We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The manager still needs help. Only it's better than sleeping on the street.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai to your Saves list
Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai
4532 Lehua Street, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746 (Formerly Kauai International Hostel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
Sao Paulo, SP
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The manager still needs help. Only it's better than sleeping on the street.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The manager still needs help. Only it's better than sleeping on the street.

I arrived at the hostel, with 5 daily paid, and look at the manager greeted me:
Just thought 4 daily paid ..
Let me see your flight back. (Does he think it's a cop immigration?)
You can only use the laundry if you stay at least 7 days.
We have a closet for you to lock your things safely, you simply buy the padlock.
One room is the door to another room, which gives a total of 10 beds rather small, dirty, and with few windows.

In a very arrogant tone, seemed like they were doing you a favor to let me rent their room.

I asked for my money back, and said that they would not return, then I threatened to call the police and he returned the money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Honuea, General Manager at Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for your input. "management still needs help" This guest had read previous reviews about prior management from over 2 years ago and arrived with pre-conceved notions upon arrival. He also did not understand that the man checking him in was not the manager. When I came out to talk to him he had already threatened to call the police. (for the reasons he mentioned above) When I offered his money back, but told him we could not give him cash (as he paid with CC back in July, at his insistence) and it would take 7-14 business days, he became agitated and did not understand why he could not have his money back at that moment. He again threatened to call the police. (It is not normally our policy to accept payment prior to arrival). When I told him he was getting a refund and he needed to leave the property, he then changed his mind and wanted to stay. We asked him again, to leave. Thats where the arrogance came from? We told him we would have to contact the bank in the morning for his refund. We did so, and he received a full refund.
Thank you for pointing out some of our guidelines for our hostel.
"Let me see your flight back."--- Though, this is not the way we ask for the information, we do require an international passport and/or a return air ticket off the island.
"You can only use the laundry if you stay at least 7 days."----We have only 1 washer on the property and up to 36 sets of sheets per day to wash. That is why we direct most people to the Laundry down the street. It is very close and is open 24hrs.
"We have a closet for you to lock your things safely, you simply buy the padlock."----Yes, we have FREE lockers for guests to use(one per bed). However, we do not provide the lock. Locks may be purchased just down the road for around 3 dollars US.(most people traveling have their own locks)
"One room is the door to another room, which gives a total of 10 beds rather small, dirty, and with few windows."----We have 3 10 bed dorms. The first room has 3 bunks and 3 windows. The second room has 2 bunks and 1 large window, and a private room with 1 large window. There is a central bathroom. We clean them daily. We do not police guests to make sure the room looks like a hotel when everyone checks in, so I'm sure there were suitcases, towels, clothes and many other personal items of guests scattered about in the bunk room.

We do try very hard to make sure people have a safe, clean, inexpensive place to stay on beautiful island where the average hotel room is $240/nt. We start our prices at $25/nt that includes bed, sheets and pillow, a clean kitchen to cook in from 7am-9pm including 3 refrigerators, Cable TV(7am-10pm). FREE WIFI(in common areas), Covered lanai, Large garden area(available until 10pm later if quiet). FREE Lockers(you provide the lock), FREE Parking, Central music(you can plug in your ipod and share your music from your part of the world), FREE kayak use, FREE body board use, FREE snorkel gear, FREE ping pong table, Playing cards, book exchange, dice. The list goes on. Yes we have a few rules to follow, but we believe the benefits far exceed the rules and hope most people will appreciate the time and effort we put in to make your stay enjoyable. Aloha:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    18
    14
    5
    8
See reviews for
1
4
43
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This place is organized like clockwork. The kitchen has everything labelled, so you know where everything is. Free parking. The rooms are fine, bathroom clean. Freshley brewed coffee is ready for you in the morning at 7am. There are cupboards for your groceries. You're within walking distance many grocery stores, restaurants. There is a beach 2 blocks across the beach, but nothing as nice as what you'll see north or south. You will need a car to leave this hostel. the buses will triple your travel time.

Annoying things were the lounge area gets completely shut down during quiet hours (everyone is kicked out), internet is shut down everyday 11am-1pm. You have to use the payphones instead of the reception phones for local calls (these are useful for booking local tours or asking questions for the local tours). I've been to all islands, and this is the first time it isn't offered and I can't imagine it being expensive to add on.

