We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is good value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Aston Aloha Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Aston Aloha Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   3-5920 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% OFF FALL TRAVEL
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“This place is good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Upon arrival, one is greeted with a smile and nothing is too much trouble. The place is clean even though it is a bit worn out like most mid range hotels in Hawaii.
It is the attitude and the service that add to the ambience.
The restaurant offers fair priced food and it is okay. The breakfast is fair and the coffee is drinkable.
We went to the jacuzzi after a day at the beach. We were given clean warm towels and the pool area and jacuzzi were spotless.
The view is amazing and you can go either way to see everything as it os only 15 minutes from Lihue airport.
The Concierge is really helpful and also very funny and friendly.
Would I recommend this place if you aren't flash and want a clean comfortable bed with a really good shower? Yes!
Open the window and let in some fresh air if the room has been unoccupied for a couple of days.
The local chooks are friendly too.
Good value for money!
Catch the cheap local bus to Hanalei Beach - fun and a great view

Room Tip: If you aren't driving, ask the concierge or Roberts to advise you on the best way to get around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    186
    149
    94
    72
See reviews for
102
255
29
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Aloha beach hotel May 17-22

First I want to say that every employee we encountered was friendly and helpful and very accommodating! Monica our housekeeper in room 2 was a delight.
If one is looking for a less expensive hotel on the ocean this might do. We were not looking for cheap. We had prepaid for a resort with RCI and wanted the best for our money. This was not it, its rundown and dated. Makes me wonder about other Aston property's.
There are two wings to this hotel, thus the varying reviews. One has been updated, the other one has not. We were given a room in Pikake, the one that was not. All I can describe the room is as grimy. The carpet seemed dirty, the sofa/ bed looked old and tired and dirty. The TV reception was horrible, " flat screen" on an old TV? The sliding door was too heavy to open. There is a big ugly chair and heavy desk in the way too. The bathroom was tiny and the shower was 3x3 and doubled as a bathtub!!! That was amazing?? There was mold around the shower. The view of the ocean was the best part.
We used the pool, the bigger of the two where large sections of tiles from the bottom had come loose. There were holes in the carpet on some stairs. There are some very sad looking tennis courts as well. They looked unusable even though the hotel brochure mentioned them.
After rereading reviews on Trip adviser and noting that maybe there were better rooms in the other wing we asked to move. I also called RCI to tell them the situation. By day 2 we were moved. New room had cleaner looking linens, no sofa bed, tub/ shower , bigger bathroom, it was really a handicapped room. The same awful TV with very poor reception, same big desk and chair in front of the heavy sliding door. Nice view...if only we could have enjoyed it without furniture in the way.
There is a $15. Per day "resort fee" to cover internet which was dicey, a newspaper, and "free" DVDs, and very bad coffee, 1 serving only. There is a laundry room with one washer/ dryer only but no charge.
There is also complimentary breakfast but I was told because we booked in 2012 at a lower rate that was not included for us? Really???
Lydgate park is right close, so close we could hear people partying late into the night. One night there was a Hawaiian Rock Concert! (We like to sleep with the door open.)This sliding door goes to no where there is no lanai, balcony just a big metal grate in front to keep us from falling out.
And then to top our stay off, a mouse scampered through our room our last night.
The grounds are very lovely although there are some ponds with green slimy, water.
We did not eat in the restaurant . There are also some cottages, we looked in one, not much better than room #1 and no ocean view. Has very small kitchenette with microwave, refrigerator. All hotel rooms have a small refrigerator.
If you want to stay here ask for the Maile wing and expect to get what you pay for.
Or in our case much less than we paid for!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaBeach4Manager, Manager at Aston Aloha Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Aston Aloha Beach Hotel and taking the time to comment on your experience. We truly appreciate your positive and constructive feedback.

We are glade that you found our employees with whom you encountered sharing the Warm Aloha Hawaiian Spirit. Thank you for mentioning Monica she is one of our many outstanding housekeepers who make you feel right at home.

