We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely nice and exceptional location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of WorldMark at Kapaa Shores

Save Saved
You added WorldMark at Kapaa Shores to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
AMOMA.com
WorldMark at Kapaa Shores
4-0900 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersSilver level
Huntington Beach, California
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Extremely nice and exceptional location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

After reading some the the less than stellar reviews for Kapaa Shores, our initial thoughts were we we going to be staying at a place to sleep and not to expect too much, well we were quite pleasantly surprised, so much so in fact, we now wonder if there is another place named Kapaa Shores as the facility we stayed at had absolutely no resemblance to the place mentioned in the negative reviews. the room was immaculate, the staff was kind and courteous, the grounds were well maintained and the location is perfect for those who wish to visit locales on the North and South as Kapaa Shores is directly in the middle . I would highly recommend this facility to anyone looking for a pleasant stay in Kauai.

Room Tip: While the Ocean front rooms offer a fantastic view, be aware that the the shoreline in front of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ukiah, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Booked a one bedroom condo through Interval as an exchange from another vacation club. The place is old, the floor was filthy (couldn't walk on it without shoes), moldy coffee grounds in coffee maker, dirt under wall bed. Every time we asked for something, they wanted to know our room number and then said we were not entitled to it: extra roll of toilet paper or box of kleenex, laundry detergent, mid-week housekeeping, etc. We ran completely out of toilet paper and even offered to pay for one but they said we could not. It seems some rooms have privileges and others don't. Felt like 2nd class citizens and the management did not try to make us feel welcome at all. We were not informed in advance that essentials would not be provided. There was construction going on in the driveway area. On the up-side, the view from the deck was nice and it was close to the ocean. TV & DVD player worked and it was close to grocery stores, shops & restaurants. No fitness room

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Bought my Worldmark membership over a year ago and so far this is my favorite resort. I also visited Kihei in Maui last fall which was really nice and closer to nicer beaches, but much busier. Kauai is much more relaxed and peaceful. The resort itself offers 1 and 2 bedroom units with washer and dryer in the 2 bedrooms. All 2 bedrooms are on the 3rd floor and the building has no elevators. The 2nd bedroom is an additional flight of stairs to a loft with its own bath. The staff is very nice and resort grounds are kept up very well. The beach at the resort is not swimmable, but there are swimmable beaches not far and the pool is pretty much on the beach anyways. I visited this resort twice in 2012 and intend to return again this year. If youn don't require stairs then I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: All top floors are 2 bedroom so no noise from above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed at this property through our time share. Some feedback:

Positive:
1. Great view from our third floor room overlooking the ocean.
2. Centrally located.
3. Easy access to some good restaurants.
4. Has all the required amenities.
5. Nice pool and hottub.

Could be improved:
1. Second bedroom is half open. No privacy.
2. Second bedroom is very noisy due to the ocean. Hard to close the windows.
3. No elevator. Carrying luggage up and down was a PAIN!
4. Gave us two beach towels for a room of five people. When we asked for towels, they said that we have to return the two we have to get two other ones.
5. Flooring bothered me.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are noisy, but have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This place is above average for many reasons and deserves more than a 3 for view of ocean and large sliding balcony doors, pleasant large yard facing the ocean, 2 flat screen new TV's, decent pool and hot tub, staff friendliness, cleanliness and proximity to many things including grocery stores, restaurants, shops etc.
It is below average for its layout. The suite could not accommodate 2 couples well. The bedroom is at the back by the parking lot and outer walkway goes right by it. The windows are high and you would never know you were in Hawaii...maybe some little town in mid America where you need a quick stop to sleep. We pulled down the Murphy bed in our living room since we are only 2 of us staying here and we had a great sleep listening to the ocean and watching the sunrise in the morning.
It does need to be updated and refurbished ..bathroom fixtures worked but are old and the shower is just weird. Outside lawn furniture definitely needs to be replaced.
All in all we are not disappointed because we have the ocean everyday and every night the way we have structured our sleeping!

Room Tip: The second floor units seem to be the best. The two bedroom upper floor aren't really that and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenton, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I was looking for a fairly inexpensive place to rent out while on our honeymoon in hawaii. This place was perfect. Good location, view of the ocean, clean cabin, great pool and hot tub. Not super luxurious, but perfect for what we were looking for. It's in Kapaa, so there is good access to both the north and south of the island.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Staff were great. Place was clean but small units that are not well laid out. You can tell it needs some TLC overall. Kitchen was way to small for our family of 4 and not laid out well. The kids enjoyed the pool, and we liked the hot tub. Location is excellent as far as stores and being in Kappa. Location stinks if you want beach action out your door. Basically all the furniture needs to be improved on the comfort scale. It was quiet and the ocean views were nice.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs if you don't mind hauling your luggage up. We had a unit closer to the water and d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to WorldMark at Kapaa Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WorldMark at Kapaa Shores

Also Known As:
Worldmark At Kapaa Shores Hotel Kapaa
Worldmark At Kapaa Shores Hotel
WorldMark At Kapaa Shores Kauai
Address: 4-0900 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Specialty lodging in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your WorldMark at Kapaa Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WorldMark at Kapaa Shores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.