We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriott at coconut beach great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746 (Formerly Aston Kauai Beach at Makaiwa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Marriott at coconut beach great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Just came back from a 3 night stay at this hotel - very nice hotel, clean, wonderful food at downstairs dining restaurant, reasonable prices. Hotel had a little balcony - saw the tennis court when opened. Close by to little shopping area to the right of hotel - smaller restaurants and Foodland - tip - if you see an item that you want to buy, there is a member price. To get the member price, just tell the cashier your phone number - you can use this number each time you ca shout for the savings! Overall, I would stay at this hotel again - also, not far from airport.
Just the beach area is not that great compared to Maui.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    381
    121
    35
    21
See reviews for
162
489
41
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton, California, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a really nice property. The courtyard is beautiful, and you can see the beach and ocean well. Well-maintained and nicely appointed. They have lots of local entertainment at night - low-key but authentic and fun. The concierges, who work with Trip Advisor, were extremely helpful and wonderful to work with. They set us up with three different adventures around the island, and each one worked out great. Totally fun adventures, awesome guides, and safe/new equipment. All three of them - Kristin, Heidi, Lea - knew a lot about all of the guide companies and the options they offered. Very happy that we talked with them and went with their recommendations. Plus they made it easy!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The location in Kapaa was perfect. It's right in between the North and South Shores. The hotel staff was great and the welcome Mai Tai's was really nice touch. The room itself isn't that great, but we got a good deal so I didn't really want to complain. The room smelled musty and of mildew. We had a partial ocean view so we kept the slider open most of the time. The AC unit was very loud and was difficult for my husband to sleep. One evening there was a wedding out by the pool across from our room and that was very noisy until after 10:30 pm. One morning the fire alarm came on and was coming from our room and the room across from us. That was an extremely loud annoying noise. It lasted a few minutes and the entire hotel had to evacuate. We were never told what happened. On a positive note, the pool and spa were pretty good and the hotel is right on the beach, which is very convenient. The grounds were pretty well kept. They had lots of chairs and some hammocks to lay in. There is plenty of parking, but It was pretty expensive to park our rental car there. It added up quickly. There are places walking distance from the hotel. We were able to walk to a couple of restaurants and grocery stores that were in the area. The Snorkel Bob's we rented snorkel equipment from was just down the street from the hotel. Bonus! All in all, it was a good deal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on our honeymoon for eight days. The place is very well located for activities around the island. Nothing is really more than an hour away except for Waimea Canyon.
We appreciated the Coconut Marketplace right next door for eating and shopping as well as the Foodland, Safeway, and ABC Stores all within a couple of blocks.
Our room had great A/C, was clean, and was quiet. We loved the pool areas where we ate many of our take-out dinners while watching the ocean. They even have a performance at sunrise by a mother and daughter (song & dance) which was very nice.
Great stay for the value too!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Seoul
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Got a very good price online, so I was not surprised for getting a room on top of the hotel's generator. I havn't switched it as the room was really quiet and we only used it for sleeping.

The hotel is not too big but feels spacious. Rooms are clean and well maintained. The staff is very friendly. Free cocktails @ reception is a great bonus.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just returned from 3 nights at the CY at Coconut Beach. The staff was very friendly and kind in typical laid back Kauai manner. We loved the common areas which were great for relaxing - hammocks, cushy chairs, high end deck chairs, etc. The lounge and the bar food was great and not overly expensive. After a day of sightseeing, it was nice to return to the hotel for a free mai tai, and then retreat to the bar for some great snacks. While the beach is not really swim-able, it is beautiful. On the last AM, we got up at 530 and saw the most spectacular sunrise. The grounds of the hotel are well manicured. The hotel is convenient to the airport, and really midway in the island for trips north and west. Traffic around Kapaa gets pretty bad around rush? hour. No one really seems to know why. But that's ok. Because it's a great place to forget about stuff like that and just chill out. My only real complaint is that the doors in the hall when shut all sound like they are being slammed. Not a great way to wake up, or go to sleep.

Room Tip: We booked an executive room because we thought other executives would be around...mainly it was peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russellville,ar
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very lovely rooms. Cold front with high winds eastern brought in wetness into a ground floor room, everything was wet and smelled wet. However, we immediately changed rooms to the 2nd floor and it was much improved although we lost the ocean view. The beach is not swimmable but is beautiful to sit by in the chairs provided at the beach. I will stay here again. We got up and packed a lunch daily and beach hopped- Kauai has the best snorkeling experiences ever to be had.One day there was a couple of sea lions on the beach sleeping- priceless.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Address: 650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746 (Formerly Aston Kauai Beach at Makaiwa)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#4 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on 10 beachfront acres amid a century-old coconut grove, this deluxe oceanfront resort hotel offers breathtaking views, spacious suites and open-air dining. Centrally located, many movie production crews choose to stay here as it's minutes from anywhere on the island. It's an excellent base to explore and discover the natural beauty that the Garden Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kauai At Coconut Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Resortquest Kauai Beach Makaiwa
Aston Resort Kapaa
Waipouli Beach
Resort Quest Kauai
Courtyard By Marriott Kauai At Coconut Beach Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.