We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise Without Breaking The Bank” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746 (Formerly Aston Kauai Beach at Makaiwa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
313 reviews 313 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Paradise Without Breaking The Bank”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Pros:

My wife and I got married at this hotel with 50 of our closest friends and family for a destination wedding. Of all the hotels in Hawaii, this one provides you with the most value when it comes to planning a destination wedding. All of our guests absolutely loved the modern hotel amenities, luxurious rooms, and the beautiful pool. The hotel did a great job accommodating our large group and allowing our rooms to be centrally located. The staff made it a point to ensure that everyone got the most out of their stay. The location is great as it is an easy trip to the Northern or Southern parts of Kauai. Hotel staff are willing to take the time to help you plan the perfect trip and never cease to make you feel welcome on the island.

The food and drinks at the bar were above average. The rooms are spacious and the 4th floor provided extra room and beautiful cathedral ceilings. The hotel itself is located down the street from a local bar with live music and is equally as close to the center of Kapaa.

Cons:

Not much of a beach but this was not too big of a concern as we spent most of the days exploring the island. Also parking costs can add up.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for the oceanview! Ask for 4th floor for cathedral ceilings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    405
    130
    36
    21
See reviews for
168
523
42
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield, New Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Our room was huge and the view was amazing. We were near the stairs and with just a few steps we were on the beach or at the pool! Food and drinks at the restaurants were delish. The staff at the resort and restaurants/bar were all friendly and helpful with whatever we needed......especially Gloria!!! Only one issue with housekeeping restocking coffee, cups and TP which is quite important. I would definitely recommend this resort and will most likely stay there again if I return to Kauai!!! Just make sure and upgrade to the executive ocean view. Worth the money for sure.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Good location, right on the beach and not far from the airport. The hotel was half empty when we were there even though there was a wedding on the day we arrived. We had booked a deluxe ocean view room on the top floor which was lovely. The room was adequate, if a little dated. There were a couple of armchairs as well as a desk and chair in the room and a large wardrobe. Buffet breakfast was overpriced considering the limited options offered. Would have been nice if this hotel offered free airport shuttles considering the other Marriott offered this service. Highly recommend organising a rental car so you can drive up to the north towards Hanalei and drive south towards Waimea. Service was inadequate in the restaurants, though there were always lots of staff at the front desk. Bed and pillows were a little worn. Free wi-fi is available throughout the hotel and there is an Expedia counter where guests can book tours. 

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littleton, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Great location for exploring all of Kauai. Large (500 sq ft) room ocean front room. Good restaurant menu.
ISSUES;
1, Advertised as no smoking facility even posted on lanai door. Had to call three times about obnoxious smoking on lanai below, MOTEL would take no action until had photographic proof of the offending smokers.. Days old cigarette butts around outdoor restaurant tables.
MOTEL PUTS BURDEN ON NON SMOKERS INSTEAD OF BEING PROACTIVE
2, Loud noise from wall in room woke us up every night between 1am and 4am. Called desk twice was told is motel ventilation system which they always run in early am hours. VERY GUEST UN FRIENDLY

Room Tip: large ocean front rooms are great. Others have smaller lanai's and side view of ocean. Beware...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Yes this hotel is not a big resort in the more luxurious areas of Poipu and Princeville BUT we found it the most ideal place to base ourselves to see Kauai. The famous Na Pali coast is only an hour drive north and the amazing Waimea Canyon one hour to the south. This gave us ample time to get to many locations whilst then being able to get back to the hotel to spend a couple hours relaxing by the large pool and having a drink at the bar.
Many reviewers complain about the $14 daily parking fee but I simply saw this fee as a resort fee considering that they have tennis courts, a pool and very nice grounds with a nice variety of seating (hammocks, huge lounge couches, etc). The restaurant there was lovely to eat at with great service and the bar area has nightly entertainment. The local cultural group put on an evening show one night with dancing and music which was most memorable. So as mentioned that somewhat annoying $14 fee seems to be more of a worthwhile resort fee which I was more than happy to pay.
The room (executive ocean front) was large and well furnished although the bed a little bit soft to our liking. The bathroom is small but clean and well stocked. The lanai was small but it had a view. Make sure you pay for the Premium Ocean Front if you want a balcony directly facing the ocean. A mistake we made. Housekeeping were excellent.
Overall a great place to stay. Very close to many places to eat if you're not eating there, such as at Kapaa or the nearby Coconut Marketplace. Front desk staff were very good too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

If you're looking for a decent hotel for a multi-generational family trip at a reasonable price, this is it. We are loyal Marriott customers so we have stayed at many of their properties to use as comparison. The perks are that it is located in beautiful Kauai, is conveniently located on the east shore (the west shore is basically inaccessible. Most popular scenery is on north and south), it plays up the Hawaiian feel, has a fresh breakfast buffet (try to negotiate coupons otherwise it costs $18 per person), incredible Expedia concierge service in-house, impeccable grounds and live entertainment.

