay in enjoyable one.

Mahalo
Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Moderare and humble charm with a homey feeling and a clean environment. They have Hawaiian style Tiki lamps and great location to the airport and beach. Great beach park next door. My favorite is the simple continental breakfast where the servers were smiley, giving it that diner feel. LOVE it. Bed and breakfast feel with nice independent amenities. Kai is soooo kind and gave us a great deal too. You gotta stay here! Its like a nicer Best Western.

Room Tip: Ask about salsa dancing :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaBeach4Manager, Manager at Aston Aloha Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Aloha and thank you so much for taking time to write a post on the Trip Advisor.
We are certainly touched by your awesome comments you have shared with the viewers. We are happy that you felt and lived the true meaning of Aloha. We welcome you to call us directly on your future visit so your stay will be a wonderful enjoyment.

Mahalo

Management and Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

The Expedia price for a room with tax is around $95.00 but when you get there they immediately hit you with an $18.75 "amenity" fee. You are stuck because you already paid for the room and it is non-refundable. The really stupid thing is if they posted the true price it would still be very affordable. This trickery makes it the cheapest place, however. The rooms are old and smelly. They stuck me by the ice machine and stairs so it was high noise and people traffic. The air conditioner cycled on and off all night every four seconds...literally... And there is no way to adjust it. The TV was still the old box type with crappy remote. The tiny shower leaked and the shower head was at shoulder height. I assume they save this room for people who complain about getting ripped off. I cannot believe they make their front desk clerks do this to every person who books a room. She was angry before I even got there and said she wished they would post the actual price on-line. It's impossible to feel welcome and happy when they screw you the moment you walk in the door. This place is angry old hawaii at its dysfunctional worst. The AC was actually the worst part. I was in the room for only nine hours and could not sleep.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaBeach4Manager, Manager at Aston Aloha Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for your comments although we are sorry that you over looked this $18.00 fee when you booked your reservations. Expedia clearly disclosed that information on their web page before you choose to book our property.
Expedia’s Web page information For Aston Aloha Beach Hotel
+ $11.47 taxes & fees
and $18.00 daily resort fee
Non-Refundable
Standard Room, Garden View - Nonrefundable


We are sorry for the inconvenience you encountered during your stay and would have wanted the opportunity to address these concerns to fix the problem before you had departed. We have our Maintenance Department involved in the concerns you have mention and will have the problem resolved.

We thank you again for your Trip Advisor posting.

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aston Aloha Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Address: 3-5920 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aston Aloha Beach Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 216-room beachfront resort rambles across ten landscaped acres next to the scenic Wailua River. The hotel features newly renovated rooms and one-bedroom cottages, a variety of on-site dining options and Kauai's only protected swimming beach. The resort offers a great central location from which to explore Hawaii's Garden Isle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Aston Aloha Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Aloha Beach Resort
Aloha Beach Hotel Kauai
Aloha Beach Kauai Hotel
Aston Aloha Beach Hotel Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Aloha Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.