We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kapaa Komfort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746 (Formerly Aston Kauai Beach at Makaiwa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Kapaa Komfort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed for two nights with our two kids. We arrived about 8 p.m and we were all very tired. Our room was very comfortable with two queen beds. Our roomed faced the ocean and it was soothing to listen to the waves crashing at night as we slept with our window open. The staff was very courteous.
The hotel is a short walk to the shopping center for food, groceries and coffee to the north. The fitness facility provided a good selection of weight training and cardio equipment. We would definitely stay here again.
The only drawback is the $14 charge to park your car per day. A cab ride to the hotel costs about $25 from the airport. A car is not needed if you want to hang around Kapaa for a few days.

Room Tip: The rooms on the East side face the ocean. The top floor units have a vaulted like ceiling and it m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    416
    131
    38
    21
See reviews for
173
539
44
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
fairbanks, Arkansas, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

ok i would probably only give this 4 stars but i have to bump it up because the staff is so nice and when i left a personal item in my room and called them they fed-ex'ed it to me. nice public areas, bar and restaurant though a bit on the small side and can get a little crowded. pool is ICEY cold and the beach is rocky. public computers were nearly always down but wi-fi worked. rooms are nice but cheap towels and toiletries. located near the airport about mid-way between the rainy north shore and sunny south shore so you get a bit of each. not sure but i'm guessing this area continuously is windy and off and on brief rains. but the airy, open, nice common areas, good price (though travel group booked for us) and very friendly staff made it a place i'd return to.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Top Contributor
388 reviews 388 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
375 helpful votes 375 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We had reserved a resort timeshare for a week but our plane didn't arrive in Lihue until after 7pm so we hated to used one of our days for that. We had a certificate from Marriott for a free night which was good at the Courtyard, so we decided to come a day early and take advantage of our free night. By the time we checked in it was after 8 pm (and much later in the time zone we got up in). The place is easy to find. It's not too far from the airport. It's just past the Coconut Marketplace and has a large sign on the highway to direct you. It's down the road a bit, so not right by the highway itself. The check-in was smooth. They upgraded us (because we are Marriott gold) to a nice ocean front room with 2 queen beds. The room was spacious. It had a small fridge, but no microwave. The bathroom was divided into two areas. Very well designed with ladies in mind. The main bathroom was complete, but in addition they had a separate area just outside the bathroom with a second basin, nice counter space, big mirror, electrical outlets, and good lighting for make-up. They have a bar and a RESTAURANT there. We didn't eat there because it was late and we didn't want a big elegant meal. We needed someplace that had sandwiches or soup so we went up to the highway to grab a bite. This is right near the ocean. I didn't check out the beach, but my husband is a runner, so he went out for a run the next morning and said it wasn't a great beach. He said it was rocky sand. There is a large parking lot next to the buildings. There is a charge of $14 per day to park. As I recall there were two buildings. We were in the one that didn't have the lobby/restaurant. They are connected and we found it was easier to go through the main building to get to our room than to walk through the doors of our building. For one thing there are stairs into the second building (no ramps), so it was hard to manage the luggage up the stairs. The pool has lounges surrounding it, but not much shade. Our experience there was very brief, since we left the next morning, but when we went on a boat ride a few days later, we visited with a couple that was staying there for their entire vacation, and they said it was very nice. The staff is very friendly. The furnishings though out are well maintained - everything you expect from a Marriott property.

Room Tip: Ocean fronts are always nice. We always like an upper floor (if they have elevators) and in a quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Hotel is a great value choice when compared to other big name resorts. Property has a central island location. Great for us as we had plans to see sights on both ends of the island. Reasonably close to airport but not close enough to hear any noise. Staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. Hotel grounds were well kept. Hotel is not a typical Courtyard. Room furnishings appear Courtyard-like but mattresses are overdue for replacement and bathrooms are much smaller than you would expect from a Courtyard or a resort hotel. Oceanfront rooms may be larger.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Our flight home to the mainland was cancelled. The airlines couldn't get us home until the next day. They sent us to courtyard marriot in kapa'a. It was a beautiful hotel with super friendly staff. The pool and spa were beautiful. The restaurant and bar were pretty good for a hotel. There is a rocky but beautiful beach on the hotel property with plenty of high quality lounge chairs. The view was gorgeous. There are plenty of shops and restaurants that you can walk to. We were very unhappy about our flight cancellation but we couldn't have been happier with where they put us for our overnight stay. I don't know what the room prices are but I would pay $200 a night for the room we stayed in. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Spent 4 days ,arrived about 6 o'clock evening our room we were told would not be ready until about 10pm ck in time is 3pm but for the delay they told us they will give 2500 rewards point. since we have friends that will pick us up for dinner we agree and they put our luggage in the storage. Two days later we saw in the lobby about a dozen people waiting for their room as well , a lady told us they been waiting for their rooms about 2 hrs already, They should do something about this kind of situation, many people traveled far and sometimes it is good to freshen up or take a short snooze in your room,otherwise our stay is uneventful ,staffs are very helpful

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, Idaho
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

what an impressive place! the hotel & grounds are so beautiful, service was awsome, we loved all the happy hours! good restaurant here, the beach was the best, monk seals came up on shore, the Pua spa was great, we hated to leave this beautifl place! highly recommend this if you are in Kauai!

Room Tip: may as well get an ocean view here, we wish we woud have!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Address: 650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746 (Formerly Aston Kauai Beach at Makaiwa)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#4 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on 10 beachfront acres amid a century-old coconut grove, this deluxe oceanfront resort hotel offers breathtaking views, spacious suites and open-air dining. Centrally located, many movie production crews choose to stay here as it's minutes from anywhere on the island. It's an excellent base to explore and discover the natural beauty that the Garden Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kauai At Coconut Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Resortquest Kauai Beach Makaiwa
Aston Resort Kapaa
Waipouli Beach
Resort Quest Kauai
Courtyard By Marriott Kauai At Coconut Beach Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.