We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice for the price! ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Aston Aloha Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aston Aloha Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   3-5920 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% Off with #AstonLife
Ranked #10 of 12 hotels in Kapaa
Oxford, Alabama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very nice for the price! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This hotel is in a great location. Centrally located... not far from airport or places to eat. Very friendly staff and the beach is just steps away. We stayed in a junior suite and the rooms are nice sized and the bed is very comfortable. Our room did not have a balcony... it doesn't look like any of them do but we still had a great ocean view with the floor to ceiling window and sliding door to let in fresh air. Our room also had a PlayStation 3 in it. They give you a card to rent movies or playstation games at a kiosk in the lobby for free. They give you tickets for a free breakfast at Kuhio Lounge. Kuhio Lounge is located at the hotel but I do not recommend eating there. The tickets are for a small fruit plate and a small cinnamon roll.There are plenty of other places to eat and get better food for the price. That is the only negative I see.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    183
    143
    92
    70
See reviews for
99
248
29
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Made a reservation for one night in February, 2014 and one night in March 2014 because we needed the extra nights for our flight connections. Was surprised to see that our credit card has already been charged for both nights. Normally don't expect to pay a hotel bill until I have actually stayed there This is a very poor policy, and I probably won't reserve here again.

I was required to select a travel date below, so I checked October. As noted, I will not travel until February, 2014.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaBeach4Manager, Manager at Aston Aloha Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. We are sorry that you were not aware of our Policies for booking reservations. We do have it clearly posted so before making your reservation you would have knowledge of this information. This is the information we have noted to make it very clear of cancelation policy and deposits
Policies
Cancellations must be received 3 days prior to arrival to avoid forfeiture of deposit. Please note that any change in your reservation may change the rate and/or require additional payment.
Credit card deposit for 2 nights required at booking.

There are standards in majority of the hotels and resorts that require deposits at the time of booking this has become a standard practice in our industry. We apologize if you were not aware of this procedure and if you would like to cancel your reservations please feel free to contact our hotel directly.

We thank you again for your understanding
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Booked three rooms, only one came with the sofa sleeper as indicated. It was the cottage, nice concept but was very smelly. We expected more, it was dirty too. Also, the a/c's are in the wall down low and you can see the outside around the edge. There was a board falling down on the lanai and no smoke detector in the master bedroom. They also charge you a mandatory amenity fee that really only gets you parking and unlimited movie/video game rentals. The continental breakfast is a joke, one mini cinnamon roll, one cup of coffee, one small piece of pineapple and one papaya slice. The evening reception had music, but the appetizer left allot to be desired. We will not go again eventhough the location was nice. Only gave 2 stars due to location.

Room Tip: don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaBeach4Manager, Manager at Aston Aloha Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
We want to thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention. Our Maintenance Supervisor has addressed and corrected the problems with this cottage. Given the opportunity we would have wanted to correct these issues during your stay to make it an enjoyable one.

We do have a daily Amenity Fee charge of $15.00 per day that includes Parking, DVD rentals, Playstation 3 games, daily Coffee, Tea, safety boxes, snack BFST and a newspaper. Here in Hawaii many of the resorts have a Resort fee starting at $20.00 per day that does not include the parking that’s an additional charge of $30.00. Our island of Kauai does not have much night entertainment after 900pm so our guest enjoy having to choice from the most updated movies or games right in their privacy of their hotel units.

We want to thank you for mentioning that our property is located in the prime location of Kauai. We would like to invite you back to our beautiful island of Kauai. And give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.


Mahalo (Thank you) until we meet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed there for four night and must say with the AAA discount the price was "ok" but not more. We really expected a little more. We got a cottage with oceanview but sorry to say it stinks and needs a remodeling urgently - the carpet is dirty and also the furniture in the living room - the bed is also bad.
Continental breakfast is basically a fruit plate with a slice of pineapple and papaya and a biscuit plus coffee ...
Staff was friendly but not really the Aloha feeling we got in other places ... we will not come again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaBeach4Manager, Manager at Aston Aloha Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments and posting your review. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations and apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you during your stay.
We are a very moderately priced property and for a clean friendly place to stay we offer a great price. We will continue to do upgrades afforded by our Owners and in the near future hope that you will return to see the many changes we have in store for our property.

Again, thank you for your comments, as we truly apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. We are dedicated to consistently improve while at the same time share our Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
273 helpful votes 273 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

You're in Kauai, and the Ocean View rooms here are only about $70 a night. In San Diego, $70 gets you a dirty rathole in scary neighborhood. That said...

DO NOT stay here if:
1) You're a rich Yuppy, or a Trust Fund Baby whom has always had it good.
2) You typically only stay at fancier places like Marriot, Hilton, Sheraton, Hyatt, Westin, etc.
3) Your typical vacation entails spending the majority of your time in your room and within the resort: Spa time, Pedis, Manis, drinking cocktails by the pool, reading on the beach, room service, etc.

DO stay here if:
1) You're just looking for a decent place to sleep for a great price.
2) You're on Kauai to get out and enjoy the great outdoors: Hiking, Scuba, Snorkeling, Swimming, Ziplines, Horseback Riding, Surfing, Boating, etc.
3) Most Importantly: this hotel is right on the lovely Lydgate Beach, probably the best beach on the east coast. A few reviews complained that its a long walk to the beach. Its not a long walk, you're just out of shape.

Other Highlights:
- $70/night...a steal!
-Awesome $6 Cocktails during Happy Hour
- DVD Kiosk is nifty when on an island with little night life. (I don't reccommend "Katy Perry: A Part of Me")
-Super friendly staff doing their best with your measly $70...how many times can I bring this up? ;-)
-The bed was firm, springy, and old, but supposedly all the beds are about to be replaced with brand new ones.

In Conclusion:
-When you pay $20K for a car don't expect a new BMW, but maybe a nice Honda Civic.
-When you pay $10 for dinner, don't expect a USDA Prime Filet Mignon with a Maine Lobster Tail.
- When you pay $70 a night ocean view room...don't expect everything to be like the Ritz Carlton or Four Seasons.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Whenever I come to Kauai, I stay at this hotel. The grounds are beautifully manicured and it is right near the beach. It's far enough removed town but close enough to restaurants and shopping. The rooms are great and the service is always friendly. I've never had a bad experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendoza
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Next to the most amazing playground and Lydgate Beach for the young ones was stunningly beautiful, fun and calm. Nicole at the front desk went out of her way to help us. Near some good restaurants too and not a long drive to the airport when it is all over.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aston Aloha Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Address: 3-5920 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aston Aloha Beach Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 216-room beachfront resort rambles across ten landscaped acres next to the scenic Wailua River. The hotel features newly renovated rooms and one-bedroom cottages, a variety of on-site dining options and Kauai's only protected swimming beach. The resort offers a great central location from which to explore Hawaii's Garden Isle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Aston Aloha Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Aloha Beach Resort
Aloha Beach Hotel Kauai
Aloha Beach Kauai Hotel
Aston Aloha Beach Hotel Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Aloha Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.