We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kauai experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746 (Formerly Aston Kauai Beach at Makaiwa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Kauai experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The view was beautiful, an ocean view fifty yards from the water. The room smelled like mold or something musty. The food at the Voyager hotel restaurant was subpar with frozen vegetables in the entree. I think the dessert was frozen also because the center of the apple tart was still cold.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    474
    149
    43
    23
See reviews for
196
604
53
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cinnaminson, New Jersey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

My hubby and I stayed 3 nights at this Courtyard and were very pleased. When we checked in we requested an upgraded room which was granted cheerfully at at no extra charge. We had a beautiful ocean view and slept with our balcony door open to hear the waves (the balcony's had sliding screen doors as well as glass). The pool was nice but a bit cold. The air in our room was cold too but we turned it off to open the doors anyway. Breakfast buffet was tasty and reasonable by Hawaii standards. Would go back to Kauai in a heartbeat and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Request an upgrade...if the hotel isn't busy you will probably get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I'm writing this from my patio at the hotel on my second to last morning. Great central location on Kauai. About an hour drive to Kee Beach/Na Pali trails on the north, just over an hour to Waimea canyon and 30 minutes to Poipu area beaches. The hotel is very clean with beautiful pool and large hot tub. Lots of lounge chairs at the pool and on the beach. We've had friendly service all around from the front desk, to waitresses, yard workers and housekeeping. Rooms are typical with coffee pot and fridge. Lobby area has free coffee/tea each morning from 630 to 1000. Pool towels are available on request anytime. You request a wristband daily as colors change, to help keep poachers out of the pool area. Not a big deal to get a wrist band as you get your fresh pool towels for the day. Lovely to have live music every night from about 630 to 8 or 9. We've eaten out in town often but have also had some nice meals at the poolside lounge. They have happy hour from 4-7 daily with selected wine/beer/mai tais for 4 dollars and are nice to let you know when happy hour is almost over so you can order more if you like. I'd come back and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: We booked a garden view room but when we asked if we'd get any ocean view, we were upgraded to a...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Found this hotel to be good value for money and well located very close to other restaurants and central for touring.
Beach is not good for swimming but great for lounging and watching the waves.
The restaurant was ok and reasonable prices.
Had an end room which was very large and clean only complaint was the very small bathroom which was in need of some TLC.
Would stay here if we returned.
Plenty of parking.
Conceirge service was helpful for island information and restaurants.
No complaints.
Good breakfast up the road at the Kountry Kitchen (expect to wait). Dinners good at Whahoos and the Lemongrass Grill.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge, Georgia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The rooms are nicely remodeled. The pool area is great. Nice happy hour at the bar. Great location in Kapaa, you can walk to several stores and restaurants. Great that there are restaurants close by because the hotel restaurant menu is very small and not appealing. Couldn't believe that there is no room service at this hotel and the bar and restaurant close at 10pm. I don't think I have ever seen a hotel bar close so early. Pool area is great but you were supposed to wear this wristbands, which was not good because of tan lines. Overall the stay was alright and would consider staying again since I know there is food within walkiing distance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
courtyardkauai, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for your review and we appreciate your kind comments but we are not happy until we can receive "excellent" in all areas. I'm sorry you felt our menus did not over enough selection for you. We serve lunch in our Makai Lounge with a great selection of small plates offerings through the evening. We tend to receive many great comments with our new menu in Voyager Restaurant but we will most certainly look at adding some additional selections. Kauai is not known for its late nights so you may have found that most resorts here will close their outlets about 10pm due to the lighter business. We do extend these hours during our busiest seasons and occupancy. However our bartenders should have been able to offer some late night options for you to enjoy in our Courtyard after closing around our Fire Feature. I have shared your comments regarding the wristbands with our pool attendants to ensure they inform guests that they can attach the bands to their chair or simply keep them with them if a guest chooses not to attach to their person. We are happy you will consider us again in the future. Mahalo for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglass, Texas
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We chose to stay here based on previous reviews and location as this would be our first trip to Kauai. I reserved and pre-paid to obtain the best rate for 5 nights. As I was checking in the lady at the front desk asked what brought us to Kauai. I told her that we were celebrating 27 years of marriage on this day, the 27th of September. She immediately left and came back with a lei for my wife upgraded our room. Later that afternoon we had a knock on the door. She had champagne and 2 glasses delivered to our room. The concierge was very helpful in securing reservations and suggesting places to eat. Since it is centrally located, staying here was very convenient to traveling on the island. We really enjoyed sitting on the beach in the late evenings.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We enjoyed our week-long stay here. The room was spacious and airy, and we especially enjoyed being able to sleep with the screen door pulled to and the slider open for the lovely breeze (if you can sleep through the junglefowl/roosters). Our lanai was miniscule, but oh well, the sunrises were spectacular. Overall the atmosphere was very low key, especially compared to the other chichi Kauai Marriott. You can't swim in the beach affronting the property, but there is good snorkeling very near by. It is a good mid location for heading north or south on the island.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach

Address: 650 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746 (Formerly Aston Kauai Beach at Makaiwa)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on 10 beachfront acres amid a century-old coconut grove, this deluxe oceanfront resort hotel offers breathtaking views, spacious suites and open-air dining. Centrally located, many movie production crews choose to stay here as it's minutes from anywhere on the island. It's an excellent base to explore and discover the natural beauty that the Garden Island has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kauai At Coconut Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Resortquest Kauai Beach Makaiwa
Aston Resort Kapaa
Waipouli Beach
Resort Quest Kauai
Courtyard By Marriott Kauai At Coconut Beach Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.