We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice! Great Location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746 (Formerly Aston Kauai Beach at Makaiwa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #5 of 12 hotels in Kapaa
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very Nice! Great Location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a very nice hotel. It's clean!!! We got an "ocean view" not "ocean front" and it was wonderful. We landed in Kauai after dark. What a surprise when I opened up the curtains the next morning to see beautiful mountains and and an amazing beach with reddish sand in front of me! The rooms are not huge, but a good size. Bathroom was a bit on the small side, but worked just fine. They have dark wood shutters and doors. Very Pretty! The mattresses seemed a little old as I could feel some springs, but I slept great. The doors are thick wood, so you hear nothing in the hallway. Having a quiet room is key for me! The grounds are well kept. There is a pool and hot tub. At night there is a firepit lit up next to the pool and tiki torches all around. It's a great atmosphere. The beach is pretty, but we never swam here, so I can't comment on that. It's rocky in some places, and as with all beaches figure out about the currents before you get in. If you have a rental car, the beach is not a big deal. If you won't have a rental car stay at the other Marriott property on Kalapaki Beach. You can easily swim there and kids could play in the ocean there as well. One morning they had 2 hula ladies doing a hula sunrise dance. It was neat. The restaurant looked nice, but we never ate there. It is located just north of the airport. There are grocery stores and fast food right down the street. From the hotel we would drive north to the beaches and it took about 45 minutes (that will get you all the way to Ke'e Beach). BUT, that 45 minutes was filled with unbelievable beauty! I never like to drive at home, but there, looking at the gorgeous mountains, waterfalls, and beaches....it was one of the highlights of the trip. There is a little bit of traffic in Kapaa, but after you get through that, there isn't much anywhere else. This was a very nice hotel, in a great location. It was easy to get to the north or south side, depending on what we wanted to do that day. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

833 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    287
    375
    117
    33
    21
See reviews for
158
478
40
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife and I have vacationed yearly at this resort beginning 2001. It is centrally located on the east side of the island, approximately one half way between Poipu's sunny beaches and the north shore's stunning beauty. Dining, shopping, and wonderful beaches are within walking or short driving range. The staff is extremely friendly and very good at what they do. The rooms are clean, the location quiet, the ocean at your doorstep.

Craig & Laura Muirhead
Charlotte, Michigan

Room Tip: If the ocean front rooms are within your vacation budget DEFINITELY grab one of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

If you're looking for a nice beach with an amazing sunrise...this is your place! Beach is nice to catch some sun but not for swimming. We weren't concerned about the strong current; we rented a car and drove the island finding our own slice of heaven (public park/beach with little to nobody on it). We weren't interested in crowded beach/pool scenes with young girls in their skimpy bikinis. Been there...done that! We are in our late 40's and wanted a place to relax and enjoy. The hotel itself was nice; friendly staff; great bar & restaurant; (check out Wahooo's for dinner; 1/2 block north of entrance). I have to say...when we first arrived at the hotel, we opened the door to our room and it was an amazing clean/soft bleach smell. I thought, finally a hotel where you open the door and the smell is fresh and not musty/damp. That lasted the 1st day. Every day after... we'd open the door and it was like any other hotel with an oceanfront...musty! We did notice on the second day... small ants in the bathroom with a sign . The sign threw us...they must have issues with insects often to have such permanent signs made (didn't witness any other insects while lodging there). While on Kauai you HAVE to go on a helicopter tour! We took Mauna Loa Helicopter Tours. Cost was around $500 for an hour. Just the 2 of us and of course the pilot! It was incredible (pic attached) we viewed parts of the island you'd never see by boat, car or by foot! Dinner cruises are worth it too (We used Blue Dolphin - Hi to Captain Chad and crew)! We didn't get into the whole snorkeling excursion. We may have considered it if we hadn't booked the dinner cruise first. (both would have taken us to the same place...Na Pali coastline) Why go to the same place twice! Try horseback riding too.... we were concerned we'd be saddle sore. Not the case! Very relaxing and beautiful (pic attached). Back to the subject at hand.... we were looking for someplace private to stay.... someplace close to the airport.... a place to stay with people our age... a place to wake up in the morning have a cup of coffee on the balcony with the Hawaiian sunrise to greet you... a place to have a glass of wine at night! Marriott Kauai delivered! Be sure to consider the cost of keeping a rental car at the hotel... most charge $14 - $30 per night. Another thing to consider...we flew into Oahu (Honolulu) for 2 nights (probably wouldn't do that again...too commercialized for our taste) We landed in Oahu to see Pearl Harbor... that was a flop due to government shutdown! Anyway.... Go Kauai...we will visit Kauai again in summer months! Although Oct. was off season and rates were cheaper & less crowded... blossoms were all but gone in October. We would deal with the hustle and bustle of crowds versus missing the tropical splendor again! Good luck on your travels to the Hawaiian Islands. Its so amazing there...it won't matter which island you choose!

