We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible service, terrible room” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Aloha Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Aston Aloha Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   3-5920 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Take 15% Off Your Stay
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Horrible service, terrible room”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

First, the room. Shady, cold and dirty. The floor in the bathroom is extremely cold. The air-con is super old and blows right on the bed. Hard to control as actually there is no off button. Absolutely no sound isolation. The fridge must be at least 30 years old - my grandgrandma had one like this - it produces loud noise every time it turns on and off. Never expected to see such a thing at a hotel!!!
Upon check in you pay 15 dollar per day amenity fee, what you get is
1) safe deposit box in the room is out of order
2) dvd rental is out of order right at the moment (i'm staying at the place right now)
3) parking - you can hardly find a place when you get to the hotel after 7 p.m.
4) breakfast is a joke. They give you blue tickets, when you get to the breakfast for the first time, noone meets you. We were waiting for a couple of minutes - noone came to sit us, We were wondering around for some minutes more. At last we grab some items from the buffet - all they had there - fruit and 1 type of bakery and took our seats. Immediately the waiter came to us and told us we had taken items that had to be paid extra! So, we were not explained that and we didn't want to pay for the breakfast that was actually already prepaid! We had just what we had taken ourselves, continental breakfast didn't happen that morning.
It's the worst hotel we've ever been to. Thanks God, Kauai has much to offer so we can stay here minimum of our time.
Avoid!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaBeach4Manager, Manager at Aston Aloha Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
I want to thank you for taking the time and speaking with me on your concerns for our property. I am glad that you enjoyed the bedding, open lobby area and the warm Aloha Spirit you encountered from our employee’s.
We do have a daily amenity fee of $15.00 that includes daily continental plated breakfast, coffee or tea, newspaper, DVD play station games and movies and Free Parking.
We did have the DVD machine down for a short period someone had stuck a DVD in the machine the wrong way so the Tech came by and removed the DVD on Saturday night and it was back in operation. We are also working right now on replacing the safety box units in each room. I am sorry that our staff failed to mention the additional sixty parking spaces in our bottom lot next to our cottages.
Mahalo again for sharing your comments with us and we truly apologize for the inconvenience this may have caused you during your stay here at the Aston Aloha Beach Hotel. We encourage anyone who may have questions about our resort to please feel free to contact the Aston Aloha Beach Hotel staff directly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    196
    160
    100
    88
See reviews for
111
278
32
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Köln
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

It was our fourth stay in this hotel. We were in the Pekake wing ( we think the better part of the
hotel). Old furniture,old TV (we didn't use it). We also didn't use the AC because it was so noisy,
We opened the window; there were two things we had to complaint ( sliding window and faucet
In the shower), it was repaired within 15 minutes!!! Staff was very friendly and helpful. We had the
upgrade breakfast, the regular is very small. Location to the ocean is excellent and there are two
pools separated from the ocean. The choice of dishes for dinner in the restaurant is not so good
as years before. A bank owns this hotel and therefore they don't renovate much. But there was
Internet and WLAN in the lobby and in March 2013 in your room too (WLAN with no fees !).
We would like the rooms nicer with new furniture, a modern AC and a better restaurant. But we
had a good stay with some cuts. We stayed from February,20 until March,.

Room Tip: Pekake wing second floor, room number 2206 is quiet. Regular breakfast is very simple, spend 10 Do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our first impression, having arrived to our cabana late evening after a very long travel day, was not overly positive. The suite had a definite worn feel, a very strong smell of disinfectant, old dirty carpet and a noisy air conditioner.

The sunshine brightened things up a bit - although i wouldn't stay here again for the room.

The facilities are a big bonus, especially if you're traveling with kids. There's an awesome playground very close by, a big green field which is great for letting kids run around (or after the chickens) and a nice beach area. There's a toddler-friendly sheltered swim area and another for adults. The pools are also nice enough, though colder than swimming in the ocean, but the hot tub was handy for warming up.

The space along the coast is great for morning jogs/walks and leads to another cool kid structure (series of ramps/slides), called the bridge and more beautiful beach.

The hotel advertises "free pupus" for friday happy hour- don't expect too much. On our visit it was fried rice and spring rolls. The live music and outdoor patio was pleasant.

