We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gross, outdated, ant infested” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Aloha Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Aston Aloha Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   3-5920 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% OFF - #AstonLife
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Gross, outdated, ant infested”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

This hotel was gross. The rooms had an ant infestation and found various other bugs in the bathroom. We couldn't wait to leave. We found that the Aston resorts all around Kauai are like 2 stars max. I will never stay in an Aston hotel again. The cleaning staff were so sweet so i gave an extra star for them. They have one laundry facility in the entire building and the washer/dryer is so old it takes hours to do a load. There was a line of people wasting time waiting to do their laundry.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaBeach4Manager, Manager at Aston Aloha Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
I want to thank you for sharing your comments with us. Let me apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused you during your stay here at the Aston Aloha Beach Hotel
Located in a tropical location we do have a well know pest Control Company that does monthly inspections of our rooms and grounds. I am sorry to hear that you encountered this experience while at our property truly this is not our intentions.
We do offer free laundry facilities for our guest use and we do apologize during our high occupancy that there might be a wait time to use this facilities.
We thank you again for mentioning our awesome Staff as we pride our self in sharing the warm ALOHA spirit. We welcome anyone with questions to feel free to contact us directly.

Mahalo and Aloha

Aston Aloha Beach Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    195
    155
    97
    82
See reviews for
108
271
32
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Youngstown, OH
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

Great place. Just about every hotel in HI charges some type of fee for either parking or a resort fee or some type. Even with fee the place was very reasonable. Nice small breakfast of coffee, sweet roll and very fresh fruit. Close parking and a very nice, close beach. Grounds were very nice as was the room size and cleanlyness. Comfy beds. Chickens are everywhere on Kauai and add a kind of charm to the island. After a couple of days you sleep right through the roosters crowing at 4 AM. Amazing sunrises and good food and drink deals at happy hour in the bar. The ladies at the travel desk are very helpful with activity booking. The location is ideal near Kapaa and the airport. Nothing on Kauai is more than 1.5 hours from this location. A world class golf course is next door. The pools and hot tub were nice (a couple of loose tiles in the pool were no big deal.) This place is a great bang for the buck. Liked it a lot. Real nice staff.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor next to the pool with an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Great location in theory.... Nice grounds, sort of.... First complaint is that they charge $15 a night "amenity" fee. "What are the amenities?" you might ask. A newspaper. Coffee in the room (yes, the same that you get free everywhere else). DVDs....cuz that's what I want to be doing in Hawaii. And lastly, a free "breakfast" which is comprised of a very small sweet roll, 1 piece of melon, and 1 piece of pineapple. Worth $15? I don't think so.

Ok, and location. Great in theory. Right on the beach at the mouth of the Wailua River. HOWEVER, if you want to relax by the pool, that ain't gonna happen. The beach that the hotel is located on (Lydgate Park) is apparently where the kids like to have car stereo competitions. With my headsets I couldn't drown out the bass from the cars at Lydgate park. Not to mention the sound of 4WDs revving their engines. Too much testosterone for me, apparently.

Oh, and the air conditioning. Old, dirty system that didn't work, and the guy on staff didn't know how to fix it.

Everything needs to be updated. The TV that you are supposed to watch those free DVDs on is about 20 years old and had lines through the screen. The pool needs to be resurfaced. Lots of little things that wouldn't really matter alone, but looking at the total picture, I wouldn't recommend, unless you get a really great deal, but remember you will be charged $15 over that cheap rate....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg Manitoba
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This resort was SOMETHING at one time! It has been hit by weather, time and likely lack of money. My wife and I, and another couple, stayed here in March of this year and I have just gotten the courage(?) to write a review! This was at the end of a two plus week stay in Kauai. The other couple stayed for one night and we stayed two. The first thing one noticed was, there had been a mention by management that they had added fish to the pond. That would be nice, but if they were still there, one couldn't see them as the water was very murkey. When we arrived in the room ,and went to see the view, the patio door was very hard to move and the screen door wasn't going to work on it's track! That is the Bad News!
The check in was fine! All people were friendly! They had a car show on at the time and that added to the atmosphere. One could imagine, in the entrance, what this place was like in it's prime, perhaps in the 70's or 80's? Although we didn't use the pool area it looked nice with a nice view of the ocean from both pools and others seemed to enjoy the time there.. Our room (I did use the room hints on Trip Advisor although didn't ask for the wing with the new beds.) had a very nice view of the ocean. Although there is a patio door there is no patio, just a metal guard. That was fine for us as the view was great. With a smile we leaned the patio door screen against the opening most of the time just in case a bug were to come by. We had no problem with that! The room was clean and if the bed hadn't been upgraded, it was still very good! We did use the the eating area for the breakfast but I would say I couldn't highly recommend it. I talked to Saddie(?) a manger. She was very nice to talk to and said that as we had a late evening flight they could accomodate us for a late check out (7:00 P.M.) at no charge! She said they are willing to do this when ever they can. It was a great place for us to finish off our time at a very reasonable price! I would think 2-3 days would be about all I would want, unless it is all I could afford. I have to say "Comfortable like driving an old luxury......cheap" got it right! Clean, comfortable enough, great views and location! If you are the type who "can't get over it!" this may not be the place for you!
I'm just renting a room....not buying!