Room Tip: If you want privacy... away from the busy part of he beach... away from the parking lot.... even a s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnaminson, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

A nice stay. Staff was courteous, area was beautiful. While there was a parking fee, there was no resort fee and the pool was quite nice. The chaises fill up quick on nice days, and the beach is not really swimable. I think this island is nore for inland adventuring so not surprising. Overall a great experience and a good value for what you pay. One downside: I had to fax contracts out and the staff did not know how to use their own fax machine, then lied and said it had sent correctly. When it became apparant that the fax did not go out, another member showed me the failed confirmation and appologized.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at this property for 4 days in September of 2013. The hotel is located very close to the airport. Our room was clean and well furnished, though the bed was not very comfortable. The hotel is oceanfront, however the beach is very dangerous, due to strong currents and a rocky shoreline. Due to this, we were unable to swim or even go in the water past our knees. We never saw anyone in the water. For this reason alone it would not be a good hotel for kids. The only other issue we had at this hotel was with housekeeping, one day they did not service our room. We called down to the front desk at 4pm to request housekeeping service, they assured us that someone would be right up. When we left for dinner at 5pm, housekeeping still had not visited. On our way out I stopped by the front desk to check on this, the attendant assured me it would be taken care of by the time we returned from dinner. We returned at 8:30pm and the room still had not been cleaned. The front desk finally sent the maintenance man with new towels and to collect our trash around 9:30pm. I voiced the issue to mariott customer service, they did apologize and address the issue. If you are looking for a place on kauai that is quiet and conveinent to the airport, this is a good hotel for a short stay. If you plan on staying more than a couple days or traveling with children, there are better options a little south of this property.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We spent 3 night here recently. The hotel is located very close to the airport and about half way between the North shore sights and the south/west side of the island sites. It is the prefect location if you only have a few days on the island and plan to spend it exploring.

After a long day of traveling we arrived at the hotel around 9:30 local time. We were a little hungry and very disappointed when the front desk person told us all the restaurants in town were close and they were no longer serving food at their bar (we later saw that there was a Taco Bell, McDonalds, and Subway down the road). Check-in did not go smoothly. We had booked 2 nights with points and the 3rd night as a package that should had included a Jeep and a $100 food credit. They tried to switch us to a breakfast buffet and a couples massage instead of the package we booked. After the front desk person made many trips back and forth to a back room to "talk to his manager." They finally agreed to give us the $100 food credit, but made no mention of the Jeep. We had already rented a car so it wasn't a big deal.

We had reserved their largest executive ocean front room, because it was only $10-20 more a night. The room was huge! We were located on the corner of the building so we had a great balcony as well. Our room was very clean and well furnished. It wasn't the newest, but it still had plenty of life in it. The bed was a little rough on my back, but I do have back problems.

We did not use the pool or the beach. The pool was very small. If the hotel was fully booked it could be crowded. The beach is not a swimming beach, or even a beach that would be good for getting your feet a little wet. The entire coast is lined with a rocky shelf/path. We never saw anyone in the water. For this reason alone it would not be a good hotel for kids.

We had dinner in the restaurant one night. Both of us had a fish entree and a drink. Our bill was about $70. It was good, but I don't know if it was that good. We also had drinks at the bar one night during happy hour. It was a little disappointing that they served them in cheap plastic cups.

While in Kauai, one night we had dinner at Duke's located in the Marriott just south of the airport. We had nearly stayed there, but decide with the proximity to the airport and the harbor right next to the Marriott that it wouldn't be very nice. After seeing the beach areas and the grounds, if we were to go back, I would pay a little extra and stay at the Marriott. The beach and pool areas were amazing. The beach was by far one of the nicest, most swim-able beaches we saw on the island.

As I had expected, at check-out, we had additional problems with the package we booked. The $100 food credit did not show up on our bill. We had to go back and have it adjusted. For some reason they really did not want to honor that package.

Yes, there is a $14 parking fee and the location does not warrant it, but hey I think every hotel in Hawaii has a parking fee!

So overall, if you are traveling without kids, staying a short time, and not planning on using the pool or beach, the Courtyard can be a great deal. On the other hand, if you are traveling with kids, or staying on Kauai for more than 3-4 nights I would stay at either the Marriott or one of the hotels located on the south coast in the Poipu area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rigby, Idaho
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
173 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I've never been to a Courtyard by Marriott resort until this stay. The property may be a good deal for Kauai depending on the price - it was the lowest-cost Marriott property based on Marriott Rewards points, which is why we stayed here. They still managed to get some money out of me from their $14 per night parking fee. It was a pleasant property and a comfortable stay. There was a nice HDTV in the room with a good number of channels, many in HD. The A/C system kept the room cool, which was great. The wireless internet was free and fast. There was a mini fridge in the room, but it froze the juice I stored there. I did not swim in the pool or spa, nor the adjacent beach (the ocean is too rough here). It's central location in Kapa'a means you're not too far from anything on the island. Although there were a number of pluses, the drawbacks include no benefits whatsoever were offered to me for my Marriott Rewards elite status, a very worn room including moderate damage to the tub, a small bathroom, a very very firm bed that was too uncomfortable, a number of cosmetic blemishes around the property, the aforementioned parking fee, and high prices in the two on-site restaurants. Nightly entertainment and other activities/parties/weddings etc can be loud, even through closed windows, into the night if your room faces the central courtyard/pool area.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Address: 650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746 (Formerly Aston Kauai Beach at Makaiwa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#4 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on 10 beachfront acres amid a century-old coconut grove, this deluxe oceanfront resort hotel offers breathtaking views, spacious suites and open-air dining. Centrally located, many movie production crews choose to stay here as it's minutes from anywhere on the island. It's an excellent base to explore and discover the natural beauty that the Garden Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kauai At Coconut Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Resortquest Kauai Beach Makaiwa
Aston Resort Kapaa
Waipouli Beach
Resort Quest Kauai
Courtyard By Marriott Kauai At Coconut Beach Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.