There are lots of roosters/chickens/chicks running around the property and we heard them through out the early morning/day (sometimes as early as 4am)- not sure if you'd hear them if you were staying in the hotel (as we were in a cabana). But there seem to be roosters everywhere in Kauai, so not sure you can avoid this.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crestline, California
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We just stayed here for a week in March, 2013. Location is good, mid point to see all the sights in Kauai, but, the staff is indifferent to customer service, and the resort fees and the so called "free breakfast", is a joke! They hand you some red tickets, for the "free" breakfast, but, once there, they ask you if you want to "upgrade" for $10, to a full breakfast. If you say no, you get a small plate, with a small slice of Pineapple, mangle, small pastry, and a glass of OJ. Everything here is overpriced! The resort fee of $15 per day, is a rip off too! You get nothing for it! No Wi fi in room. I asked the staff for a microwave to pop some popcorn, they blew me off, saying no microwaves were available for customers( staff had microwaves for themselves). Also, they have some old islander lady selling overpriced crap in the lobby, saying she hand made all the items. What a Lie! We saw the same stuff at Walmart!!!!!
We called and asked for extra pillows, never came. We called twice, they never came. The toilet paper ran out, the cleaning staff just placed an unopened roll on top the bathroom sink. we left it there for two days, just to see what would happen. They finally place the TP on the roll! They just don't care about the paying customers at this hotel. I'm sorry, the service on Waikiki hotels was 10X much better then here! We would not stay here again!!! Avoid!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaBeach4Manager, Manager at Aston Aloha Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Please allow me this opportunity to deeply apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay at The Aston Aloha Beach Hotel. I appreciate your taking the time to advise us of your dissatisfaction, which is the first step towards improvement.

We are glad that you recognized our hotel is in a good location. We feel very fortunate to be on Wailua Bay and directly adjacent to what we think is the best beach park on the Island. Lydgate park is perfect for outdoor activities for adults and children and is a special place where many visitors and Islanders prefer to spend sunny beach days. We are sorry you think of this as a “rip off” .

We are not sure about your comment about the WiFi system because our records indicate our $60,000 system is 100% functional in every room and in every common area, and since the company installed it on March 1st, it have performed perfectly. In case we are fortunate to serve you again, please do not hesitate to ask the front desk personnel to assist you to get onto our special WiFi system exclusively for our Aston Aloha Beach Hotel guest.

We do have a modest amenity fee that allows each guest to several services including parking, guest laundry, Wi Fi for our entire property including all guest rooms, Playstation 2 games and DVD’s, daily coffee, tea, newspaper and a modest plated continental breakfast to get you going every morning.

All of our suites and cottages have a microwave oven, coffee maker, a refrigerator, blow dryer, iron, iron board and Playstation 2. We also have microwave ovens available for a small fee on request for those guests staying in guest rooms.

I am sorry to hear that you believe the crafts offered in the lobby substandard. Most of the items are hand made by one of our long time island residents and I assure you they are not something you would find at a Wal-Mart or at a Big Box store.

I apologize for the less than standard toilet tissue service you received from our Housekeeping department. This is not the type of performance we commonly present, and to ensure this type of situation doesn’t reoccur, our Executive Housekeeper has personally shared your incident with each of her staff members during her daily staff briefings.

Thank you again for sharing your comments.

We encourage anyone who may have questions about our resort to please feel free to contact the Aston Aloha Beach Hotel staff directly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This was by far the filthiest and most run down hotel I have ever stayed at. Yes, it is probably very cheap but I think your vacation is worth the $20 more a might for a clean and healthy hotel. I stayed here for 4 nights on a Hawaii tour with a group called Road Scholar. It was shocking that on a tour that I paid nearly $7,000 for I would stay in a place like this. The outside and lobby were not too bad though I am sure the carpets have not been cleaned for over a month. When I went to my first room I could see mold of the walls and in the bathroom shower. I did not want to run my air conditioner because of a black substance that was on the air vent. I could not open my slider window. Turns out it was so corroded it was off the tracks. The offered me another room but that room the walls were bulging out from mold. I was told by the staff "What do you want from an old cheap hotel?" They said that the owner is aware of all the maintenance problems but has no interest in repairs. It is also not within walking distance to restaurants or shopping. I suggest you have no interest in staying there on your vacation to beautiful Kauai.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaBeach4Manager, Manager at Aston Aloha Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
We value providing excellent service to you our guest and I truly apologize that we may have missed the opportunity in providing you this service. We are saddened that our reception desk did not provide you with great service this is never our intention as we pride ourselves in excellent customer service

We do have a modest priced property and have done many upgrades during the past few years with the help of our Ownership and Management Company. We have just completed Wi Fi for our entire property and guest units. The Maile Wing has been upgraded with new plush Serta Sleeper beds and brand new towels and linen.

