We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pono Kai Resort

Save Saved
You added Pono Kai Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pono Kai Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   4-1250 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 hotels in Kapaa
San Diego, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Place To Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I agree with all the positive reviews below (already covered, so I won't repeat. Here is our quick Pro/Con impression:

Pros:
Centrally located on the island
Clean inside and out
Beautiful Landscaping
Quiet (pool area can get louder with kids)
Very attentive Houskeeping Staff - A+++
Friendly Guests
Plenty of activities on the resort to keep you there all day if you wanted.

Cons:
You can hear the people above you - and it is loud (try to get 3rd floor)
No Tiki bar, onsite restaurant, kids program (we have one kid)
"Concierge" seemed more interested in getting you to listen to the timeshare sales pitch - wasn't much help after that.
No beach access - beach was closed with ugly orange barrier in front of hotel. (might be seasonal)

The Roosters go off early AM through Noon - didn't really bother us - added to the character of the place. BIG frogs everywhere at night - my Son and I caught a few (and returned them safely)

I'd visit again (and we might do that in 2 years.....), although I think there are other places to be seen and stayed in.

Room Tip: "Top Floor/Ocean View"
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    188
    61
    36
    25
See reviews for
99
205
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Abbotsford, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

The room smelled very musty on our arrival, but having lived in Bermuda for many years, I understood and adjusted quickly. The building was quite old and needs a total renovation. The furniture was newer and comfortable, but the doors and cabinetry need updating. Different buildings on this property are managed by different companies. Other buildings were being renovated during our stay. When I commented to staff about returning next year and looking forward to a renovated unit, I was told I wouldn't have one. Our company (RCI) is not renovating any units; it was a different company.
As we had two guests with mobility and health issues, we requested a room that would accommodate their restrictions. We were pleasantly surprised by the easy access and the ocean view! Not many units in this complex have an ocean view.
The grounds were very well maintained and the staff were super helpful. We need to return to take advantage of the resorts amenities. We were too busy seeing the island to enjoy all the resort had to offer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, B.C.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Didn't have any expectations going in to our timeshare exchange here, and we were happy with the second floor two bedroom unit. Master bedroom is the biggest I've ever seen. Two bathrooms was very nice for our party of 5. Great to be able to walk to grocery store or restaurants when needed as traffic can be bad in Kapaa. Centrally located, easy to get to north shore and east shore beaches. Staff is very friendly

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Pono Kai Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your great review of the Pono Kai Resort. We agree that the two-bedroom units are very spacious (over 1400 square feet!). The central location is also convenient for exploring Poipu to the south and Princeville to the north. We hope to see you again in the future.

Aloha,

Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one week Nov. 10-17, 2012. As a matter of fact, as I type this.. we are still here on our final day. I love this place so much that I couldn't wait to get home to write my review..

Where do I start...check in was smooth and easy and the staff was awesome!! We had a garden view which is absolutely beautiful and we are a very short walk to the beach. The grounds are very well kept..yes there are chickens...but they didn't disturb up and every where we went here in Kauai.. we saw them walking around minding there own business... Our room was huge and was stocked with everything you could possibly think of.

We ate in most nights because I don't care for the "island" food...but that is just my own personal choice... I'm a very picky eater...lol The prices here on Kaui is ridiculously high...but we were expecting it... All in all as timeshare holders..we were very pleased with our stay here and will definitely stay here again!!!

Room Tip: I suggest you stay in a upper level as we did. The lower levels are nice...but other guess can look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We used our timeshare and stayed at Pono Kai. We stayed here 3 1/2 years ago and enjoyed it. Since then, the units had been remodeled and looked great. The kitchen was a good size with the eating area and living room right off it facing the common grounds. The bedroom was facing the hallway/parking lot. We enjoyed the balcony and eating outside. They do have a quite a bit of rosters hanging out on the property, but pretty much all of Kauai has that problem.

The resort features a nice pool and hot tub, putting course, croquet, horseshoes, bocce court, shuffleboard, tennis courts and a basketball hoop. The grounds are also very well kept with a nice Koi pond. The staff is friendly and helps you with planning any adventures you want to do during your stay.

Some of the units are facing the ocean with the biking/walking trail between the units and the ocean. The beach that is located near the resort is Kapaa Beach which isn't the safest beach for swimming in. For beach swimming we'd go to either the North (during summer months) or South shore (year round).

I like staying at Pono Kai, but just wish this property was located in the Poipu area. I would recommend couples, families and groups for staying here.

Room Tip: If you want a ocean facing room, be sure to request. However, people walking on the paved trail will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Pono Kai Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your great review of the Pono Kai Resort. I am glad you enjoyed the pool, hot tub, and onsite amenities such as the putting course, horse shoes, and shuffleboard. It sounds like you had an enjoyable vacation and we hope to see you again at the Pono Kai Resort in the future.

Aloha,

Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were more than pleased with our stay and had read some of the other reviews. Our unit in the J building was clean and up to date and well stocked with the dishes and supplies. New Televisions in the living area and the bedroom. We had a garden view on the first floor but like everyone else we had hoped for an Ocean View. Not available with our timeshare company. The good news, you were a 30 second walk from the ocean and there was a 5 mile walking path adjacent to the ocean. A walk into town took about 5 minutes. Plenty of restaurants, grocery stores, convenience stores, ABC store etc. Yes, Kauai has chickens everywhere but they did no disturb us. Note: The walls in our building were very thin and we were on the first floor. So we could hear folks walking around and sometimes heard our neighbors talking.

Room Tip: Stay away from Building "k". One side faces the street and the other side faces the tennis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

There are nicer places to stay for the same price, and before you book with the conceirge, make sure you know exactly what you are getting. We booked what all 6 of us thought was a snorkel tour off a boat and didn't find out until the 6:00 the night before it was off shore. Tried to cancel all but were told it was within 24 hrs and we couldn't. We all heard at the orientation that it was on a boat and 3 of us didn't want to snorkel and we asked at the desk if we could stay on the boat and they said yes. They at least took 1/2 off, but we still had to pay almost $300 for NOTHING. We felt that they should have helped more since we were led to believe it was on a boat. Book things yourself, you can get them just as cheap and when they say you have to hurry and book they are filling up, that's not really true, look it up online and book yourself, we did for things the night before. Won't stay here again, there's lots of other places. It was clean and the front desk was nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Pono Kai Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Aloha,
Thank you for staying at the Pono Kai Resort. I am not sure if you stayed in one of the condos our condo management company rents out, but it sounds like your frustrations were directed more at the onsite concierge, which unfortunately our company does not manage. As for the condo itself, it sounds as though you found the room to be clean and hopefully the location very convenient to exploring all parts of Kauai.

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pono Kai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pono Kai Resort

Address: 4-1250 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pono Kai Resort 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Pono Kai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pono Kai Hotel Kapaa
Pono Kai Kapaa
Pono Kai Resort Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pono Kai Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.