We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pono Kai Resort Casual” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pono Kai Resort

Save Saved
You added Pono Kai Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pono Kai Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   4-1250 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 hotels in Kapaa
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Pono Kai Resort Casual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We enjoyed our week stay at the Pono Kai Resort Kapaa Hawaii, stayed for one week Dec. 29th to Jan. 05th... very casual resort, no restaurant on site, but lots nearby, some walking distance.... Loved the helicopter tour over the island, loved the horseback riding in Princeville area, loved the bicycle riding up the path along the beach, lots of fun things to do, lots of great restaurants to try, enjoyed the Lemon Grass Grill very much, I would recommend this resort....

Room Tip: we had a room on the ground floor, walked right out our balcony to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Pono Kai Resort, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for review of the Pono Kai Resort. I am not sure if you stayed in one of the condos our vacation rental company manages, but I am glad you enjoyed the grounds and close proximity to restaurants and tourist attractions. The beachfront bike trail is definitely a treat for guests who like to exercise. Happy travels.

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    109
    189
    62
    36
    26
See reviews for
100
209
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burbank, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

These condos are well priced, very clean and if you get an ocean front unit - Fantastic. Another great thing is they are centrally located 1/2 way between both the north and south shores of Kauai. We went with a group of 4 so we decided to be in 2 condos and spread out. The 2 bedroom units are quite spacious (1300 square feet or so?) and have 2 full bathrooms as well.
The ocean front units have stunning views and the property is smack in the middle of Kapaa. That means that within a block or two there are places to rent bikes, get a shave ice, restaurants, and a great selection of shops.
On the downside, although nothing is shabby looking -the units could all stand an update/remodel including new furniture and appliances. We were told they are remodeling the bathrooms and were working on bldg. J when we were there- yay! I'd love to see a washer and dryer in each unit as it would be wonderful if you did not have to go to the laundry room (in each building).
If you are looking for a luxury vacation rental - this place is not for you head to the Hyatt or the St Regis. For the rest of us this place is Great - the staff friendly and everything in the unit was in perfect working order. Oh and since they recently replaced all the mattresses - you get a wonderful nights sleep. Pono Kai is Safe, clean and comfortable and very well located :) Aloha

Room Tip: Ocean front - especially in bldg. D :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batesville, Arkansas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The Pono Kai resort in Kapaa provides very nice and roomy condos with lots of amenities. I have stayed there twice in the last two years and had a wonderful experience each time. The only negative is that the wireless internet- -shakanet- -is beyond worthless. You can purchase by the day or spend $19.99 for a month. If you are lucky, you may get a connection once or twice a day. Expect to be disconnected after 30 minutes. In spite of this, the resort is amazing and the staff is friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: All condos have a balcony, but be sure to ask for one with an ocean view. The sunrise in Kauai is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My family of four traveled to the Pono Kai in June of 2012 and loved our accommodations! We stayed in a spacious 2 bedroom and the staff is very encouraging of giving suggestions for meals, trips and beaches to visit. We're already planning our 2014 trip to celebrate our sons graduation....can't wait to get back!

Room Tip: We stayed in building F...loved the views and close to the pool and ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We are owners at Pono Kai. Love it. We have been owners for 8 years. Not a new resort with Spa's and restaurants and bars but it is ours. Complete condo unit with fully stocked kitchen. Grills located throughout the property and a great pool and patio area.

The rooms are slowly being updated and a new management company has us excited for the future.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellflower, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We have been going to Kauai since the early 80s and have stayed on most parts of the island. Kapaa is our favorite place to stay because of its location; close to the airport and shopping, lots of restaurants, easy to get to the north or south shore beaches. We have stayed in various condos and hotels in Kapaa and Pono Kai is our favorite. It's a lovely resort with well-tended grounds, located right on the beach. All of the units we have stayed in have been really nice and well-maintained. Most units have at least a partial ocean view. The pool and spa are nice and there are barbecues, tennis courts, shuffleboard and other amenities. Highly recommended for couples or famiilies.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CondoRentalsHI, Vacation Rental Agency at Pono Kai Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Pono Kai Resort. I am not sure if you stayed in one of the vacation rentals we manage, but I glad you enjoyed the tropical grounds, great locations, and onsite amenities. We hope to see you back at the Pono Kai in the future!

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langhorne, PA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We swapped into a timeshare at the Pono Kai for a week in May, 2013. The place was clean, the staff was friendly, everything was very average. Except for the bathroom. It was clean, but small and not well suited to more than one couple.
To me, the Pono Kai fits somewhere a resort and a condo. There is no "special" feel to it. We didn't have high expectations going in, and anded up having a very good time. If you adjust your expectations, and don't pay too much, the Pono Kai may be a good value for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pono Kai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pono Kai Resort

Address: 4-1250 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#6 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pono Kai Resort 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Pono Kai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pono Kai Hotel Kapaa
Pono Kai Kapaa
Pono Kai Resort Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pono Kai Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.