We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Multiple ocean front rooms just kept getting better and better!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pono Kai Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Pono Kai Resort to your Saves list
Pono Kai Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   4-1250 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Nikiski, Alaska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Multiple ocean front rooms just kept getting better and better!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I reserved our timeshares rooms rather late in the game and ended up needing to change rooms twice during the week. The first room was in building G. It is back from the water but still had excellent ocean views. We were on the second floor and realized pretty quickly that the floors were VERY creaky. Sure hope the folks below couldn't hear! Room was comfy with large livingroom area. Kitchen appliances weren't new, but were clean and worked great.
The second room was in B. We were very close to the water. This was a two bedroom unit. The master bedroom is HUGE but the livingroom is very small. I believe it used to be two seperate units. Floors were not as creaky as G. The people below us smoked at night so we were unable to enjoy the paio or leave the door open. Appliances in this unit were old and needed updating.
The third room was in A. Again very close to the water. This time back to the one bedroom, but on the ground floor. The convenience of the ground level patio was nice for walking out to the beach or pathway, but there is a level of concern since you are RIGHT on a public pathway that is heavily traveled. Appliances were newer.
The pool at Pono Kai is nothing to brag about. We never went in once as it is very small.
Daily beach towel exchange was a wonderful asset to us as we hit the beaches every afternoon.
Onsite snorkel gear rental was very convenient.
Beach in front of the resort has very little room to lay out. The flat area is grassy. Lots of sand crab that are very fun to watch.
Location is VERY convenient to touring the island. Safeway is just up the road with lots of restaurants.
Resort is located at the head of a 5 mile paved coastal path. Bike rental is across the street.
I would recommend visiting this resort.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Pono Kai Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thanks for your review of the Pono Kai Resort. We manage a group of condos here but are not with the timeshare program you stayed through. Regardless, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. I am glad you enjoyed the central location, nearby restaurants, and the 5-mile bike path. That path is real fun to walk or jog along for a morning exercise!

Thanks for the recommendation to visit the resort. We hope to see you at the Pono Kai again in the future.

Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    205
    66
    39
    26
See reviews for
107
221
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The good: centrally located if you plan to spend lots of time on North shores and South shores, lots of restaurants and shopping nearby, on the beach, nice bike/ run trail right outside property, close to Wailua River (kayaking, SUP) and Lydgate Park (great protected kids' beach and playground), large units, expansive grounds, clean, friendly staff.

The bad: equally inconvenient to the South shore and North shore, beds need upgrade, not "luxury", small pool, beach is so-so, far from Scuba diving location

Most people seemed pretty happy with this resort and i met many who have come year after year. Our unit was on the end and we could open windows on three sides of the unit for nice breezes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Pono Kai Resort, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Pono Kai Resort. I am not sure if you stayed at one of the condos we manage, but I am glad you had a fun stay and would return if you were back on Kauai in the future. I don’t see many reviews mention our close proximity to Lydgate Park, but you bring up a great point that the property is very close to an ideal family-friendly beach park on Kauai. If traveling with young children, we highly recommend a stop.

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I agree with all the positive reviews below (already covered, so I won't repeat. Here is our quick Pro/Con impression:

Pros:
Centrally located on the island
Clean inside and out
Beautiful Landscaping
Quiet (pool area can get louder with kids)
Very attentive Houskeeping Staff - A+++
Friendly Guests
Plenty of activities on the resort to keep you there all day if you wanted.

Cons:
You can hear the people above you - and it is loud (try to get 3rd floor)
No Tiki bar, onsite restaurant, kids program (we have one kid)
"Concierge" seemed more interested in getting you to listen to the timeshare sales pitch - wasn't much help after that.
No beach access - beach was closed with ugly orange barrier in front of hotel. (might be seasonal)

The Roosters go off early AM through Noon - didn't really bother us - added to the character of the place. BIG frogs everywhere at night - my Son and I caught a few (and returned them safely)

I'd visit again (and we might do that in 2 years.....), although I think there are other places to be seen and stayed in.

