We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but... You decide the value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Aston Aloha Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Aston Aloha Beach Hotel
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   3-5920 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% OFF FALL TRAVEL
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Valparaiso
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great location but... You decide the value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We chose this "resort" because of location and price. We knew we would not be there much! Let's face it, we are in Hawaii. First impression was, this is nice! The pros: the location, the pools are kept really clean, it's near a good family swimming and snorkel beach, the bartender is very friendly and personable, and good view. With that said: it could be so much more! As others have said: with just a few maintenance issues it could really be great! The fixes needed:
The sliding glass doors! They take brute force to open and close them. They have one washer and one dryer for the entire hotel to use! And the dryer broke! If you want a snack and its after 830 pm, tough luck! Not even a snack machine! Want a pool towel? You gotta go to the front desk and they keep very close watch, one for one or none! Then you can be charged for a towel if you don't one for one. Parking? If the hotel is full, some have to park in an odd location in the back/side of the hotel. No entry on the side, you gotta walk around to the front. They seemed caught off guard or short staffed. Something was amiss? They have a concession stand open from 11-2 by the pool, that wasn't open nor communicated that the restaurant would be, which its usually open from 5-8 pm. When I think about the location, our time on Kauai, I would try to see if I could find something comparable but if I couldn't I would stay here again. It has its cons and let's face it: when push comes to shove, they weren't super horrible.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    186
    151
    94
    72
See reviews for
102
257
30
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Oregon
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Recent reviews pretty much explain this hotel. Bottom line: it's tired and needs refreshing. It probably was a very good place 20-30 years ago. But it hasn't been maintained and shows it everywhere, from landscaping to furniture to structure. The owners will either do nothing to improve it and just milk it until it falls apart, or they will invest a lot of capital to upgrade it.

One feature we valued was that the reservation was cancellable up until 3 days before arrival; most places are not nearly as generous.

The maids and staff do a pretty good job with what they have. The beds and linens are clean and decent. But things like the doors and furniture are way past their prime. The $15/day fee is outrageous for what you get, but an extra fee for parking or "resort fee" or something else is pretty common on the island so it may not be out of line.

This property has a lot of potential: its location on the beach and in the middle of the island are excellent. So time will tell what they decide to do. In the meantime, it's an OK and less expensive place to stay if you don't mind facilities that are less than perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a second or third floor room, facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaBeach4Manager, Manager at Aston Aloha Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Please allow me this opportunity to deeply apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your stay at The Aston Aloha Beach Hotel. I appreciate your taking the time to advise us of your dissatisfaction, which is the first step towards improvement.

I am glad that you experienced the Warm Aloha Spirit from our staff and enjoyed the convenient location

We are sadden to hear that we fell short in our Housekeeping and Maintenance Departments and with the help and financial support from new hotel ownership, our maintenance and housekeeping department were able to address your concerns. We are pleased to report our linen and bathroom amenities for our rooms have been received through the Aston Hotels purchasing program and we will continue to do necessary upgrade through out the year.

Thank you again for sharing your comments.

We encourage anyone who may have questions about our resort to please feel free to contact the Aston Aloha Beach Hotel staff directly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel as part of a discount deal. We read the reviews in advance and decided to give it a try, not expecting a top of the line resort. Pros: the location (as long as you have a car) is nicely central to tour the whole island. It is also within walking distance of Lydgate Park which has a very nice beach and snorkeling area. In the winter time most of the northern beaches are closed to swimming due to strong currents, so this was important to us. The place also has character, not the cookie cutter condo feel. There are a few cons that management could address for not that much money. We'll take dated decor if you tend to these things: roaches...yup, in the upgraded beach front room, second floor. Spray for goodness sake. Fix the sliding doors. Opening the slider to hear the waves took brute force every time, and then the screen slider was off the tracks - we thought it was only us until the evening we sat at the pool and watched room after room try to open their sliding doors having the same trouble... the screen actually fell in on one woman. Toilet paper... we arrived to find about 1/3 of a roll, period. I think I read another review about this. Leave a spare roll on the back of the tank and don't make guests have to ask for it. The chickens need to be mentioned. (They are wild on the island in case you are not familiar with them) Guests feed them from the rooms. The chickens return to where they get fed... Our rooster went off every moring of our stay at 4:30am about 6 feet from the window ... we are early risers but from the cursing I heard from the other rooms, it didn't go over well with everyone. Management could at least post a sign not to feed them. Lastly a comment on the staff. They helped when asked and were polite, so the basics were covered. No one ever offered any extra smile, courtesy, advice about visiting the area or a good day. Some extra friendliness would go far. Actually the young male valet offered a regular smile and good morning greeting, so he should get extra kudos.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaBeach4Manager, Manager at Aston Aloha Beach Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We value providing excellent service to you our guest and I truly apologize that we may have missed the opportunity in providing you this service. We are saddened that our reception desk did not provide you with great service this is never our intention as we pride ourselves in excellent customer service

