We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Maintained Resort & Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pono Kai Resort

Save Saved
You added Pono Kai Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pono Kai Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   4-1250 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Walled Lake, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Well Maintained Resort & Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We've stayed at the Pono Kai on 4 separate occations & find it offers everything we need in a vacation resort. If new is what you need, it's not that. If you want a clean, well maintained resort then you've come to the right spot. The staff is friendly & don't miss the Island Orientation which give you a good overview of the activities available to you. Pool towels are available & all linens can be exchanged on a daily basis.
Our favorite day trips include the Lighthouse, North & South shores, Waimea Canyon which are all easy 1/2+ trips. If you want to hike, Sleeping Giant Mtn is about 2 miles to the top & the view along the way & at the top is great.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    191
    63
    36
    26
See reviews for
103
209
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was a time share rental and apparently the couple that we went with are used to better but I thought that it was great. We were lucky to have an oceanside room. I am not sure that I would be as enthusiastic if we were facing the parking lot or the tennis court. The room was 2 bedroom and 2 bathrooms so we had plenty of room. Could have used more than 1 lounge chair on the patio.
The people upstairs were smokers and nocturnal. Also sounded like they were playing Video Games a lot, loudly. They would go outside to smoke and it would come down to our room which was very annoying.
The great thing was that it was on the bike/walking path. We could also walk to town and bars and restaurants. Just about every place has a happy hour. The traffic in Kapaa is horrible so it was nice to walk to dinner or the grocery store. Plus they have so many cute shops that you can purchase locally made items at.Glass Blowers,Soap,Bamboo,coffee etc.
Went to Big Wave Daves for cocktails. Kind of divey but I like that. Full of locals. Then went to the Eastside for dinner. Excellent! Cooked in a lot and the grocery stores are very close by. They could use a few more Barbeques. We had one right next to us but if someone is barbequing ribs for 2 hours it is a long haul to the next barbeque. All in all the location rocks. Love being able to drink and not drive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I read the reviews of some before actually going to the resort. Wow people is funny! This resort met and surpassed any and ALL expectations! First if you don't like CHICKENS, GO TO MAUI!!! The resort is walking distance to stores restaurants and it truly is a jump off in two directions for the best of KAUAI! The grounds were meticulously kept! Never a wait for a CLEAN barbeque grill! The pool was nice, adequate and the spa was fun, a lil crowded at times! nice saunas too! The front desk were ALOHA ALL THE WAY! "Morgan" in the adventure department booked our excursions. (You have got to ADD THE KAUAI PHOTO TOUR to your tours!) The rooms were clean, neat, well stocked in the kitchen. Is this place a 5 star private resort (NO) But who wants to hang with rich, I drive a BMW, snobs! This place was built several decades ago. Its ol school Hawaii! I'll be back, Miss the roosters "good morning" already!

Room Tip: B-103 on the beach BABY!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Privately owned condo, on VRBO, well maintained, clean , comfortable, with modern decor. Oceanfront building, with unobstuctive views. The east coastline gets a lot of wind. We found it difficult to enjoy the lanai, for meals,etc, due to the coolness, and constant wind..... However it is winter season in hawaii...
The view would be better if there wasn't an ugly delapatated orange construction fence along the shoreline..... Which has been there for years.... The Kauai county dept has been working on retaining wall, do to erosion problems...at shoreline.... It needs to come down, and either post signs of danger, or construct a better looking barrier..... I am surprised the PONO KAI property managers dont complain about it....because it is ugly, and distracts from the view....access to the beach shore is not easy for the older folks.... As I watched many stumble down the eroded , exposed tree root embankment. The beach isn't great, very sloped.... Not a swimming beach, but a few people ventured in, including myself....on a calm day, as water can get pretty choppy.
A great asset to the PONO Kai is the easy assess to the walking/ biking coastal pathway!
The pool area is located out of the wind, and was nice , a lot of people complained about the pool being too cold, but it was tolerable. The grounds are well maintained, and clean . The front desk staff were always friendly and helpful. The Sunday, and Thursday 8 am. orientation at the pool , were very informative and entertaining, great 2 for 1 deals ..... If u were lucky to win!
We found the location conveint, to assess both north and south shores. Close to grocery stores.
Kapaa traffic can be a problem a certain times of the day.... So plan for that , when heading out.
We spent a month here, and enjoyed and explored the entire island....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I've been to Kauai many times over the years. I've stayed in Princeville (the rain coast) and Poipu (the sun coast), but for some reason, had never stayed in Kapaa (the east coast) until my last visit, when I spent 3 months at Pono Kai.

