We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746 (Formerly Aston Kauai Beach at Makaiwa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Meh.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Just "Meh." As a Platinum Marriott member, I stayed one night in an Executive Oceanview Room. The lobby and other common areas are relatively clean and modern, but the same cannot be said for the rooms. Though the views and sounds of the Pacific were fantastic, the room itself was a disappointment. The cavenous suite was dark and dated, and it lacked any sort of island charm to give it that Hawaiian feel, making me feel as though I could be anywhere in the world. I've stayed in hotels on the north shore, south shore, and east shore -- and this one was missing just something to give it a distinctive feel. Perhaps it was the lack of foilage throughout the grounds. In the courtyard, there's a pool and a very sleek gas fire pit that tends to be a gathering spot for hotel guests in the evening. The pool was non-descript; it was a plain, rectangular swimming hole -- giving it a motel-y sort of look. And the hotel provided sad, thin pool towels that could stand to be updated and upgraded. That being said, this hotel is conveniently located on a beautiful stretch of beach and the property is large enough so it would never feel crowded, even though the hotel is located in the heart of Kapaa. If you're looking for a lush, Hawaiian resort at which you want to lounge around all day, keep looking. However, this would probably suit the needs of families (not honeymooners) who are looking for a conveniently located, comfortable base from which to explore Kauai.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    421
    131
    38
    22
See reviews for
173
543
45
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We have vacationed at this resort yearly since 2001. It has a great location on the east side of the island, roughly equal distance between the north and south shores. This resort is quiet, clean, an exceptional value, and the friendly employees are VERY GOOD at their jobs. Shopping and dining outside the hotel are within a moderate walking distance. Safe swimming beaches are nearby. We highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for a peaceful oceanfront Hawaiian vacation. Laura and Craig Muirhead, Charlotte, Michigan.

Room Tip: The Executive Oceanfront rooms are definitely the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights as part of our 4 island tour. Had one meal in main dining room it
was good as was the service. Pool bar service was a littleslow but thats to be expected when they are busy. Pool side fire at night seemed cosy.
All in all I would stay there again

Room Tip: Someof the bottom floor rooms flooded while we were there, ours didn't
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

If you take away the $14 per day parking fee then you have a perfect place on Kauai.This is my 3rd stay in Kauai, and my first at this hotel. My other stays were in fully-equipped condos with kitchenettes. This is a hotel property, with daily maid service and a restaurant, fitness center, spa, and game center on site. The hotel charges $14 per day for parking, they have free wireless (no wired capability), and there is one pool/one hot tub. I had an oceanfront room on the 4th floor, with a king bed. The room was very spacious, with a work table, 2 chairs, and an additional sofa that converted to a single cot. I found the lighting in the room very dim/poor as there were just not enough lights. The bathroom was tiny, you could not shut the door unless you were fully inside, and I am a small person; a bigger person would find the bathroom cramped. The 4th floor rooms have very high ceilings, so that helps it feel more spacious. For amenities: you get shampoo/conditioner/lotion and a bar of soap. There is a coffee pot with daily coffee filters provided, a mini-fridge, and a television with lots of cable channels for free. I'm not sure about the other rooms, but my lanai (patio) was diagonal and rather small - it fit two chairs (no table) and was shaped like a slice of pie - rather awkward. The view was great - the oceanfront rooms face the ocean with no limited views, and I found it was perfect for me. There is a sliding glass door in the room that can be left open, and 3 large doors/windows that open up as well to take in the view. If you don't spring for oceanfront you'll be in one of the many rooms that do not have a view; most non-oceanfront rooms overlooked the parking lot, garden, pool, or nothing. There is a walking trail right outside the hotel and many deck chairs placed along the sand for guests to enjoy sitting in. They also rent bikes and beach equipment at the front desk. The grounds are well maintained and the gardeners were out there every day cleaning up and making the property pretty. I was also impressed by the low noise level - I couldn't hear other people at all in the rooms or halls. The property is central to everything on the island too, and is very convenient to grocery stores and eateries, within walking distance. The gym had very limited selection: two treadmills, two bikes, an elliptical, and a mat with some weights. the 'game room' wasn't great either, just a sofa and chair with an air hockey table, TV, computer terminal and a Wii console you had to check out from the front desk. They have a nice 12pm check-out time. I'd definitely give this hotel consideration again when coming to Kauai - no parking fee would have made this perfect.

