We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746 (Formerly Aston Kauai Beach at Makaiwa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Düsseldorf
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great hotel, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

One thought to the other guys who commented on their stay: Of course the beach is not a typical beach for swimming. This is the case in 95% on Kauai, the waters are the most dangerous ones in the world.

The picture was taken from our hotel room - we had checked the internet and had booked ocean facing view. In my opinion this is kind of false, because ocean facing is something else. But the only rooms who face the ocean are executive suites.

Cleanliness would have been a five star rating, but we had a giant cockroach in our room. Only one time - but it was the case. Sorry to say.

The standrad is the Mariott standard , so no surprises here.

We could rent tennis racks for free and we enjoyed complimentary MaiTays every evening.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    419
    131
    38
    22
See reviews for
173
541
45
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Haven, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We booked through Trip Masters for 12 night/ 4 island tour. The Courtyard- Coconut Beach was very nice. No hotel shuttle so we rented a car ($24 a day plus $14 per night parking). They didn’t upgrade us but also did not charge us for a rollaway! Coin-op laundry room was convenient but only one machine per floor. Complimentary tea & coffee in the morning and we went to McDonald across the street instead of paying $12 for breakfast. Pool bar had good food. No one was on the beach or in the ocean so I’m not sure if there was a warning but it was very windy. Check in and check out was quick and staff friendly. Room and bathroom was clean & modern and Wi-Fi had strong signal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avondale, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Was OK but the bath tub was not clean. The sheet were not clean they had stains on them look like dyed blood. Staff was very good, and helpful. So the only problem we had was house keeping..............................................................................................................

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The Kaapa are is a great place to stay while on vacation in Kauai! The Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach is wonderful. Rooms are spacious and clean, staff is nice and helpful. Wonderful food at restaurant. My husband and I enjoyed a great watermelon chicken salad!
We hope to get back there soon!!!

Room Tip: We had the room over the spa which does not have an ocean view, however, it was very private, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapaau, Hawaii
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed for 8 nights. Location of very good. Services are very good. Vorager restaurant is average at best. Pool side lounge is better for eating at the hotel, but you can also walk to the nearby Coconut Marketplace where there are some very nice shops and restaurants. Both the pool and jacuzzi are very nice and are located in the center "courtyard" of the hotel. Sit out by the firepits at night and you will enjoy. There is a nice sandy beach, but a large rocky reef lurks just under the water just off shore, so swimlming many be difficult or dangerous, depending on the tides. A short drive of less than a mile puts you in Kapaa Town where most everything you want can be found; restaurants, bars, grocery stores, activities, etc. The Expedia concierge desk in the lobby of the hotel was very helpful in booking our activities and making reservations for the week. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Pay the upcharge for a view of the ocean or pool, whichever you prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This is a nice hotel on the ocean with a pool, restaurant, and most rooms all facing the ocean. It is close to the airport and some shopping plazas and restaurants. But, you cannot swim in the ocean here. The beach is nice, but there is a coral or other hard material formation a few feet off shore that runs parallel to the shore that would make swimming dangerous. I heard one man tried to go over this barrier that is just below the surface and he got hurt. I am a strong swimmer, I would not attempt swimming here. So, if you are booking her because you want to swim in the ocean, rather than just look at it, find another place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My Fiance and I came to Kauai to celebrate our engagement trip. We were upgraded to the executive ocean front room which was fantastic! They had free mai tais upon check in and every single night from 5-8. Travis (the mai tai guy and bell staff) was very accommodating in assisting us with our luggage and making us drinks nightly. The hotel is located in a great area right by the beach and many great shops and restaurants. We met the General Manager as well who was very friendly and ensured we had a great trip. Lastly there was no resort fee, just $14 a night for parking. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area.

Room Tip: Ocean front room is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Address: 650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746 (Formerly Aston Kauai Beach at Makaiwa)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on 10 beachfront acres amid a century-old coconut grove, this deluxe oceanfront resort hotel offers breathtaking views, spacious suites and open-air dining. Centrally located, many movie production crews choose to stay here as it's minutes from anywhere on the island. It's an excellent base to explore and discover the natural beauty that the Garden Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kauai At Coconut Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Resortquest Kauai Beach Makaiwa
Aston Resort Kapaa
Waipouli Beach
Resort Quest Kauai
Courtyard By Marriott Kauai At Coconut Beach Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.