We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel and good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746 (Formerly Aston Kauai Beach at Makaiwa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Kapaa
Nanaimo
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

A very nice location - right on the beach. Great sunrise views! Good quality hotel with friendly service. Rooms were comfortable and clean (except for some items that had been left on the balcony by the previous guests). Safeway and Foodland stores were within 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Although there was no microwave in the room, here is one in the 'market' area adjacent to the lobby.
We booked the hotel combined with a car rental and the package price came in significantly less that the hotel price alone using the same site! Overall a great value!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardkauai, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Mahalo for choosing the Courtyard Kauai Resort and we appreciate your review. I'm glad you found our resort to be clean, conveniently located and a great value. I apologize for the issue with the balcony and will be sure to follow up with the housekeeping team. Thank you for letting us know. When back on the island we hope you choose to stay with us again. Aloha!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    281
    367
    115
    32
    21
See reviews for
152
471
39
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is an ok hotel for the price. I would not consider it as a resort. The room were clean and good. We went for a partial ocean view and it was as expected. We were told that the hotel does not have a warm AC as it was slightly chilly at nights. That was unexpected and for the price i would expect a hotel to have a warm AC too. The pool area was good, there is great fire place surrounding a part of pool. The only problem is that there is extremely limited seating there and we had to wait almost 30min each time we wanted to sit there. Perhaps the hotel management should consider expanding that fire place as there were ton of people in line to sit there. The hot tub was small and the water was at best lukewarm. The breakfast is not included in the price and at $18/person is quite costly as there are good place to eat just outside. The parking is additional $14/day. Overall the neighborhood is safe and good shopping area close by. We had breakfast @starbucks daily!!
The bottom line is that it is a Ok place to crash, if you want to spent a lot of time in hotel then there are better hotels in the area

Room Tip: The photos accurately depict the room so you get what you see. Remember there is no warm AC in this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardkauai, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Mahalo for your review and we appreciate your business. I apologize we did not meet all of your expectations. We did have an issue with our spa heater during your stay that was fixed the same day but I'm sorry this caused an inconvenience. When you are on a special vacation like every Kauai vacation is, you don't want any kind of disappointment. You are absolutely right about the need for more and larger fire features. This is one of our best amenities and we are looking at expanding. We will continue to add more and more resort activities like our yoga, hula lessons, bike rentals and Hula Show every month to improve and expand our resort atmosphere. We hope you stay with us again in the future. Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights before moving to Poipu area. We love the location, easy access to everywhere. We also love the ocean view, the pool, the fire pit, the entertainment at night. Room has good furniture, the bed is very comfortable, the bathroom is clean but small.

Things to improve: Concierge needs to be more friendly, knowledgable and willing to help. We only stopped at concierge desk twice; first time asking for direction, the lady did answer our question, but was not happy, she kept telling us it passed her working hours already. The second time, we want to ask some info about a popular hiking trail, she simply said 'I don't know'. Maybe they are not friendly to you if you book an activity through them. :(

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1RlyMadCow
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We've stayed at this property several years ago when it was an Aston property. Supposedly they poured a fair amount of money into upgrades, I only noticed the new pool, new furniture outside and different rugs and flat screen TVs. I supposed this also included infrastructure fixes, too. They did finally tear down the old Luau stage that partially burned down a few years ago.

So. The rooms are good. We had a ocean side view. Nicely laid out. The beds, we were told were new mattresses. Our room did not. It was pretty hard, mitigated with requested extra pillows. The comforter was great, allowed for a snug sleep without being too hot. The AC function fine, but a tip, turn on the fan to manual so it stays on after reaching temperature or you'll wake up all night long when it shuts off.

The in-room refrigerator is nice, though they should vent it better so that a waft of hot air doesn't roll out when you open the cabinet to reach the fridge. The "balcony" is barely that. Two people must jockey and squeeze to use both the chairs, it's a tight fit (like the bathroom below). But generally they all have a look at the beach and are breezy.

