We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel w/ Great location for touring the whole island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746 (Formerly Aston Kauai Beach at Makaiwa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice hotel w/ Great location for touring the whole island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We picked this hotel because it was a great value for a decent quality and the location in Kappa was close to the airport and a good base to be able to drive around the whole island (about an hour to drive to the south and an hour to drive to the north). We had an oceanfront room that was huge and we left the sliding door open at night so that we could hear the waves, so soothing!

The staff was very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was great as well as the happy hour. We didn't really use the pool at all because the temperature was a bit cold and the hot tub was always packed with like 10 people. The should really add another hot tub to the property.

If you are planning to hang out at the hotel, I would not choose this one, but it is great for just an average room for a fair price when you want to do lots of other activities around the island.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    421
    131
    38
    22
See reviews for
173
543
45
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I loved being right on the beach. The community areas of this hotel are very nice, very inviting. The pool area is lovely and has an expansive view of the beach. The hotel puts plenty of chairs out on the beach as well.

I had a garden view room which faced the tennis courts. Small balcony. It was great to have the door open during my entire stay.

Food in the restaurants is OK. The staff are very friendly and helpul. On busy nights, they seem a bit overwhelmed in the bar.They have a pretty steady flow of events - hula show one or two nights a week, live musice in the pool/bar area.

This place is within walking distance of plenty of food, drug store, grocery stores, restaurants. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We are staying in this hotel for 3 nights during our honey moon and everything is going wrong since we checked in. We first got a "garden view room" with a terrible parking view, we asked for another room and got a room with a better view but still not a real garden view (tennis court and parking). Then the first night we had sound issues with the AC, it went crazy at 5am and sounded like a hoover and woke us up. We called the front desk but they only partially solved the problem after several calls and 35min. The next day it did it again and this time, the front desk told me nobody was there from the technical team and they couldn't do anything till 7am or later...
We had to go at the front desk before living for the day and we had to reexplain our problem, since they wouldn't even believe us, we had to show a video we took with our mobile phone...
The technician called for our problem explained that it was the bathroom air evacuation system that worked from 5 to 10 am automatically and that he couldn't do anything without affecting the entire system. So we got a third room and had to pack again.
We arrived in our room wich was OK, but there was trash in the bathroom and stains on the towells... And this room has like the thinest walls ever, we could hear our neighbors, caughing, listening to the TV or chatting...
We have a last night tonight and we are glad to leave the hotel tomorrow !!

Not to mention there parking lot wich is a fraud, they make us pay 14 USD per night to put the car on there open air parking lot with no surveillance and when you come back from a day out or from dinner you have to circle all around the hotel to find a free space. Unbelievable, there are cars circling around every night on the quietest island from Hawaii like we are in NYC.

We are honeymoon tripping for 3 weeks now and went to over 10 different hotels on the west coast and Hawaii, and it's the worst place we could find...

THANK YOU COURTYARD, BUT NO THANKS

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had an amazing experience. Wonderful, friendly staff, beautiful grounds, central location, and delicious mai tais ;) We were in room 471, with a beautiful view of the ocean - the room was ample size. It's a little amusing the people that have complained about the size of the bathrooms, and the lighting of the rooms, etc. You're ON KAUAI...go explore! We were rarely in the room...only enough to shower, sleep, and have a drink on the lanai. Yes, the $14/day parking fee is ridiculous, but with all the other amenities, the pros outweighed that con. Be sure to try the pork sliders at the bar...mmm, mmm, mmm!
The hotel is about 30 mins to both, the North and South shores. 45-50 mins to Waimea Canyon (West side). The Coconut Marketplace is within walking distance (this houses shops, etc.)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulsbo
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We've been "Marriott people" for decades, including a timeshare on Kauai. So we decided to add 2 nights to our 7 night stay again - this time choosing a Marriott property at another part of the island, whereas normally we just stay next door to the Waiohai at the Kiahuna Plantation. I can't say anything about the location, because we know the Island and that was our choice, but it doesn't compare favorably to Poipu. There was road construction everywhere on that part of the Island and within Lihui, causing us to get stuck in traffic constantly. Coconut Grove has seen better days - at least half of the store fronts were empty.

After we unpacked our luggage and put our sundries onto the bathroom counter, we were shocked to find that the miniscule size lotion and shampoo bottles had been used and were all caked up with a dried substance. And if that wasn't disgusting enough, there was mold all over the bathroom floor along the baseboard and inside the tub. Also, the fixtures were dilapidated - loose and covered with some crusty residue.

But we were literally rendered speechless when we tried to put our water bottles inside their much advertised refrigerator and discovered that it was "decorated" with a dirty towel inside, which protruded under its door, activating our gag reflexes. Last but not least, for some unknown reason the door to the balcony was wet with condensation, and one of the light bulbs was broken.

My husband used his smart phone to take photos and we went to the reception desk to request another room (something we have never had to do in our 30+ years of travel all over the world!). They called a manager to survey the room, who offered us "free" parking for the duration of our stay. We thought maybe a free night was in order. The next room didn't have the condensation problem, but the mold in the bathroom was present as well. We were told Marriott had just purchased the property and were in the process of fixing it up, starting with the outside. However - that won't change the layout of some of the rooms - which had very high ceilings and were tiny otherwise. The balcony was so small, barely two chairs could fit side by side. My husband had to get up and move the chair inside for me to get in and out of the corner.

Even once the property has been fixed up - which will take a few years - we'll never stay there again. We'll stay at one of Marriott's less expensive properties like the Fairfield any day before trying another Courtyard, unless it is a brand new property. Recently we tried to stay at a Courtyard in Kirkland WA - and thanks to trusty TripAdvisor reviews we passed on that one, too. Enclosed are photos of some of the most offensive issues at the Marriott Courtyard at Coconut Grove, Kauai.

Room Tip: They do have some large rooms and suites ocean front, but we were not offered any of them. But we do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We spent seven nights here, a special rate on TravelZoo, our first visit to the islands. I loved this property and would definitely stay here again. Great location right on the beach, good amenities, good looking property, very comfortable inside and out. Only negative was I requested an ocean view room and we got only a partial view, tucked into an inside corner. It seemed like it was always being kept up too. Clean and modern, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Used points and as a platinum marriott got beachfront room on ground level. Enjoyed the bar area and the meals are a decent value. Bought some handcrafted jewelry from Jonathan at his table in the lobby. His prices are almost too low and what a wonderful person to meet. Managers and staff are pleasant. Grounds layout is good with nice pool and tennis courts. Could walk to a few other restaurants if you wanted to. Piña coladas are good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Address: 650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746 (Formerly Aston Kauai Beach at Makaiwa)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on 10 beachfront acres amid a century-old coconut grove, this deluxe oceanfront resort hotel offers breathtaking views, spacious suites and open-air dining. Centrally located, many movie production crews choose to stay here as it's minutes from anywhere on the island. It's an excellent base to explore and discover the natural beauty that the Garden Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kauai At Coconut Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Resortquest Kauai Beach Makaiwa
Aston Resort Kapaa
Waipouli Beach
Resort Quest Kauai
Courtyard By Marriott Kauai At Coconut Beach Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.