We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746 (Formerly Aston Kauai Beach at Makaiwa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% This Summer!
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed here on a recent business trip to Kauai. Found it on Trip Advisor and thought it looked good. It's better in person and now I have a new home for my trips to Kauai. Traveling solo - it's nice to have a place where you can relax with a drink after work. The food at the bar was excellent, the people are friendly and its location is excellent. My one gripe is the coffee is horrible. How can you NOT serve good coffee in Hawaii?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardkauai, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Mahalo for your recent comment. We are very happy to hear you have found a Kauai home away from home! Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Kauai and we hope to see you again soon. In fact, we should have that new coffee by the time you return. Timing is everything and we were just about to switch to another Hawaii Grown coffee. Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    478
    150
    43
    23
See reviews for
196
612
54
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Very nice property with plenty of food options etc and pool area overlooking the beach. We stayed one night only for ease to get to airport in morning (we had a car but they offer a free shuttle service). Beach was calm and swimmable but I am told this is not always the case. Easy to get to either side of the island from here provided you have a car.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardkauai, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Aloha and thank you for choosing the Courtyard Kauai. We are happy to see you found us convenient and centrally located. Our Aloha Spirit and great location are two of our best attributes. Hopefully you return to Kauai soon. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Nice hotel. Fourth Floor had vaulted ceilings, our room was absolute furtherest from entrance. Requested quite room away from human noise where I could enjoy the surf, Room 485 fit the bill. Be aware a good distance from nearest elevator. New furnishings, very clean no mildew order, Bathroom is small but not spending day in there. Lobby open and very inviting; my wife kept on how lovely the place was.
Wifi was great and fast. Fridge kinda 0f small. Six pack and a little extra. Coffee Maker is one of those single cup makers, two coffee packs in room per day.
Safeway and Foodtown close by, Walmart 10 minutes away. McDonalds, Burger King, Taco Bell are close, (did not stop at any but are close) Little town does not open until after 7:00 drove a ways to get breakfast.
Would stay here again, I am Gold Marriott but no upgrades given at the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask desk for upgrade, best room, tell them what you are looking for and they will attempt to accommo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Right in the middle of Kapaa and a short walk to downtown Kapaa. The lobby and pool area where beautiful and inviting. They also have three hammocks outside for you to enjoy. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, though our Ocean View room was on the side of the building near the dumpsters (but technically you could see the ocean from the tiny balcony.) The location was central to all our planned activites and they also have an expedia rep available in the lobby to help you book anything else that might catch your eye. Enjoyed having the bar in the pool area and also the Free Mai Tai cocktail hour nightly. Only slight hiccup was the attitude of our made who usually did not stop by to clean our room until around 2pm, right when we were usually coming back from an excursion. My wife had told her one day that we would be 10min. and the maid gave her an eye role before moving on. The rest of the staff we came in contact with were very pleasant and we felt very welcomed. Lots of great places to eat nearby and shops within walking distance. Would definitley come back the next time we are in Kauai.

Room Tip: Avoid the right wing of the building facing the ocean. Although you can see the ocean from your balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is one of very few Hotels on Kauai. They are mostly condos, or resorts. This was definitley a great choice. We had an ocean front room. The room was big, and the view is worth it. Watched the sun rise over the ocean every morning. Great staff. they suggested things to do. Went on a helicopter tour of the island - great experience. It is close to the airport. They have a fire pit at night, and the one night there was a hula show, and they sang hawaiin songs. Lots of lounge chairs, and seating outside. This was an awesome experience - our first time on this island. I would recommend this hotel. It is close to restaurants and shopping.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are worth the extra cost. We were on the 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Disappointing!!!!!!
Hotel grounds and pool are lovely directly on the beach perfect! But bars closing at 10pm disgusting!!
We flew over from Oahu for 1 night and all I can I say is thank god! One night is enough!!!

We've had problems with the wifi, and as for the bar I'm on holiday but being sent to bed by 10pm not acceptable!

This is also a honeymoon stop! No extas anything!

I can not express how annoyed I am and when we asked the reveption lady why it closed at 10pm her answer was that's just the way it is !!! crap!! Never heard such rubbish world come here ever again'

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardkauai, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Mahalo for your review and we are sorry you did not enjoy Kauai and our facilities. I was just in Oahu and you are absolutely correct, Kauai is no Oahu. Things do close down earlier around our island and we apologize if this ruined your visit. There are a few local places we can point out that stay open longer, so maybe next time you can stay a few extra days and enhance your experience. Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I was enjoying the whole experience of staying at this lovely hotel,lovely meal,good happy hour drinks,then came 10.00!!!! Everything in this paradise closes! All alcohol sales over! No room service! Spoke to desk personnel who gave no explanation as to why the bar closed at 10.00 pm. Went to bed early like a little school kid and thoroughly pissed off with the hotel and all the workers in it. I will never come here again or recommend this place to anyone

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Address: 650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746 (Formerly Aston Kauai Beach at Makaiwa)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on 10 beachfront acres amid a century-old coconut grove, this deluxe oceanfront resort hotel offers breathtaking views, spacious suites and open-air dining. Centrally located, many movie production crews choose to stay here as it's minutes from anywhere on the island. It's an excellent base to explore and discover the natural beauty that the Garden Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kauai At Coconut Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Resortquest Kauai Beach Makaiwa
Aston Resort Kapaa
Waipouli Beach
Resort Quest Kauai
Courtyard By Marriott Kauai At Coconut Beach Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.