We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this hotel....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Aloha Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Aston Aloha Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   3-5920 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Orange County
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“I love this hotel....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Whenever I come to Kauai, I stay at this hotel. The grounds are beautifully manicured and it is right near the beach. It's far enough removed town but close enough to restaurants and shopping. The rooms are great and the service is always friendly. I've never had a bad experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    203
    173
    104
    95
See reviews for
119
291
34
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mendoza
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Next to the most amazing playground and Lydgate Beach for the young ones was stunningly beautiful, fun and calm. Nicole at the front desk went out of her way to help us. Near some good restaurants too and not a long drive to the airport when it is all over.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We found roaches in the bath room when we check in so I just went ahead and killed them as they showed up throughout our stay. The smell in the room was that of it being un-kept and old. The screen door would not close all the way allowing the mosquitos, bugs to get into the room. The lamp lighting did not work, even after we asked to have it look it. The TV was just flat out bad with little to no reception! The bath room sink would take a very long time to drain. The room safe had been ripped out leaving a very unsightly hole/spot on the closet floor. And the wireless never worked.
First we have to say that the pools, hot tub grounds are just too old and un-kept and in need of much repair to be offered to the guest for enjoyment. The smell and over use of heavy chlorine really was just very nasty. Plus the local kids seem to enjoy pulling up the louse tiles up off the pool floor as a game placing them all around the grounds.
But the worst part about both pools is they are largely used by the locals or non-guest who enjoy smoking and drinking beer by case/cases in bottles all day and into the night day after day. Turning our stay we did sadly witnessed this one to many times. And yes we did ask the front desk to look into this several times but they really seem to be having a very hard time keeping non-guest out of the pools, hot tubs. We got the feeling the staff tends to look the other way when they see locals they know or just keep seeing the same ones time after time.
The property did not really give us the feeling of being truly safe. With no locks on any of the gates out to Laydgate Beach Park anyone at any time can come and go as they please as do the locals from early am to who knows when at night. The front desk told us they do have security at night but we never did see them.
We do understand the hotel is very old and for the price it is kind of a good deal. But you really should be much more honest when advertising the property and the true condition of the hotel.
At breakfast the server told me that they only offer one cup of coffee but I could get a refill if I would be sure and tip the server a little extra. "I smiled and nodded" He then poured me a second cup of coffee. Telling me I was having so much coffee that I would be flying like a bird all day.... Also reminding me don't forget the tip....
The bottom line with the front desk is the best answer they seem to give anything is that. They will be sure and review the companies’ policies at the next meeting. We will not be coming back that is for sure!

Room Tip: We had a top floor corner room with a old kitchenette over looking the beach park/parking lot, ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaBeach4Manager, Manager at Aston Aloha Beach Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We understand clearly that you were dissatisfied with your stay and apologize for the inconvenience.
The property is very very moderately priced and we understand that we are in need of repairs. We will continue to work with the Owners on improving our resort with upcoming upgrades.

We do have many guests that from time to time choose to have their doors open enjoying the fresh sea breeze. This is the reason we have a monthly inspection from our National wide company Ecolab who does service 90% of the properties on Kauai. We do live in a very tropical environment and as an Islander living on here I have experience this in my own home.

We have had many many satisfied guest who have returned year after year enjoying the beautiful beach adjacent to our property and the convenience of our great location. We thank you again for your comments

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Ok, if you are looking for the Ritz then keep on looking. If you are looking for a clean, comfortable, reasonably priced hotel/resort with a very friendly accomadating staff with a great location to visit all of the island then this just might be the place for you.

We stayed for almost 2 weeks since we had never been to Kauai we wanted to make sure we had enough time to see a lot. We booked a garden view but we were uprgraded to a cottage (which was great!). The Cottage was a one bedroom, one bath with a smallish living/dining/kitchenette (fridge, freezer, microwave, sink, cupboard) with a little patio overlooking the park and some obstructed views of the ocean. The reception desk staff was very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. Maid service was quite good, a few times little things like no shampoo etc but the front desk always responded quickly and had it delivered.