We will continue to work with our Ownership and Management Company and do have many new projects for 2013.

Thank you again for sharing your comments.

We encourage anyone who may have questions about our resort to please feel free to contact the Aston Aloha Beach Hotel staff directly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

A lot of the negative reviews of this place seem to be from people who spent way too much time in their room.

This place is not some fancy tropical resort. It clearly used to be, and the glory days are over for sure... but is it a bad hotel? Not at all. Just because it hasn't been modernized and shows minor signs of disrepair does not mean that it's a bad value. This much should be obvious by looking at the price. The things that people are complaining about are the difference between this place and the other resorts on the island... and those things simply cost more. But for $130 a night? You're on the beach, in a clean room, and centrally located to everything on the island. Which is perfect, unless you plan on spending your vacation watching TV and searching for a wi-fi signal.

And yeah, the roosters will wake you up in the middle the night... just like they will anywhere else on the island.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms appeared to have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed here for a few days before going to the Marriott Beach Club for a week. The lobby is pretty and open to the outdoors. The staff were friendly upon checkin.

The place needs some updating. They don't take really great care of it in terms of painting and repairs or even cleaning in the common areas. That being said... if you want a place near the water with amazing views this place is pretty good for the money.

Lydegate Park is just in front of the hotel. One of the best places for snorkeling with children since they have a rock walled in area where the waves won't overwhelm smaller kids or new snorkelers. It's a very short walk from the hotel across an open field (about a football field length walk).

The hotel is close to Costco, Safeway, Walmart for supplies. ABC store is also close for local goods.

The bed was meh, not great. Clean sheets and fairly clean room. Shower was small and bathroom old and run down but clean. We had a jr suite that faced the ocean and had great views from room 2218. No funny smells as others mentioned.

The room had a fridge and microwave, no paper towels, no salt//pepper, but dishes and silverware. A place with a kitchen should at least have a few things like paper towels.

The continental breakfast was also meh. So so coffee, a piece of papaya a piece of pineapple, fake orange juice and a small, bad, mass produced apple turnover. One bite turnover.

For $125 a night it's worth it. Peak rates would not be worth it.

The pool area is run down, spa area is as well but it's beautiful out there at sunset.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaBeach4Manager, Manager at Aston Aloha Beach Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We appreciate your taking the time to comment on your stay here at the Aston Aloha Beach Hotel, including your nice comments about our friendly staff members.

We also want to thank you for mentioning some nice comments on the adjoining Lydgate Beach Park “One of the best places for snorkeling and swimming with children” and our great location of our property with easy excess to Costco, Wal-Mart and other stores, restaurants and shopping areas.

Thank you for mentioning that your room, shower and bathroom was clean during your stay. We are so sorry your bed and continental breakfast was unsatisfactory. You should be happy to hear our ownership approved a $100,000 upgrade and purchased new beds in all rooms in the Maile Wing. The new beds are “Serta Plush” and are topped off with beautiful new bed linens. We have also revised the recipes for the Continental Breakfast since your recent visit.

Our Housekeeping Manager is in the process of hiring 5 new staff members to continue the efforts addressing all of the hotel common areas and public areas.

We thank you again for your comments and if you are ever on our beautiful island of Kauai again; we invite you back in hope you will be more comfortable than before, and that you will once again experience the memorable scenery you refer too.

Our friendly staff will be most appreciative to greet you upon your return.

Aloha Pumehana (with warm professionally regards)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Aloha Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Address: 3-5920 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aston Aloha Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 216-room beachfront resort rambles across ten landscaped acres next to the scenic Wailua River. The hotel features newly renovated rooms and one-bedroom cottages, a variety of on-site dining options and Kauai's only protected swimming beach. The resort offers a great central location from which to explore Hawaii's Garden Isle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aston Aloha Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Aloha Beach Resort
Aloha Beach Hotel Kauai
Aloha Beach Kauai Hotel
Aston Aloha Beach Hotel Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Aloha Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.