Our Owners have been working closely with our property and have continued progress in upgrading this property. We have just completed new beddings and linen, pool furniture, ac units, elevators and Wi-Fi. In 2013 we do have many other projects and task that we hope to complete by the end of 2013.

We are keenly aware of the population of roosters on the entire Island, and take an active role in the Wailua area to partner with the County of Kauai, the Humane Society and the Visitor’s Bureau in order to humanely manage the Island population. We can assure you that the number of birds in the Wailua area is no higher than the average number in each visitor destination area.


Again, thank you for your comments, as we truly apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. We are dedicated to consistently improve while at the same time share our Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was our fourth trip to Kauai, and first staying in Kapa'a. We chose the Aloha Beach as part of a package deal we got through Alaska Air, which resulted in the room cost being under $100/night. For this price, the hotel was perfectly adequate. The location in Kapa'a is very central, and fronts Lydgate Park, along a beautiful stretch of beach. We normally stay in Poipu, so being mid-island was a nice change. For people wanting to explore the island, it's great to be here, roughly equidistant to both the north and south shores. Kapa'a is the densest part of the island, so traffic can be a bit of a pain but isn't too bad.
Our room, which was ocean view, was recently redone, and looked just like the pictures on the website. While not fancy, it was probably the largest room we've had on Kauai (other than condo accommodations). The only complaints I'd make about the room are the windows, and the shower. As many others have commented, the windows really need a good cleaning. They are covered with who knows what and when closed just look dirty. This might seem random, but I'd also comment that the room should be re-arranged to take better advantage of the view. The bed and sitting area are arranged to face away from the view, rather than towards it, and just switching the orientation would really make a difference, We probably had the best ocean view we've had on any stay so far, but had to sit at the desk or stand at the window to enjoy it in full. While the bathroom was also redone, the shower seemed to not have been. It was small and the faucet was coming away from the wall. While upgrading the rest of the room, you'd think they would have upgraded this also.
The grounds at the hotel were pretty enough, although I'd say the pool areas were pretty small and definitely need some work. The furniture was old, and the concrete/patio areas need to be re-surfaced. That being said, we had the pool almost entirely to ourselves, and quite enjoyed just relaxing and taking in the view.
The comments others have made about wifi are true, there is none in the room, and even with our own hotspot it was hard to get a good connection at times. An the connection in the lobby even seemed tenuous. I spent 15 minutes trying to get a signal before giving up, which I took as a sign that I just needed to "unplug' while on vacation.
I found the staff to very friendly; the only critique I'd have here is that in both the lounge and the pool bar when I tried to charge my tab to my room, they said the computer system was down (on two separate occasions on two separate days) and asked if I had cash.When I pushed back they accommodated, but really - I'm staying at a hotel and can't charge to my room?? That's pretty ridiculous if you ask me.
Would we stay here again, sure. It's not fancy, but the room was fine, the location was good, and the price was right. It's certainly not in the same league as hotels we normally stay at (Westin, W, Sheraton) but we knew that going in...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

this hotel only has one downside for me & that is no balcony. it does have bars at the doors so you can open them but it would be nice to sit out on a balcony. its right on Lydgate park & the beach, the walks are miles long as is the beach. Its 3 miles from Kapaa, only about 1/4 mile from a few shops including a bakery - as a vegan traveller, they do vegan cakes & bread & 3/4 mile from coconut market which is a very small mall type with many shops worth a look. the reception is open & lovely to sit in for free wi fi if required which is quick & works well. the breakfast is minimal & no different from morning to morning but its enough to start the day.