Room Tip: "Top Floor/Ocean View"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The room smelled very musty on our arrival, but having lived in Bermuda for many years, I understood and adjusted quickly. The building was quite old and needs a total renovation. The furniture was newer and comfortable, but the doors and cabinetry need updating. Different buildings on this property are managed by different companies. Other buildings were being renovated during our stay. When I commented to staff about returning next year and looking forward to a renovated unit, I was told I wouldn't have one. Our company (RCI) is not renovating any units; it was a different company.
As we had two guests with mobility and health issues, we requested a room that would accommodate their restrictions. We were pleasantly surprised by the easy access and the ocean view! Not many units in this complex have an ocean view.
The grounds were very well maintained and the staff were super helpful. We need to return to take advantage of the resorts amenities. We were too busy seeing the island to enjoy all the resort had to offer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, B.C.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Didn't have any expectations going in to our timeshare exchange here, and we were happy with the second floor two bedroom unit. Master bedroom is the biggest I've ever seen. Two bathrooms was very nice for our party of 5. Great to be able to walk to grocery store or restaurants when needed as traffic can be bad in Kapaa. Centrally located, easy to get to north shore and east shore beaches. Staff is very friendly

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Pono Kai Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your great review of the Pono Kai Resort. We agree that the two-bedroom units are very spacious (over 1400 square feet!). The central location is also convenient for exploring Poipu to the south and Princeville to the north. We hope to see you again in the future.

Aloha,

Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one week Nov. 10-17, 2012. As a matter of fact, as I type this.. we are still here on our final day. I love this place so much that I couldn't wait to get home to write my review..

Where do I start...check in was smooth and easy and the staff was awesome!! We had a garden view which is absolutely beautiful and we are a very short walk to the beach. The grounds are very well kept..yes there are chickens...but they didn't disturb up and every where we went here in Kauai.. we saw them walking around minding there own business... Our room was huge and was stocked with everything you could possibly think of.

We ate in most nights because I don't care for the "island" food...but that is just my own personal choice... I'm a very picky eater...lol The prices here on Kaui is ridiculously high...but we were expecting it... All in all as timeshare holders..we were very pleased with our stay here and will definitely stay here again!!!

Room Tip: I suggest you stay in a upper level as we did. The lower levels are nice...but other guess can look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We used our timeshare and stayed at Pono Kai. We stayed here 3 1/2 years ago and enjoyed it. Since then, the units had been remodeled and looked great. The kitchen was a good size with the eating area and living room right off it facing the common grounds. The bedroom was facing the hallway/parking lot. We enjoyed the balcony and eating outside. They do have a quite a bit of rosters hanging out on the property, but pretty much all of Kauai has that problem.

The resort features a nice pool and hot tub, putting course, croquet, horseshoes, bocce court, shuffleboard, tennis courts and a basketball hoop. The grounds are also very well kept with a nice Koi pond. The staff is friendly and helps you with planning any adventures you want to do during your stay.

Some of the units are facing the ocean with the biking/walking trail between the units and the ocean. The beach that is located near the resort is Kapaa Beach which isn't the safest beach for swimming in. For beach swimming we'd go to either the North (during summer months) or South shore (year round).

I like staying at Pono Kai, but just wish this property was located in the Poipu area. I would recommend couples, families and groups for staying here.

Room Tip: If you want a ocean facing room, be sure to request. However, people walking on the paved trail will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Pono Kai Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your great review of the Pono Kai Resort. I am glad you enjoyed the pool, hot tub, and onsite amenities such as the putting course, horse shoes, and shuffleboard. It sounds like you had an enjoyable vacation and we hope to see you again at the Pono Kai Resort in the future.

Aloha,

Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pono Kai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pono Kai Resort

Address: 4-1250 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pono Kai Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 217
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pono Kai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pono Kai Hotel Kapaa
Pono Kai Kapaa
Pono Kai Resort Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pono Kai Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.