The bathroom is a curiosity. It's.... small. The clearances are such that if you have a towel draped off the toilet seat, the door will not open all the way. You can not have 2 people in the bathroom at the same time. The ventilation (no fan, just a vent that is controlled by the building) doesn't work or isn't working well enough. It fogs up unless you leave the door open (which you can do after you get in the shower and then pull the door open). There's also the delicate issue of bathroom odors, the ventilation simply does not deal with them. This would be nice if this was fixed. The shower is okay. I have an issue with poor shower heads, this one was "okay", but not great. On the plus side, the drain was excellent. There was zero standing water, which I very much appreciate.

The overall cleanliness of the room was excellent. Housekeeping does an outstanding job. Consider leaving a daily small tip for them, they very much earn it. Overall the staff was outstanding. I will mention out engineering. Our TV died about 10:30PM and they sent engineering guy up and did a professional and quick job and was very polite. He replaced the TV and got everything back up and running pronto. A small overall downside for the room is the ever present hawaii ant - they appear everywhere a slight food crumb or water. There was a constant "couple of them" to kill, they looked like they were coming from the vent. Not bad, but if you leave ANY type of can, wrapper or crumbs out, they will find it. And you'll get a swarm of them like you haven't seen. Pick stuff up and keep any snacks in a bag, dump any food trash in the trash cans down by the softdrink machines, not your room.

We didn't eat at the restaurant for meals, but we did hit the pool for drinks and munchies. I highly recommend the sticky ribs and the pork sliders. It's good food and the prices are not bad for late lunch/happy hour fare.

The landscaping crew does a nice job of maintaining the beach area and it's nicely arrayed with lounge chairs.

Room Tip: The units on the beach facing, north side have larger balconies. The beach is fairly rough, not espe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California, USA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised at the modern, resort style decor throughout the hotel. When we checked in and told the receptionist we were on our honeymoon they graciously upgraded us to an ocean view room. At first i was disappointed that Kappa was not the most tropical part of the island especially compared to Hanalei Bay, but the nice part is it doesn't rain nearly as much. We went to turtle beach a few times and were forced to leave because we kept getting drenched in downpours, whereas at the hotel the sun was usually out and we were able to layout on the chairs the hotel provides. Overall I was very please with the Courtyard Marriot, you get a lot for a good price.

Room Tip: try and get a room that has been renovated recently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardkauai, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Congratulations and we are glad you enjoyed your Honeymoon stay!! Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Kauai Resort. Sounds like you had a wonderful time but sorry about the rain. You will have to return on your anniversary and we look forward to having you as our guest again. Mahalo for the nice comments and review. Good luck and great success to you and your spouse. Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington state
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Booked travelzoo special good location beautiful property not too large. Would return. Rooms are smaller especially baths but nice. Only complaint was pool not heated, too cold to enjoy for most people we talked too. Beach not really for swimming.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
princeton, nj
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Courtyard is primarily a business brand so i was surprised to see how well they have done on the resort end. Rooms are basic courtyard, amenities are brand standard, but the pool/ landscape/ services were above expectations and quiet stylish. Affordable food, movie night, great views from ocean front room, only if we could enter the ocean! The beach in front of the hotel is rocky, but a short drive can take you to undiscovered gems. Excellent value for no frills travellers.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardkauai, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Mahalo for your honest review. We appreciate the kind comments about our resort. You are right; we are a Courtyard like no other. Full resort amenities, activities and the Embrace of Aloha to go along with it. I hope you had a chance to take in the awesome sunrise. Mahalo for your business and come back soon!! Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Address: 650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746 (Formerly Aston Kauai Beach at Makaiwa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#4 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on 10 beachfront acres amid a century-old coconut grove, this deluxe oceanfront resort hotel offers breathtaking views, spacious suites and open-air dining. Centrally located, many movie production crews choose to stay here as it's minutes from anywhere on the island. It's an excellent base to explore and discover the natural beauty that the Garden Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kauai At Coconut Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Resortquest Kauai Beach Makaiwa
Aston Resort Kapaa
Waipouli Beach
Resort Quest Kauai
Courtyard By Marriott Kauai At Coconut Beach Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.