The lounge area had 2 great travel books (big book and fodors) for trip planning. The front desk has connections to cheap car rentals, caveat is they are older cars (probably 10 years or older) in poorer condition, and you have no option to purchase the insurance. Investigate booking at the airport to save time and money. The bus ride to the hostel from airport is 1 hr to 1.5 hr. Drive is 30mins.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

If it weren't for my amazing experience in Kauai, I'd probably think a lot less of my stay at Honu'ea. The hostel provided what I needed, but is by no means top of the line. First the positives: the beds were super comfortable- if you are lucky, there will be a foam mattress available when you check in and you can snag it right up. Also, the hostel was located in a pretty good location. Big Dave Waves was right around the corner and many shops and other restaurants were within a 10 minute drive. In addition, I enjoyed the company at the hostel. It attracted people from all over and I had the best time socializing with these amazing people. The hostel does come with some down falls, however. There were many rules such as no shoes in the kitchen... which seems like a simple enough rule to follow, but when you have to walk outside to pass from your room to the kitchen, it's not exactly second nature to remember to take off your shoes. The quiet hours were strict too which was kind of a buzz kill at times. Most note worthy, though, were the cock roaches!! Lucky for me, I never saw one, but I heard plenty of buzz throughout the hostel about cock roaches appearing in peoples' food bags or in their bathrooms. Again I must reiterate, Kauai's too amazing of an island to really let any of that stuff get you down. If you need luxury, this is not the place, but if you're a no frills kind of traveler, I say go for it and you will not regret it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I stayed my very first night in Kauai here. I took the private female room for 60bucks.
The floor was kind of not so clean but all the rest was great. Bathroom was great and clean. Had a great rest. I arrived later than 9pm and the lady waited for me. Was very nice.
It met the expectations I had for hostel. I liked it.

Room Tip: single female private room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

The rooms and kitchen were ok when it comes to cleanliness, but other than that the hostel was a disappointment! The manager had a negative attitude that seems to have spread to the other staff. It felt like you had your mom watching you at all times. The hostel has quiet hours after 10pm which would have been fair enough if you were allowed to talk quiet without music or alcohol. But at this hostel you have to leave the property or go to bed at 10pm! 
In general a bad experience. 

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Honuea, General Manager at Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry you thought you were entitled to have a party late into the night, but we are not that kind of hostel. We are a quiet island with very fun and rewarding daytime activities that most people are excited to get up early to enjoy. People that would like to continue to drink and be loud may do so at the bar or the beach across the street. As most places have a similar policy. We have had thousands of happy guests and are truly sorry you were not one. Aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Easy living stay! The location is good to travel from North shore to South shore of Kauai. The staff is really nice and friendly. There is a lovely garden and the whole place is clean. If i go back to Kauai, i will definitively go to Honu'ea International Hostel! Thanks xxx

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 13 days, wich was 6 days more than planned. The location is amazing and Kapaa is a wonderful little town with all you need. The hostel was cozy and homey, with a great kitchen and a small common area with a large table and couches. It was a very safe place to stay and we had no problems leaving all our stuff, incl. phones, ipads and everything behind when we went out.
The best thing though was the staff and managers! Autumn, Bill and Sunny is an amazing and loving team, who try their best to make your stay amazing. We love you guys and we are definitely comming back!

/Sine and Charlotte from Denmark

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai

Address: 4532 Lehua Street, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746 (Formerly Kauai International Hostel)
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aloha and welcome to our family owned, family operated 34 person hostel on the amazing island of Kaua`i! Honu`ea International Hostel Kaua`i resides in the heart of Kapa`a Town, across the street from Kapa'a Beach Park! Take a stroll or bike down the 7 mile Ke Ala Hele Makalae ("The Path that Goes by the Coast") that stretches from Wailua Town past Kealia Beach Point with amazing surf and spectacular views! Or, do some shopping at some of the best locally owned shops on Kaua`i. Dine in amazing restaurants or cook your own food in our large, newly decorated kitchen/common areas. Please take care in making reservations as we are a small family run hostel. All reservations are final and we cannot offer refunds for errors in booking dates. (Book direct and save, we have our own site) kauaihostel We have three dorm rooms with ten beds each(we only reserve 8 unless you have a large group and would like to book the entire room), three private rooms (inside the dorms), and two deluxe rooms (inside the main hale). All dorms have a private room and a shared bath. The two deluxe rooms are in the main house, share a bathroom and do not have restrictions on kitchen hours. Please, no food or drink in ANY room. We have common areas available to all regestered guests that include lanai (covered patio), several garden seating areas, hammock and TV room. Free WiFi is provided for all registered guests. Please, no one other than registered guests are allowed on the property at any time. *We most always have room for walk-ins 1pm-9pm, aloha! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai International Hotel Kapaa
Honu'Ea International Hostel Kauai Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Honu'ea International Hostel Kauai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.