We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Room and Facilities but don't go for the beach view.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pono Kai Resort

Save Saved
You added Pono Kai Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pono Kai Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   4-1250 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 hotels in Kapaa
Carbondale
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Room and Facilities but don't go for the beach view.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The rooms are large enough for my wife and I. The kitchen and bathrooms are fine (large clean). The bed and pull down bead in the living room was comfortable for sleeping but the rest of the furniture was uncomfortable. The pool is nice (just a fairly long walk from our unit), barbeques clean.

We could see the ocean if we craned our necks off the deck. It was strung with plastic orange fencing warning of sink holes. Staff was friendly, parking close by. Air-conditioner ran 24/7 and didn't seem adjustable.

We stayed at the Kapaa Sands the first week. It's small and "quaint" and homey with a few quirks. The Pono Kai is very large and a bit sterile feeling. We enjoyed the beach at the Kapaa Sands and really didn't go anywhere else. That was restful. While at the Pono Kai we ventured out to other beaches each day so we had to do the packing and driving routine. Of course there is no shortage of nice shady beaches so who's complaining.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    188
    61
    36
    25
See reviews for
99
206
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This si a conveniently located condo resort on ocean front Kapa'a. Built in the '70s but well kept. You'll be overrun with telephone calls and solicitations by management for various "adventures" for which they get a 20% commission but once you let them know you are not interested, they leave you alone. Pay for internet service in the room @ $7/2hrs, $10/day or $20/week. Try to get the upper (3rd) floor ocean front units for a beautiful ocean presence in your room.

Room Tip: Ocean front Buildings A, B. C or D, third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We stayed at Pono Kai five nights during the last week in April. After reading Trip Advisor reviews, we were concerned about noise, so requested an ocean front, upper floor unit. Since we were guests at a friends' timeshare, only a first-floor, ocean view was available. But, as it turned out, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

The condo was spacious, clean, and well equipped. Beds were comfortable, especially the wall bed in the living room. Sound does carry and noise could definitely be a problem, but we found Pono Kai to be mostly quiet, especially after 10PM. The front desk staff were wonderful---helpful, friendly, conscientious and fun to talk to. Maintenance staff are constantly working the grounds, and buildings, and our requests were handled professionally and competently. There are nice touches, such as the Koi Pond near the reception, iced POG (passion-orange-guava) in the lobby during the afternoon, and the fresh herb garden.

The location is next to the ocean and walking/biking path, and close to shopping. The staff recommended Cost U Less, and we found the prices only a little higher than we pay at home in the Pacific NW. There is a funky thrift store right across the street, and in town we found a wonderful clothing store called Tropical Tantrum. Pono Kai is a good base for exploring the North coast, and is very close to the Wailua River. All in all we enjoyed our stay and plan to return when we visit Kauai again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We have stayed at the Pono Kai several times in past years. The location of the property is perfect, it's centrally located making it easy to get to either side of the island. The grounds are beautiful and very well maintained. There are plenty activities right at the resort; putting green, bocce ball, tennis, basketball, volleyball, shuffleboard, croquet, pool, hot tub, sauna & herb garden. There is a beautiful coy pond and the resort is right along a 4+ mile bike/walking path the runs ocean side the entire path. There is only 1 negative to the resort, the walls and floors are very thin. The biggest downside to this is if you're not on the top floor and there are people in the room above you, you can hear them walking around, which in itself isn't a problem, unless you're trying to sleep. Aside from that, this is a great place. The activities desk is awesome! It's within walking distance to several restaurants & shops. Make sure to try Ono Family Restaurant, Olympic Cafe and don't miss Sushi Bushido!

Room Tip: Try to get a 3rd floor room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The unit was clean and bug-free. Thank God there was a plunger in the room. I needed it every day. The air conditioning has an infernal control system that shuts down most days at midnight and is a real problem to re-start. When it works, it's fine. Most pool lounge chairs are white plastic and could double as torture devices for any position but laying on your back. They DESPERATELY need pads. DESPERATELY. It's close to Old Kapaa Town shops.

About 7 days into our 12 night stay, the Neighbors From Hell moved in above us and made our time in the unit VERY frustrating. When I went upstairs to inform them of their rudeness, the guy said that nothing would change and I should never knock on their door again. That night, Pono Kai moved us to another Vacation Internationale unit for the last three nights. At an extra $53 for 'extra' maid service. If Pono Kai had been built better, perhaps this would not have been a vacation-ruining experience. But it was. I won't be staying at Pono Kai again unless I'm guaranteed a top floor unit.

Room Tip: Insist on the top floor of whatever building you are in or stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Pono Kai Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
I am sorry to hear that you had noisy neighbors in the condo above you, and I can understand your desire to swap to a different condo. In the future, you may want to let the front desk know of these disturbing guests since they have the ability to manage those guests through warning, fines, and even removal from the property. It sounds like you rented your condo through a timeshare or vacation rental company called Vacation Internationale, so I am not sure as to what their room-move policies are. I know that our condo management company will move a guest (for no additional charges) to another suitable room if there are noise or construction complaints.

We hope you do give the Pono Kai Resort another try on a future trip to Kauai.
Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We went with friends on their timeshare to Pono Kai. It was our first time in Kauai. I agree with other reviewers that this resort would not have been as "perfect" if we hadn't been oceanside. Many of the units do not have ocean views. However, we had a room with a small balcony facing the ocean. It was perfect for watching the sunrise each morning. The room had two bedrooms and baths (one bedroom had an ensuite bathroom), kitchen, small dining area and living room. The beach is just yards away. It is not a large beach and a little sloped, but was just right for us. Gentle ocean waves. There is a bike/walking path that runs parallel to the resort alongside the ocean. The pool isn't huge, but was adequate. Pono Kai is not what I would call a luxury resort, there are not many amenities, but we were happy with it. The grounds are well maintained and the koi pool is beautiful. The staff is super friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Get an oceanview unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed at the Pono Kai in January this year, and absolutely loved it! We had a 1 bedroom suite in the G building, facing the ocean. The suite was very large with a good kitchen and a nice bathroom. The whole building had been recently renovated, and it was a very nice place to stay. There is an 11 KM walking/biking path that runs alongside the ocean, just steps from the Pono Kai. Be careful swimming there in the winter, as the currents can be strong. It's safer to swim on the south shore, and fortunatley, Kauai is small enought to drive anywhere you need to be and get there in an hour or less. Definitely rent a car when visiting Kauai. If it's raining on the east shore, it's probably sunny on the south and the west side, and it's a short drive to all the beaches.

Room Tip: Ask for the G building if you want to see the ocean. There are other buildings that actually are ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pono Kai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pono Kai Resort

Address: 4-1250 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pono Kai Resort 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Pono Kai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pono Kai Hotel Kapaa
Pono Kai Kapaa
Pono Kai Resort Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pono Kai Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.