Room Tip: ask for a sunny location & not one looking over the other side of the hotel, you will have no vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is my second stay at Aston Aloha and my 6th trip to the island. Though the hotel is older and has some need of upgrades (wifi only in lobby, showers could be hotter, a little disrepair in spots) the overall feel is wonderful. Beautiful grounds, great beds, grand high ceiling lobby, great central location on the island, two pools, and friendly staff all made for a good 7 night stay this time around.
One of the big pluses of this hotel for families is the hotel is located adjacent to a state park beach that has the only enclosed swimming/snorkeling lagoon on the island. It's a great place for younger ones to swim and snorkel in the ocean in a protected area (it's encircled by a rock barrier that allows the ocean's smaller wildlife to enter but protects from waves and larger marine life). Also the beach here is beautiful, stretches for miles and is virtually uninhabited.
My only complaint as mentioned in other reviews is the hotel industry practice of charging a mandatory "amenities fee"...now at $15 a day....Hotel Management: just charge the true price of the room and don't hide it!
But aside from this...if you want a top end hotel with all the bells and whistles go elsewhere and pay for it...but if you want a great base for adventures, a grand old style hotel, and a good deal with aloha spirit this is it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Would I stay here again...probably not. Think Motel 6. This is not the Marriott.

The pluses...

Location: I like being in Kapa'a. If you go north, you're midway, south or west the same. There are good eats in Kapa'a.
Free Well-lit Parking: It's close and well trafficked.
Firm bed: You never know until you're on it.
Laundry: They have a washer; they have a dryer. Saves on luggage. There is no soap vending but machines are free.
Fridge: Small but adequate.
Staff: Pleasant but unempowered or ambivalent.

Minuses:
Online ads are deceiving
Microwave: None...so much for controlling food costs.
Safe: Yanked out and now there are 6 in office or small safety deposit boxes. What a hassle.
Wifi in Room: Not. In lobby...good luck on establishing a connection.
View: Ocean View is fine. Took 2 room changes to get us in our "Ocean View."
Housekeeping: Very spotty.
Amenity Fee: We paid $10 (now $15) because we booked several months earlier. Hotels should do away with these. It's comparable to airline unbundling services and it's useless. We are not going to use the fitness center on a garden island. Room security=none. Pools and towels are fine (buy or bring your own beach towel)."Redbox" knockoff: don't bother, either warped scratched or out of stock. The assistant GM "adjusted" the fee.
Check-in: Their computers are either slower than snot or there is a compelling video game that the front desk personnel are playing.
Food: With no cooking functionality that added about $75 unforeseen expenses to our daily budget.
TV & DVD: Okay why are you watching TV? Explore. Anyway...not flatscreen but viewable.

If you want a pampered room, this is not your resort. If you want a place to crash, this is adequate.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlohaBeach4Manager, Manager at Aston Aloha Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
We thank you for taking the time and sharing your information. We are glad that you enjoyed the location, new beds, FREE washer and dryer (soap is available at the Front Desk) and pleasant staff.

I apologize that you were not made aware of our microwaves in all of our ocean view suites and cottages. We will be completing the Wi-Fi service for our entire hotel by the end of this month. With the partnership of our Owners and Management Company we will continue to do upgrades through 2013 to our property.

If ever the Island of Kauai has the pleasure of having you return to our beautiful corner of paradise, we would very much appreciate the opportunity to serve you once again at the Aston Aloha Beach Hotel.
Aloha Pumehana (with warm professionally regards)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Aloha Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Aloha Beach Hotel

Address: 3-5920 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Aston Aloha Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 216-room beachfront resort rambles across ten landscaped acres next to the scenic Wailua River. The hotel features newly renovated rooms and one-bedroom cottages, a variety of on-site dining options and Kauai's only protected swimming beach. The resort offers a great central location from which to explore Hawaii's Garden Isle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aston Aloha Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Aloha Beach Resort
Aloha Beach Hotel Kauai
Aloha Beach Kauai Hotel
Aston Aloha Beach Hotel Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Aloha Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.