Room Tip: 4th floor, oceanfont (or you won't have a good view at all)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We booked our room directly rather than through a travel site because we found that, for the same price, we got a better room (oceanfront rather than garden view) plus a $100 food/beverage credit. The rooms were a bit dated and ours could have used a deep-clean (some mildew along grout in shower, dusty vents) but overall a good value with a spectacular view. We did have a cockroach in our room one night (can't blame the hotel-we had our balcony door open most of the time) and maintenance was up to take care of it right away. The bed was not overly comfortable. Staff was pleasant and the sunrise ceremony and live music in the lounge each evening was very nice. Parking in the hotel was $14/night, a big reason why we didn't rent a car for our entire trip. Location was decently close to area restaurants (Bobby V's Pizza and Eggbert's were our favorites), but during our stay Kapa'a was very windy and rainy. Not sure we'd stay in Kapa'a again, but if we did we would consider the Courtyard again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bismarck, North Dakota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

The property in general was beautiful. The grounds were well manicured with lots of free parking. The turn-off from the road was difficult to see, especially in the dark. The sign is low, small and unlit. This hotel is right on a beautiful beach, but the beach is coral and shallow. That makes for limited play in the water but once one gets out through the waves there is easy and fabulous snorkeling with lots of reef fish. Our favorite was seeing the state fish of Hawaii, Humuhumunukunukuapua'a. Please see the pictures I've uploaded. The hotel never felt crowded, however, even when fully booked. I never had trouble getting a beach chair and loved the hammocks and loveseats. The pool bar had some fire lights that were interesting. The property was in a good, central island location.

As for the hotel, we didn't use the bar and only ate in the restaurant once because it was incredibly pricey. $18/person for a breakfast buffet which I felt wasn't any better than a good Hampton Inn free breakfast. The pancakes were interesting, however. They had taro in them. There was coconut syrup. For other food, there are lots of cheaper restaurants close by, even McDonald's.

Our rooms seemed not to be very clean. There was nothing specific but the rugs didn't appear to be well vacuumed on any day. The towels were thin, especially compared to cheaper hotel chains which I frequent. There were quite stingy with towels as the hotel filled, especially pool towels. We actually booked two rooms. Our bed was a king-sized bed and we rolled to a hole in the middle of the mattress. Tip: Turn the a/c off or turn the fan to a constant fan or it will cycle throughout the night. Our a/c didn't seem to regulate temp well, although it was fine in our other room. We kept turning up our temp to 79˚ but it was still freezing if we left it on. Despite the above, the rooms were quiet. That can mitigate the other complaints significantly. Rooms were large enough for two people. I'm glad we didn't have all 4 in one room. The bathroom was the older small bathroom with the door barely clearing the toilet seat. There was a miniscule deck off our room with a chest high wall (we were on 3rd floor) overlooking a roof. We took our deck chairs out once and sat on the roof but the view left much to be desired. Not sure how much it's worth to you but if you're in your room a lot, I'd pay the extra for the view.

All that said, the beach area made up for the rooms. I think I'd stay again, although now I also know that finding a condo might be cheaper. There are no microwaves in the room, but there is a fridge and coffee maker. The provided Kauai coffee is really good. Don't miss the tour of the Kauai coffee plantation and get some ice cream there as well. We did that 3 times on this trip!

Room Tip: Perhaps an ocean view would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

After finding that the larger, more upscale resorts (Grand Hyatt, St. Regis, Marriott Beach Resort) were sold out during the week we visited, we found a room at the Marriott Courtyard. We were very pleasantly surprised. It had a resort-style look and feel, and was very nice and well-maintained. The staff was extremely friendly, and the service was excellent. You can't beat the value - we had a room that overlooked the beach and the mountains, with a small balcony and roomy interior for just $179/night. We had breakfast at the on-site restaurant one morning, and the food and service were both outstanding. There is a nice pool with a hot tub, and several hammocks for lounging around. The location is perfect. Just 10 minutes north of the airport, it's a good central location. Within a half-mile walk are a few good restaurants, a grocery store, and a few shopping plazas. The hotel is located in Kapa'a, which is about halfway between Poipu on the south end and Princeville on the north end. There is a small day spa on site. We visited the larger resorts that I mentioned above, and although they were nicer and much larger, they were also much more crowded and in more commercialized areas. The Courtyard is in a quieter part of the island, and felt a little more secluded. This place has most of the amenities of a 5-star resort, without a 5-star price. If you plan to spend most of your time at the resort and you want a lot to do on-site, you should stay somewhere else. However, if you plan to spend most of your time away from the hotel exploring Kauai and simply want a nice place to spend the night, the Courtyard is perfect.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Address: 650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746 (Formerly Aston Kauai Beach at Makaiwa)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on 10 beachfront acres amid a century-old coconut grove, this deluxe oceanfront resort hotel offers breathtaking views, spacious suites and open-air dining. Centrally located, many movie production crews choose to stay here as it's minutes from anywhere on the island. It's an excellent base to explore and discover the natural beauty that the Garden Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kauai At Coconut Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Resortquest Kauai Beach Makaiwa
Aston Resort Kapaa
Waipouli Beach
Resort Quest Kauai
Courtyard By Marriott Kauai At Coconut Beach Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.