The resort is older and the updates look like they were probably done 5-10 yrs ago but that didn't bother us. Grounds were well kept. Small garden pool was almost always empty so you would have it to yourself. Larger pool has jacuzzi next to it, water was clear and temp comfortable. There were missing tiles on the bottom of the pool which looked bad but the pool was open and nice otherwise.

They give you breakfast fruit plate tickets when you check in for complimentary plate with papaya, pineapple and a small cinnamon danish. Tasty and small. Upgrades to full breakfast or eggs/bacon for 7-12 pp/pd.

All in all not a ten but it served our needs and didn't break the bank. The resort fee ($15/day upon checkin is kinda steep since there really isn't a resort, it does get you "free DVD rentals" on site but really isn't justified).

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottages, easiest access to park/beach/garden pool Maile wing has closest access t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed here whilst traveling around the Hawaiian islands. We were visiting from the UK and had booked this as part of a package. We arrived off of a flight at around midday and our room was not available. We explored the area and found the beach. Unfortunately the large crate on the beach was unsightly! Not the nicest experience. We had not hired a car at this point and there was not much in walking distance from the hotel. We had to walk for over half an hour just to get some essential from the supermarket. We we returned to the hotel at half 3 our room was still not available and because we made a fuss they changed us to another room which was available. At this point I wish we hadn't go into our room. It was dirty, beds were hard but sunk in the middle. The air conditioning unit was loud and dirty. We had a 'sea view' but couldn't actually see out of our window as it was so dirty! The window also didn't open fully as it was broken!. When we were actually able to look out out view was of a car park, the large crate and in the distance the sea. We went to the pool and found broken tiles. I was not happy to stay in this hotel and left after that first night. We stayed in a different, nicer area of the island and paid a little more a night for a far superior hotel. It was the best thing we did getting out of the aston aloha.

Good things about this hotel- the happy hour - good prices and some food.
The dvd rental was free. Kept us entertained for the only night we stayed.
The lobby area was decent and actually quite pretty.

Other terrible things- the breakfast. I am gluten intolerant and there was nothing I could eat- one piece of unripe fruit. And my partner wasn't even allowed to have juice as he was told it was 'for kids!' how rude.

Room Tip: apparently one area of the hotel is newly refurbished- try to ask for this area if you choose to sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaBeach4Manager, Manager at Aston Aloha Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Aston Aloha Beach Hotel and taking the time to comment on your experience.

I am sorry to hear that this was not brought to the attention of the Supervisor on duty so a room change could have been offered at that time. The Lydgate Beach park area that is adjacent to our property is managed by the State Department and they do maintain the area once a month to keep the beach clean and in good standards. I am sorry to hear that this was done during your stay at our resort.

We are centrally located and our travel desk would have been more than happy to help you with a daily rental service or a daily tour if you had preferred not to have a rent a car.

Thank you for mentioning our beautiful Old Hawaiian style lobby and the wonderful Happy Hour and great prices and food you enjoyed.

We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused during your stay here at the Aston Aloha Beach Hotel. We hope that if you return to Kauai in the future, you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a much better product and experience as we continually work to improve each day.

