We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pono Kai Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pono Kai Resort

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Booking.com
and 8 more sites!
Pono Kai Resort
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   4-1250 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 hotels in Kapaa
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pono Kai Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one week Nov. 10-17, 2012. As a matter of fact, as I type this.. we are still here on our final day. I love this place so much that I couldn't wait to get home to write my review..

Where do I start...check in was smooth and easy and the staff was awesome!! We had a garden view which is absolutely beautiful and we are a very short walk to the beach. The grounds are very well kept..yes there are chickens...but they didn't disturb up and every where we went here in Kauai.. we saw them walking around minding there own business... Our room was huge and was stocked with everything you could possibly think of.

We ate in most nights because I don't care for the "island" food...but that is just my own personal choice... I'm a very picky eater...lol The prices here on Kaui is ridiculously high...but we were expecting it... All in all as timeshare holders..we were very pleased with our stay here and will definitely stay here again!!!

Room Tip: I suggest you stay in a upper level as we did. The lower levels are nice...but other guess can look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    180
    56
    37
    25
See reviews for
94
195
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We used our timeshare and stayed at Pono Kai. We stayed here 3 1/2 years ago and enjoyed it. Since then, the units had been remodeled and looked great. The kitchen was a good size with the eating area and living room right off it facing the common grounds. The bedroom was facing the hallway/parking lot. We enjoyed the balcony and eating outside. They do have a quite a bit of rosters hanging out on the property, but pretty much all of Kauai has that problem.

The resort features a nice pool and hot tub, putting course, croquet, horseshoes, bocce court, shuffleboard, tennis courts and a basketball hoop. The grounds are also very well kept with a nice Koi pond. The staff is friendly and helps you with planning any adventures you want to do during your stay.

Some of the units are facing the ocean with the biking/walking trail between the units and the ocean. The beach that is located near the resort is Kapaa Beach which isn't the safest beach for swimming in. For beach swimming we'd go to either the North (during summer months) or South shore (year round).

I like staying at Pono Kai, but just wish this property was located in the Poipu area. I would recommend couples, families and groups for staying here.

Room Tip: If you want a ocean facing room, be sure to request. However, people walking on the paved trail will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Pono Kai Resort, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your great review of the Pono Kai Resort. I am glad you enjoyed the pool, hot tub, and onsite amenities such as the putting course, horse shoes, and shuffleboard. It sounds like you had an enjoyable vacation and we hope to see you again at the Pono Kai Resort in the future.

Aloha,

Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were more than pleased with our stay and had read some of the other reviews. Our unit in the J building was clean and up to date and well stocked with the dishes and supplies. New Televisions in the living area and the bedroom. We had a garden view on the first floor but like everyone else we had hoped for an Ocean View. Not available with our timeshare company. The good news, you were a 30 second walk from the ocean and there was a 5 mile walking path adjacent to the ocean. A walk into town took about 5 minutes. Plenty of restaurants, grocery stores, convenience stores, ABC store etc. Yes, Kauai has chickens everywhere but they did no disturb us. Note: The walls in our building were very thin and we were on the first floor. So we could hear folks walking around and sometimes heard our neighbors talking.

Room Tip: Stay away from Building "k". One side faces the street and the other side faces the tennis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billings, Montana
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

There are nicer places to stay for the same price, and before you book with the conceirge, make sure you know exactly what you are getting. We booked what all 6 of us thought was a snorkel tour off a boat and didn't find out until the 6:00 the night before it was off shore. Tried to cancel all but were told it was within 24 hrs and we couldn't. We all heard at the orientation that it was on a boat and 3 of us didn't want to snorkel and we asked at the desk if we could stay on the boat and they said yes. They at least took 1/2 off, but we still had to pay almost $300 for NOTHING. We felt that they should have helped more since we were led to believe it was on a boat. Book things yourself, you can get them just as cheap and when they say you have to hurry and book they are filling up, that's not really true, look it up online and book yourself, we did for things the night before. Won't stay here again, there's lots of other places. It was clean and the front desk was nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Pono Kai Resort, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Aloha,
Thank you for staying at the Pono Kai Resort. I am not sure if you stayed in one of the condos our condo management company rents out, but it sounds like your frustrations were directed more at the onsite concierge, which unfortunately our company does not manage. As for the condo itself, it sounds as though you found the room to be clean and hopefully the location very convenient to exploring all parts of Kauai.