We are a modest priced hotel and have worked on upgrades to our resort with new beds, linen, Wi-Fi for our entire property, lighting in our dining room and new AC units for our cottages. We agree that there are many projects that need to be addressed and we continue to work with our Ownership and Management companies to improve our property.

We do have an amenity fee of $15.00 per day that includes Free DVD rental, Daily newspaper, coffee for 2, safe use and a fruit plate. Everyone is welcome to add this daily amenity to their reservations and I am sorry that our agent did not make it available for you.

We do have the Lydgate Pavilion adjacent to our property and residents do rent this area from the Sate Department for public use. When we do receive a guest complaint for the noise we immediately contact our Finniest the Kauai Police Department. The problem is than contained and situation handled.


We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused during your stay here at the Aston Aloha Beach Hotel. We hope that if you return to Kauai in the future, you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a much better product and experience as we continually work to improve each day.

Aloha pumehana (with fond professional regards)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I have to say this was a very good place to stay. After reading some of the reviews I was a little skeptical but glad I went with my instinct. This hotel is on a family friendly swimming beach. The pool/snack bar was excellent also. The lady working it was very nice. It is also in a great location on the island close to everything. The bed was very comfortable. We will definitely stay here again. We drove the whole island the first few days and ended up staying at the hotel the last 3 days we were there because of the nice beach area. We also rented a few movies every night while winding down from all the hiking and swimming. The movie selection is great with a lot of newer movies. On Friday afternoon they have free appetizers that are delicious at the hotel restauraunt. The only bad thing was the free continental breakfast. It was a little pastry with a slice of cantelope. I would suggest going to the Kountry Kitchen which has an awesome breakfast. If you are on a budget and want a nice hotel then this is the place for you. Oh and the roosters are everywhere on the island so I wouldn't worry about that being an issue.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewa Beach, Hawaii, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Didn't expect much due to the negative posts BUT what people don't understand is that YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR. Yes it's an older hotel with old furnishing BUT it did its job for a place to stay. The bed was the most comfortable bed I've EVER slept on - and I have had my share of low & high quality hotel rooms. Unlike other reviews - I did catch wi-fi from my room with no problem. I could not hear roosters from my room & I was on the ground floor - maybe other people left their sliding door open that's how they could hear the roosters?! My kids had no complaints about the pool. The DVD rental machine couldn't read my free rental card but i just let the front desk know and the problem was fixed. My only complaints are: the $15.00 per night amenity fee should be optional. The refrigerator was a little noisy at night - but not too bad. The ice machine & in room safe was broken. The fitness center is in desperate need of an update..Over all - I would come back again and recommend Aston Aloha to my friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

From the pictures, the Aston Aloha looks very nice with great views, decks, amenities, ect. It was actually very run down and unclean. One of the two beds in our room did not have clean sheets, the paint on the walls was peeling, there was rust on the air vent that was so bad it looked like mold, the ponds and the pools were not clean and the staff was not accommodating. They also charge an extra $15/day for wifi, a continental breakfast (consists of half a piece of fruit and toast, buffet costs $12). When we let the front desk know about the dirty bed and asked if we could switch to something, they said no and did nothing. We left the next morning and came back to a half clean room: didn't finish making the beds (left the comforters folded on the couch for us to put on) didn't leave clean coffee mugs and refills the supplies, and they didn't vacuum. We were so frustrated and appalled with the service and state of the hotel that we checked out that day and ate the cost of the hotel. I was so ready to be out of that place that I didn't even care that we did not get refunded for the rooms. Also, this hotel is far away from everything fun to do on the island. Spend the extra money and get a better hotel!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaBeach4Manager, Manager at Aston Aloha Beach Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Please allow me this opportunity to deeply apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay at The Aston Aloha Beach Hotel. I appreciate your taking the time to advise us of your dissatisfaction, which is the first step towards improvement.

