We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and very private” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746 (Formerly Aston Kauai Beach at Makaiwa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
San Marino, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great hotel and very private”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed at this property from dec 19th to 26th. Upon arrival, check in was pleasant and i was upgraded to a executive oceanfront room as a platinum marriott member. The room is great, clean and nice view of the ocean. Bathroom a bit small. Water pressure, hot water all great.
They have a tennis court, a decent gym room with weight machine.
Pool is great, nice lounging chairs and peaceful enviroment. Pool bar food are great, price ok.
Restaurant food are decent, price from $12 to $18 breakfast. Service is a bit slowler than usual but its hawaii, they all slow lol.
Beach is great, very private, can walk along sandy beach but not great from swimming lots of rocks and barrier along the shores. There are few spots where you can find small lagoon kinda pool for soaking.
Nice thing about this hotel is that both side are empty land with trees , so very private and quite.

Room Tip: Hotel is located at kapaa. Taxi one way is $25 if you dont drive. Walking distance are safeway marke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    514
    163
    51
    26
See reviews for
220
662
56
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Staff is very professional and helpful; hotel is kept very clean; lobby is spacious and bright...and in the lobby be sure to meet Jonathan "Keoni" of Puka Shell Wizard jewelry; he creates beautiful and unique jewelry from seashell, coral and pearls. He is very friendly and pleasant! He has a "make your own" table for necklaces and bracelets...a great way to spend part of your morning before heading to the pool!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My family stayed at the Marriott at Coconut Beach December 12 - 15. We had been there before in 2009 and wanted to come back. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. The pool area is fabulous. The deck is groomed every morning. The beach is a perfect place for talking walks (not great for swimming with all the coral.) There are comfy lounge chairs to lie on and enjoy the surf while catching some rays. Restaurant staff is so thoughtful. Breakfast was over one morning, so they made my daughter and I a breakfast burrito to go. Great Mai Tai's at happy hour with Live music and hula dancers. Every member of their staff was kind, polite and so helpful. They really take pride in their facility. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: This trip we had a view of the pool. Lovely to sit out on the lanai, enjoy the sunset, listen to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This hotel is quite nice and less busy being on the east side of the island. The weather here is slightly cloudier and rainier then the south shore but being less crowded and cheaper. We got a great deal on this hotel which made it well worth it. The only downfall was not having a good beach to swim at. They do have a large beach but swimming is not recommended.
Overall I would highly recommend this hotel if swimming isn't a must.

Room Tip: We paid extra for an Ocean front room which I would not advise doing. The view was okay but not wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bossier City
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

We got here on Christmas Eve and stayed for two nights. The greeters/hops at the entrance were friendly and helpful, as were the front desk. After getting settled in our wonderful ocean view room, we wanted to see what would be open on Christmas Eve and Christmas. The concierge didn't have much of a clue. You would have thought they would have a list ready for something like this! The hotel is really close to Kapaa, which has a lot of good restaurants and shops! On Christmas morning, we went down for our reservations for brunch. The restaurant wasn't ready for the rush and it took 30 minutes for our waitress to take our drink order. On top of that, the food was ok, but not worth the $100 I spent, even if it was hotel prices. Later that night, when we couldn't find anything open (thanks concierge!) we went back to find the hotel bar open and serving. They were prefictably slammed, but great none the less. Very friendly! The mini-me kids' burger is great for little ones. The pool and beach area were great. The have big, teo person lounge chairs and a fire ledge around one side of the pool! Cool facalities, poor customer service!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Open air, pleasant Aloha spirit, even with arrival after 10 pm. The layout was open and expansive and most rooms had balconies facing the beach. We had a top floor room (4th floor I believe) which had pitched, open ceilings, making the room feel enormous.

Bedding, furniture and finish out were all recently updated and well appointed. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Request the highest floor, far from elevators and ice machine. A bit of a walk but worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We are checking out today after staying 2 nights at the Marriott and have nothing too negative to say about our stay. We booked through Hotwire.com (discount site) and expected to get the worst room possible with a view of the parking lot but ended up pleasantly surprised. Our room was standard, with a very comfortable king bed and we could see the ocean if we went out onto our balcony. The room was clean upon arrival and the staff friendly. Yes, the bathroom is small and the balcony even smaller but the rest of the room is fairly spacious.

Outside, there's plenty of outdoor seating that's provided were guests can lounge and enjoy morning coffee and the view of the ocean. The grounds are immaculate, the pool very clean and the beach goes on for miles. The ocean's surf is extremely rough and is not recommended for swimming but you can still wade in and get your feet and legs wet. There's also a great walking path that runs in front of the hotel and all along the ocean taking you past the other hotels and offers amazing views.

Overall, we were pleasantly surprised by the Courtyard by Marriott and would recommend it for a short stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
0.5 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
3.4 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#5 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 1,724 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
15.4 mi away
Sheraton Kauai Resort
6.8 mi away
Kauai Marriott Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Address: 650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746 (Formerly Aston Kauai Beach at Makaiwa)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on 10 beachfront acres amid a century-old coconut grove, this deluxe oceanfront resort hotel offers breathtaking views, spacious suites and open-air dining. Centrally located, many movie production crews choose to stay here as it's minutes from anywhere on the island. It's an excellent base to explore and discover the natural beauty that the Garden Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kauai At Coconut Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Resortquest Kauai Beach Makaiwa
Aston Resort Kapaa
Waipouli Beach
Resort Quest Kauai
Courtyard By Marriott Kauai At Coconut Beach Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.