In my opinion, Kapaa is the best location on the island: it's central to everything - you can drive to Princeville or Poipu in about 40 minutes, whereas if you're in Princeville and want to drive to Poipu - or the reverse - you're looking at an hour and a half of driving. Princeville is too rainy and Poipu is too crowded. Weather in Kapaa is ideal and it doesn't have the over-built feel of Poipu.

Also, Kapaa is very convenient to most of the best beaches on the island.

As for Pono Kai itself, it's not a swanky resort. It was built in the 1970's, so it doesn't have all the bells and whistles of a chain resort. But it does have lovely, spacious, well-kept grounds, instead of the sort of resort hotels where everything is crammed together.

My personal feeling about vacations in Hawaii is that one need not pay for things one does not use, like huge swimming pools and over-priced restaurants. From that standpoint, Pono Kai is a great place to stay. It's reasonably priced (we've booked a two-bedroom ocean-front condo this coming April, at $178 per night, for a spacious unit that sleeps six). We'll have a fully-equipped kitchen, so we can cook most of our meals instead of paying sky-high prices in mediocre restaurants.

Yes, the units are a bit dated and the walls are a bit thin, but the units are clean and well-maintained, the staff is helpful and courteous.

Another plus is the fact that there is a Safeway supermarket nearby. Affordable food and decent produce is hard to come by on Kauai, so having that Safeway is a godsend.

Pono Kai is right on the beach and there is a bike path running along the ocean, so you can pedal your way to three of the nicest beaches on the island - Kealia, Donky Beach and Wailua.

To summarize, I've been all over Kauai and, having spent 3 months at Pono Kai, I wouldn't go anywhere else. If you absolutely insist on staying in a 4 or 5 star resort with all the amenities, this place isn't for you. But if you appreciate value and spacious accommodations in a great location, give it a try.

Room Tip: Specify ocean-front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CondoRentalsHI, Condo Rental Agency at Pono Kai Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your detailed review of the Pono Kai Resort. I am not sure if you stayed at one of the condos we manage at the Pono Kai, but appreciate your kind words about the resort and how it is your favorite place to stay on Kauai.

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My view from A305 was outstanding, and the interior was very nice with updated kitchen as you stood and prepared food you have the most incrediable view of the ocean! Yes the walls are thin and you can hear your neighbors walking around( some people are more heavy footed than others) but I think most all places in Kauai are like that as really they have no need for insulation in the walls! The beach had a bit of ocean trash but if you walk further north you got away from it, and picking up the trash and putting it in the garbage bins was something alot of people did regularly, it would have been nice if the hotel staff emptied them more regularly! The pool and hot tub were great and a nice place to meet people from all over and very entertaining! I would go back (tried for next year but the condo I had is already booked.) We did have a problem with the WiFi one day but a call to the management company got it squared away quickly!

Room Tip: If you want ocean front buildings A,B,C and D are the ones you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I spent two weeks in early February at Pono Kai Resort in Kapaa on Kauai. The oceanfront resort is centrally located on Kauai, so Princeville and Hanalei Bay in the north or Poipu in the south were equally easy to visit. The condos at Pono Kai are comfortable, with full kitchens, living rooms, and lanais. The property is clean and well-maintained, with beautiful grounds and koi pond. We especially enjoyed the paved walking and biking path that ran between Pono Kai and the beach for five miles. We were able to walk to town for breakfast and dinner, and to enjoy small town beaches without getting in the car.

Room Tip: Oceanfront suites are best, of course, but we had previously stayed in a pool front suite that was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pono Kai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pono Kai Resort

Address: 4-1250 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pono Kai Resort 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Pono Kai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pono Kai Hotel Kapaa
Pono Kai Kapaa
Pono Kai Resort Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pono Kai Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.