The negatives are that the property feels pretty worn. Though it offers a great variety of amenities (especially being a Courtyard) it vaguely feels as though it attempts to offer a "resort" feel but falls a little short. Housekeeping seems to have a bit of difficulty with consistent service. There were a couple of days our coffee bar wasn't serviced, the underside of the toilet bowl looked as though it had not been wiped down, there were ants in the bathroom and both our toilet and bathtub were slow draining. Perhaps previous guests had washed their sandy swimsuits out in the tub because the outdoor shower at the pool wasn't working. What housekeeping lacks in service they make up in friendliness however. We've never encountered a more welcoming bunch.

At checkout we were told the property is due for a complete remodel soon. Until then, just know this is a popular hotel for volumes of travelers thus there are a few signs of fatigue.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed back to back 4 night stays here. Priceline At $92/nt, for 4 nights in October and then we added 4 more at the time of bidding at the same bid. parking is another $14 night

We were told this was a Sheraton before. It is nothing like a Courtyard (way better). They have a sand beach, a grassy beach area, a pool, restaurant, bar with pupus, lots of free entertainment, recreation/activities room, tennis courts, convenience store and great location near restaurants and shopping, including groceries.

Check in was good. Only problem was the hotel had not combined our two reservations into one, even though I had sent a letter to insure not issues. it was my wife's birthday, and they gave here a flower lei. They even gave me a lessor one. This was not done for everyone checking in. The "open interior" of the place is very nice.

A third floor king awaited us, as requested, along with the extra pillows and towels we requested in our letter. Our room was 314. It has a small, odd shaped balcony with a garden view. Our bed is okay. The furnishings are Courtyard. There is a small refrigerator which held seveal waters, an OJ, two white wines and some soda. We had to remove a shelve to accommodate the OJ, once it was opened. The water pressure is good for shower and shaving. A/C was always on. Set at 74 when we entered, we moved iit to 73 for comfort. At night we moved it to 75. The closet is large and has a safe. The dresser has 6 drawers. Lighting is good. more to come

We unpacked and then went down to the lobby to get a free mai tai welcome drink they offer each night at 5:30pm. Nice touch. Not too sure on the rules, but we did this each night. many others did as well.

The one problem in our room, was serious. Our white socks soon were darkened on ;the bottoms. We believe this was black mold on the carpet (using a wash cloth test got the same results. the room was very clean otherwise. We asked to be moved after the next days activities. There was not issue. While we repacked for the room move, an employee showed up to check out the carpet. She noticed the smell of mold and offered some help with the move. We thanked here but were fine with the handling by ourselves. We were moved to a room that was very similar, but this time we have a courtyard and pool view. This proved very valuable, as we were able to view the hula dancking one night and the fire dancing another night from our balcony. This room is 203. The bedding in this room is due for replacement. The toilet "sticks" from time to time when flushed. A few nicks and dings could be addressed.

One night we had pupus in the bar. Actually we split a burger (cheese, bacon, onion ring) and fries and an order of pulled port sliders. Each was about $13. Drinks run $7-10 (we had water). They also have a pupu platter for $25. Service was great, except for trying to get a bill.

The parking is good. Large spaces. We have a Crown Victoria rental can (another story), so we appreciate that. The entertainment is hookey to excellent. Overall, the entertainment really is worth an extra $100 over the week to us. Wake up call is by a person, not a machine. Lots of seating by the pool and the beach. NO towel/chair holding that goes on elsewhere. Seemed to be a good balance in people and resources.

Room Tip: Most rooms similar except the view...which you pay for. Our first room quieter. Our second pool vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Address: 650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746 (Formerly Aston Kauai Beach at Makaiwa)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#4 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on 10 beachfront acres amid a century-old coconut grove, this deluxe oceanfront resort hotel offers breathtaking views, spacious suites and open-air dining. Centrally located, many movie production crews choose to stay here as it's minutes from anywhere on the island. It's an excellent base to explore and discover the natural beauty that the Garden Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kauai At Coconut Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Resortquest Kauai Beach Makaiwa
Aston Resort Kapaa
Waipouli Beach
Resort Quest Kauai
Courtyard By Marriott Kauai At Coconut Beach Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.