We are saddened to hear that we fell short in our department service with HSKP, Maintenance and Front Desk. I am sorry that this was not brought directly to the attention of the Manager on Duty where we could have addressed and corrected some of your concerns right away.

We have a $15.00 Amenity Fee that provides our guest with daily in-room Hawaiian coffee, a newspaper that is promptly delivered to your door at dawn each morning, an in-room Play Station DVD system with unlimited DVD rental of games and current movies.

The Amenity fee also includes a brand new WiFi system that our ownership arranged to install in February, 2013. The state of the art system allows each guest to access internet services in the privacy of their own guest room, or allows each guest to roam throughout each and every area of the property, including the Maile & Pikake pool courtyards, dining facilities and lobby areas.

Safety deposit box usage and FREE PARKING is also included in the Amenity Fee, and yes, a modest “Continental fruit plate” is served to each and every guest; each morning with unlimited coffee to help you begin your Kauai day.

We are very centrally located in the middle of the island with many activities right at the location of our property such as, water skiing, boat rides, hiking, biking, surfing, paddle boarding and fishing. We do have an activity desk on our property that opens daily until 5pm. They will arrange all of your activity needs while you enjoy a delicious full plated FREE breakfast.


Thank you again for sharing your comments.

We encourage you if you may have questions about our resort to please feel free to contact the Aston Aloha Beach Hotel Management directly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My wife and I enjoyed our recent stay at the Aston Aloha Beach Hotel. The hotel itself is only about 5 1/2 miles away from Lihue Airport and very close to the old town section of Kapaa. The service was excellent and friendly which went a long way towards our feeling comfortable in the surroundings. If you like to take walks or a long jog, there is a really nice paved walking route all around the property down to the beach area and the view from the property is really spectacular. It is also a short walk down to the beach area which contains a few tidepools ideal for safe snorkeling. Also, the hotel is almost within walking distance of the "Smith Family Farm Luau" which is a nice way to spend an evening, touring its gardens and facilities.

In terms of the room itself, we had a nice king bed on which we slept well and overall the room was spacious, well-appointed and clean so we really had no complaints, other than the fact that the shower area was quite small...

The only drawback was the adjoining restaurant called "The Palms" where we ventured in for breakfast. The menu was extremely limited in terms of breakfast offerings and the free continental breakfast was very sparse, even within this classification. I would either temper your expectations or just go into town for a real breakfast.

Other than that though, a good stay was had here and I would come back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

I was pretty skeptical staying here after all of the negative reviews. However, upon check in we were upgraded to one of the one bedroom cottages. All of the front desk employees we had interactions with were very friendly and efficient. As for the $15 a day resort fee, I think it is a bit high but you do get a small breakfast, newspaper, movies, and parking. The cost of the room is low already so another $15 a day isn't all that bad.

The location is a big plus as well. You are basically in the middle of the island, about an hour to each end. Also, Lydgate Beach is at your doorstep. It is a nice beach to take the kids and let them swim or learn how to snorkel.

The chickens are all over the property; but they are everywhere on Kauai. They didn't bother us at all.

All in all you get what you pay for. If you are expecting luxary then this isn't the place for you. But if you need a decent place to lie your head than it will work. We weren't in the room all that much, you don't go to Hawaii to spend the day in your room. Aloha and mahalo Aston Aloha.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Aloha Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Address: 3-5920 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aston Aloha Beach Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 216-room beachfront resort rambles across ten landscaped acres next to the scenic Wailua River. The hotel features newly renovated rooms and one-bedroom cottages, a variety of on-site dining options and Kauai's only protected swimming beach. The resort offers a great central location from which to explore Hawaii's Garden Isle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Aston Aloha Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Aloha Beach Resort
Aloha Beach Hotel Kauai
Aloha Beach Kauai Hotel
Aston Aloha Beach Hotel Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Aloha Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.