We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over ambitious and can't delivery” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746 (Formerly Aston Kauai Beach at Makaiwa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Rewards Points!
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
291 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Over ambitious and can't delivery”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Courtyard Marriotts are usually basic hotels. However, the Marriott in Kauai attempts to provide more than the typical Courtyard. Unfortunately, they're missing the mark. The room technology is outdated. The bartending is uninspiring and the housekeeping is out of touch with the guests. You may be able to do better elsewhere in Kauai, but the sunrise is something to behold.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardkauai, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Aloha and thank you for your review. Sorry to hear you were disappointed in the room technology. Usually we receive great compliments on the complimentary WiFi and in-room movies. We also have a large eLounge with 3 computers and a Family Game room for all to enjoy. I will share your comments about the bartending to see where we could be missing the expectations and make improvements as well as housekeeping. Thank you for sharing. I am happy you had a chance to really enjoy the sunrise!! It truly is one of the best and now we have our "Sunrise Experience" Dance and Chat celebrating the beginning of a new day. Mahalo for your business and we hope you give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    514
    163
    51
    26
See reviews for
220
663
56
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wine country, Ca. USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Anxious for a quick R & R on Kauai, I surfed the web for lodging hoping to find a hotel with a beach front; Marriotts appeared to be the one. Our hotel demands were: Clean, quiet, good bed, tolerable food and FRESH air, posh decor being secondary. Marriotts more than met these needs as unknown to us they had invested more than 13 million refurbishing this ideal location with care yet not over the top. We were most pleased find our 3rd floor room nicely appointed, small but with a tiny seaview balcony and fresh blasting air from the sea; our door never closed for 5 days. The king size bed was very comfortable opposite a new huge TV where we tearfully watched Oregon lose to Stanford. The room has a fridge, coffee maker complete with fabulous Kauai coffee of course, a small sofa and the place was QUIET and was peaceful. The bathroom, a bit TOO small yet complete, with all needs and fitted with handsome bronze colored granite. All in all we had no complaints and were surprised to find everything reasonably priced. The food was prepared with a flair with most generous portions, for example a typical breakfast was $12 and delicious. Charming Debby seated us every morning and all of the darling servers gave us prompt attention. My wife in her haste to pack left her cell phone in her room & the housekeeper turned it in to the front desk--- staff then shipped it to us promptly with one phone call--very professional. This hotel is less than 10 minutes to the airport and on the main road North with restaurants and shops 2-3 minutes away. We were not charged parking! We recommend this hotel wholeheartedly and will review a top-notch restaurant just 2 blocks away forthwith. Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardkauai, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Wow, it really sounds like you had a super stay in Kauai. Mahalo for choosing the Courtyard and we appreciate the honest review. Sorry about the Oregon game but at least you had some good R&R, delicious food and a view that can't be beat! I wish I could do something about the size of the bathrooms but I'm glad you were pleased with all the amenities. It’s nice to read that the staff had great follow up with your cell phone and met your expectations. Come back and stay with us again the next time you are in Kauai. Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elephant Butte, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The WARNING FIRST: Marriott charges you $14.58 a day to park your car and it is not valet parking!!! Had I known this in advance I most certainly would not have selected this property. That being said....We spent 7 nights at this property. Our room was lovely, over looking the pool, ocean and we could watch the sunrise from our balcony :) We did get some extra noise from the pool /common area but closing the sliding glass door took care of it. The staff were very friendly and the food and drinks were good. The beach was as nice as any, no lifeguard and not really for swimming but, nice for watching the waves and a nice walking path for the most part. You can walk a good distance in both directions enjoying the other local rental properties. The entire area is clean with beautiful gardens and very quiet. The Coconut Market Place is a short walk and much the same as other shopping areas. We felt very safe walking in the evening and there were several excellent dinning options within an easy stroll from the Marriott. The only other complaint we had was the shower, never really hot, warm but even with the tap put on full Hot it was just warm. We liked the idea that we could explore the whole island from this one central location. Grocery store close by for picnick supplies and a McDonalds.