Room Tip: Request ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

It does not cost a lot, but gives a beachside resort in one of the most sacred places on the island. Big rooms, big classic open area, nice breakfast area, it's just like buying an old Cadillac before it became vintage enough to restore. You don't pay much, get a lot of luxuries, but the seats are worn and not everything works.

It's not for everyone, but I liked it. I had to call the front desk for the man to open the patio door, and I never used the AC - its in the tropics, go troppo. The $15 a night resort charge is a gimmick to get around the search engines. You get "free" dvd rentals. Why anyone would go to the garden island to watch dvd's is beyond me. Ditto the "free" breakfast consisting of two slices of fruit, coffee and a small danish, and then a $7 charge to upgrade to scrambled eggs, potato and two slices of bacon. At least the breakfast is voluntary.

As for the chickens that some reviewers write about, if you don't like roosters at night, forget Kaua'i and don't blame this hotel. They are everywhere. And would someone please explain with an island overrun with chickens why the eggs are all imported?

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

We just came back from our trip to Kauai and had booked this hotel. When we first checked in they gave my wife and I a room with 2 double beds on the 3rd floor. The elevator going up was slow and seem to struggle. We called down when we got to the room and requested a room with a King bed. She said come to the lobby and she would find us a room to accommodate us. She said the only room available with a king bed was on the ground floor. We thought that was OK and took the room.
It was pretty dingy and old but we decided to work it out.
For the 4 days of stay we hardly saw anyone in that large lobby and you would of thought they would give us a better room than that.
There is no elevator down to the first level and we had to carry our luggage down 2 flights of stairs. Out of the 4 days there was a large cockroach and mesquites we had to deal with.
The 1 star rating is for the location and friendly staff otherwise it's a mess. There are around 20 rooster and chickens on the premises and if you like to wake up 6 o'clock in the morning to cock a doodle doo. The pool seems clean because we never saw anyone in it and there's chicken poop around the cemented area. I could go on and on. I won't be going back anytime soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaBeach4Manager, Manager at Aston Aloha Beach Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Please allow me this opportunity to apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay at The Aston Aloha Beach Hotel. I appreciate your taking the time to advise us of your dissatisfaction, which is the first step towards improvement.

We are glad that you had the opportunity to experienced the Warm Aloha Spirit from our staff and enjoyed the convenient location

We are keenly aware of the population of roosters on the entire Island, and take an active role in the Wailua area to partner with the County of Kauai, the Humane Society and the Visitor’s Bureau in order to humanely manage the Island population. We can assure you that the number of birds in the Wailua area is no higher than the average number in each visitor destination area

We do live in a tropical environment and once a month we do have a professional pest control company maintain our hotel premises. We do not have control over guest who enjoy living their doors a jar to enjoy the cool tropical breeze that we are so fortunate to have in these islands.

Thank you again for sharing your comments.

We encourage anyone who may have questions about our resort to please feel free to contact the Aston Aloha Beach Hotel staff directly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino, California
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

PROS:
+ Situated right on the beach
+ A few minutes drive from restaurants
+ Helpful and friendly staff
+ Free WiFi
+ Free washer & dryer
+ Free DVD rental

CONS:
- Furnishings seem a bit worn and grimy
- Roosters crowing at ungodly hours
- No microwave in room
- Amenities charge ($15 a day)

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Aloha Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Address: 3-5920 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aston Aloha Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 216-room beachfront resort rambles across ten landscaped acres next to the scenic Wailua River. The hotel features newly renovated rooms and one-bedroom cottages, a variety of on-site dining options and Kauai's only protected swimming beach. The resort offers a great central location from which to explore Hawaii's Garden Isle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Aston Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aston Aloha Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Aloha Beach Resort
Aloha Beach Hotel Kauai
Aloha Beach Kauai Hotel
Aston Aloha Beach Hotel Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Aloha Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.