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Plaines, IL
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Good stay in a two bedroom, two bath garden unit. We had stayed here previously and loved the resort so opted to stay again. We really wanted an Ocean view but there weren't any available. On Tuesday, the front desk called to say they has an Ocean view available. They allowed us to look at it first. We opted to stick with the Garden view that we were in. Our decision was based on the fact that the Garden view was ground level and was centrally located on the property. It was directly across from the pool and just a building away from beach access. The Ocean view was a very nice unit as well but had only a sliver of an ocean view and seemed smaller.

Other than the disappointment of the no ocean view, our stay was most excellent. The property is absolutely beautiful and well maintained. As previous reviews stated towel service is every other day. This is nice considering most timeshares do provide once a week towel service upon request. The kitchens are well appointed. And its my understanding that the rooms were just recently renovated. We constantly saw maintenance people busy. The front desk and concierge folks were very helpful. I also really appreciated the "orientation" at the Pono Kai. Typically this means they try to do an owners update which means high pressure sales to buy more timeshare. This wasn't at all what it was. The orientation was an opportunity to learn about the island and tours. This is really good information and well worth sitting through.

We decided to do the ATV Kauai tour and it was awesome. It was well worth the 4 1/2 hours. We also did the National Botanical Gardens Allerton tour. Was really nice as well. Also got to try some fruits that were picked right off the trees. On our own we drove North on the Kuhio Highway until the road runs out. At the end is an absolutely beautiful bay to swim and snorkel in. It has a reef where you can see lots of different fish. We ate at Bull Shed, Lemongrass, and Gaylords. All were good but pricey. Also did the Luau Kalamaki. The food was just ok, the drinks were awesome and all you could drink and the show was really good.

All in all great stay in a really nice room! Next time though, I will take suggestion of previous reviewers and call ahead to request a Ocean front room!

Room Tip: Ask for buildings A, B, C, or D for ocean front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukiah, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The Pono Kai is central located on the Island. You can get to anywhere on the Island in less than 30 minutes. The grounds are well keeped. The staff is friendly. If you haven't been to Kauai they have a meeting 1 or 2 times a week to tell you about Kauai and things to do. I have been staying at the Pono Kai for more than 10 years. I love it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Pono Kai Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for great review! We are glad you love the Pono Kai and look forward to seeing you at the Pono Kai for the next 10 years as well.

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Our room at Pono Kai was very spacious and comfortable. It had AC in the living room and we left the bedroom door open so that it cooled the back room and it was still very comfortable. The place was clean and updated. The kitchen was stocked with the necessary utensils. The floors were a little noisy in the bedroom but everything else was very solid. The grounds were well maintained and the parking lot was well light if you arrive after dark. They do have a lobby area where you can rent snorkel gear, print boarding passes, or look at local restaurant menus. The staff was generally welcoming and we will would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
araikes, Manager at Pono Kai Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Pono Kai Resort. Our condo management company does not manage the specific unit you stayed in, but we are pleased that you enjoyed the grounds and your stay at the Pono Kai.

Mahalo,
Keith
Condominium Rentals Hawaii
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pono Kai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pono Kai Resort

Also Known As:
Pono Kai Hotel Kapaa
Pono Kai Hotel
Pono Kai Kapaa
Pono Kai
Pono Kai Resort Kauai/Kapaa
Address: 4-1250 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#5 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pono Kai Resort 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, BookIt.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Pono Kai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pono Kai Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pono Kai Resort to your Saves list