Room Tip: we stayed in 246 which had a nice view of the pool and ocean sunrise. It was nice to be able to sip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Some reviewers take into great account this eastside location as less desirable for visiting the island of Kauai. This location was, in my opinion, excellent. Had the hotel not been as nice as it was, I may have had another opinion. However, the property is lovely. Our room was spacious and quiet. Our view was creative -- a pool-facing room with an angled deck that overlooked the ocean and beautiful morning sunrises. I could not have asked for better. The hotel staff is friendly and efficient. During our visit we had a tsunami evaucation (no kidding!). The hotel staff was organized, calm, yet serious in their evacuation process. We were asked if we had a car; we were given a google printout with an evacuation center; we were told to grab essentials from our rooms. The staff did not panic but they were taking the entire event seriously. I was impressed by the lack of panic paralleled by an underlining seriousness and proactivity to get their visitors where needed. This story is essential to share as it conveys another side of the hotel's "client services."

The location of Kapa'a is central to visiting the west side and the north side of the island. If you plan on visiting both sides, this spot is ideal. It's much more appealing than the larger city of Linue (airport) and has a convenience factor to it that's unbeatable for exploring.

Couryard by Marriott was a special stay and we'd do it again in a heartbeat. I have a favorite room there now, but am going to refrain from sharing that information. I think I'll keep that to myself for future visits! :0)

Room Tip: Have room service give a wake up call at sunrise -- gorgeous way to begin the day. Don't rely o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardkauai, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for all of the kind comments. We are really happy you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us in the future. It is also nice to hear the comments on how well things were handled during the tsunami warning. Those situations always have the potential of being very chaotic and crazy so I'm glad to hear it went as well as it did and especially thankful it only turned out to be a warning. We definitely consider ourselves a "Great Find"! Our location is perfect to get the most out of exploring all areas of the island. If you didn't have a chance this stay I hope you are able to attend our new "Sunrise Experience". We celebrate the sunrise (always the best on the Eastside) with a traditional Hawaiian Chant and Dance. It's become very popular and usually brings out 50 guests or more to share at 630am in the morning!! Mahalo again for the honest review and Mahalo for your business. Please come back and stay with us again soon. Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunwoody, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I have some mixed feelings about this hotel so I'll present the positive and negatives for folks. We stayed one night because we were waiting for our condo to be ready.

Pros: Very friendly and helpful staff, evening live music, beds are comfortable, great location/views, pool towels, fairly new (or remodeled?) rooms, free wifi, free mai tais for happy hour, in-house restaurants

Cons: parking fee for all vehicles ($15), bathrooms are tiny and mildewey, patios are very small (barely enough room for two people to be on it at the same time), paid breakfast (no continental)

This is a great place to stay for a short period of time, but if I were spending my whole two weeks here, I would be disappointed with the size of the rooms and the other cons I've listed above.

It's a great hotel for short period of time, just not so great that I would be willing to spend an extended period of time here.

Room Tip: Do not get a "garden view" unless you plan on looking at the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Center, Washington
Level Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 6 nights. The room was clean. The bed was okay, not the best. The bathroom was small, the door came within 1/2 inch from hitting the toilet when open, but again clean, which I so appreciate. The room was well equipped with a small refrigerator, coffee pot, iron, iron board, safe, flat screen tv and Paul Mitchell hair shampoo and conditioner. The lanai was small with only enough room for two people to sit. Unfortunately the chairs faced the hotel and not the ocean, and not enough room to turn both chairs around.
If you plan on having breakfast in the restaurant be there early. Otherwise plan on waiting for a waiter unless you serve yourself at their $18 daily breakfast buffet. Service was slow everyday but one when Donna waited us.
I really appreciate that management called The Hawaiian Monk Seal Volunteers who sent a volunteer to put up a rope and signs around the seal who had beached herself to sleep. The signs helped me to understand that the seal was okay they just come on land to sleep.
The grounds are well kept. I was surprised that they ran out of pool towels one day. There is a beach, but there is a rock reef so you can not swim at this beach. There is a pool, hot tub, 3 hammocks and lots of lounge furniture. This hotel is centrally located on the island, easy to get to and close to other restaurants. There is a $14.00 a day parking charge which I was not aware of until checkout. All in all the staff was nice and the place is updated and clean. I liked it!