Aloha pumehana (with fond professional regards)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed at the Aloha Beach Hotel for our 30th Anniversary Wedding Renewal in 2003 and we just got back August 2013 for our 40th Wedding Anniversary Hi trip. I have to say, the only thing that has changed in this hotel is the bed and bedding, nothing else in 10 years! Seriously, this place was a DUMP! We were upgraded from the Aloha rate room to an Ocean view on the 3rd floor Maile wing when we told the front desk it was our 40th Anniversary, which was a nice surprise. But, not so nice when we saw the room. It smelled of sour mildew, the carpet was stained and dirty. The TV was an old fashioned TV with very fuzzy reception. There is mold on in the bathroom on the floor in the closet and on the shower head. My husband tried to open the sliding door to get fresh air in and after several attempts and saying "it would take a gorilla to open this" he finally got the door open. We kept it open the whole visit as we knew if we tried to close it, we couldn't get it back open. The window glass was so dirty and streaked we couldn't see out the glass sliding door anyway. I called down to the front desk and complained and they said they would have the housekeeping come clean. I told them don't bother, there is no way our little maid could have gotten out on the 3rd floor and reached around to clean the glass. The rust on the door frame and screen was so bad it came off in flakes. The lobby railing and elevator door were covered with rust. Needless to say, we woke up every morning of our visit with the rooster crowing. Yes, there are hundreds of chickens on Kauai and at least 50 are at this resort. Late one night, we even saw a car pull up to the beach, flashlights glaring, and heard chickens being killed in the bushes that border the hotel. We called the front desk when this happened and they said they would send security down to stop the attacks. We saw someone go down, talk to the killers, and then leave. The killing started up again 15 minutes later. We suspect there must be a bounty on the chickens. They were being killed while they were roosting at night. They need a chicken rescue farm on Kauai! The complimentary breakfast that comes with the "resort fee" was a joke. It was coffee, a store bought danish, a slice of breadfruit and a piece of pineapple. The host at the restaurant has pictures of the breakfast and also the upgrade to the buffet as I am sure there is confusion on what is offered for free. For the resort fee, you are to get a safe but the one in the rooms don't work. You use the hotel safe which means waiting in line for the front desk to let you in when you need to get in the safe. The kiosk for movie rental is also touted in the resort fee but who comes to Hawaii to watch movies? The large pool was only open once during our 6 day visit. When I asked the front desk why the pool was closed, they were clueless. Ashton needs to totally overhaul this hotel! Stay somewhere else! On the PRO side I will say that the bed, bedding and pillows were very comfortable, what little sleep we got. The location is a short walk from Lyndgate park which has a reef protected pool for swimming. We only saw a few fish when we snorkled there. The grill on the beach that is managed by the hotel had great french fries, hot dogs, mai-tais and cold beers but it closes too early to spend much time there. The older lady working the grill does a great job!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaBeach4Manager, Manager at Aston Aloha Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
I am sorry to hear that you were not happy with your stay here at the Aston Aloha Beach Hotel. We do realize that there are many upgrades that could be done on our property and with our Owners approval will be moving in this direction of improvements.
Our property is very modestly priced and we do our best with the resources given to ensure that our guest have an enjoyable stay.

We are glad that you took the opportunity to enjoy our Kahanu Bar and Grill as everyone knows Aunty Bea does a super good job entertaining and serving our guest with her warm ALOHA spirit.. We welcome all your comments and if you ever have a question about your stay feel free to call us directly. I thank you again for sharing your comments on Trip advisor.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phelan, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is a older hotel that is showing aging spots, but don't let this hold you back. There is the beach right in front of the hotel that is ideal for kids, non swimmers. There are rocks piled up that breaks the wave action and makes a lagoon. The staff was very friendly.
Rooms are a bit musty, but this goes away after the A/C is turned on. The A/C is some what dated. The shower is small.

None of this really matter to us. All we did is slept and the rest of the time we were out and about.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Aloha Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Address: 3-5920 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aston Aloha Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 216-room beachfront resort rambles across ten landscaped acres next to the scenic Wailua River. The hotel features newly renovated rooms and one-bedroom cottages, a variety of on-site dining options and Kauai's only protected swimming beach. The resort offers a great central location from which to explore Hawaii's Garden Isle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Aston Aloha Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Aloha Beach Resort
Aloha Beach Hotel Kauai
Aloha Beach Kauai Hotel
Aston Aloha Beach Hotel Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Aloha Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.