Room Tip: The room we were given was by the pool and above the lounge. In other words, be aware that there mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardkauai, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Aloha and thank you for all the great comments. It sounds like you really enjoyed your 6 nights with us. We certainly pride ourselves as the "Embrace of Aloha" and receive many good comments about our cleanliness and staff. You are also very fortunate to have seen one of the Hawaiian Monk Seals.....good for you. I have shared your slow service comments with the restaurant team and steps are being taken to make immediate improvements. Next time you visit we must make sure you get one of our Premium Ocean View rooms. Especially when staying 6 nights you have to wake up to the view of the Ocean and our phenomenal sunrise! Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and Mahalo for your business. Please come back soon. Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We (wife and I) stayed for five nights mid-October using a Travelzoo deal that included a food credit. Consistent with what most others have said, it's a nice property for the price. Management and staff are very eager to make your stay enjoyable. As a reference point, the local paper reported that as of the beginning of October room rates in Kauai averaged just over $200 per night. Our rate was less, and I suspect the property is above the island average in quality.

Our first night was in a third-floor ocean-view room. We asked for a top-floor room based on reviews we'd read here. They said none were available that night, but they could move us the next day for the remainder of our stay. The first room was fine (pool and ocean views), but the fourth floor room was better due to the cathedral ceiling making the room seem more open.

Rooms include a coffee maker and mini-fridge (no mini-bar, thank goodness), so we were able to stock some simple breakfast items and snacks for the week. They also have free coffee in lobby every morning. Best deal is the free Mai Tai after 5:00 at the bell desk. Tip him, please. Nice guy and worth it.

Because we had the food credit we had drinks and food in the bar several evenings and the breakfast buffet one morning. Happy hour drink prices are reasonable ($6 for select drinks, wine and beer) and food prices weren't bad. The fish tacos were excellent for about $13 and were large enough to be a meal. Pork sliders were also tasty. The breakfast buffet was fine ($18). Taking a look at the menu, I'd probably order off it instead. It'd be about the same or less and offered more choices. Room service is not available.

There are a couple of very reasonable "food shacks" in the Coconut Place Market, within walking distance to the south. Dinner was less than $10 each at the Fish Hut and barbeque place, which are very close to each other in the center of the complex. You'd have no trouble finding them or checking out reviews on Trip Advisor (we did before we chose to eat there). The Fish Hut also had excellent "shave ice," a Hawaiian novelty.

Much to see on the island, and a car is pretty much a necessity to do so. We rented from Alamo, about $175 all-in Wednesday-Monday for a full-size car. Alamo gets mixed reviews, but they were quick and friendly both arriving and departing. Best gas price is Costco in Lihue, if you can find it. The gas station is behind the Home Depot, not the Costco.

I've attached a property map they gave us at check-in. Just add the floor to the room numbers

We'd definitely consider the Marriot if visiting Kauai again.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are more open due to cathedral ceiling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
0.5 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
3.4 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#5 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 1,726 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
15.4 mi away
Sheraton Kauai Resort
6.8 mi away
Kauai Marriott Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Address: 650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746 (Formerly Aston Kauai Beach at Makaiwa)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on 10 beachfront acres amid a century-old coconut grove, this deluxe oceanfront resort hotel offers breathtaking views, spacious suites and open-air dining. Centrally located, many movie production crews choose to stay here as it's minutes from anywhere on the island. It's an excellent base to explore and discover the natural beauty that the Garden Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kauai At Coconut Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Resortquest Kauai Beach Makaiwa
Aston Resort Kapaa
Waipouli Beach
Resort Quest Kauai
Courtyard By Marriott Kauai At Coconut Beach Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.