We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located” 3 of 5 stars
Review of WorldMark at Kapaa Shores

Save Saved
You added WorldMark at Kapaa Shores to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
WorldMark at Kapaa Shores
4-0900 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersSilver level
Woodinville, Washington
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Centrally located”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed at this property through our time share. Some feedback:

Positive:
1. Great view from our third floor room overlooking the ocean.
2. Centrally located.
3. Easy access to some good restaurants.
4. Has all the required amenities.
5. Nice pool and hottub.

Could be improved:
1. Second bedroom is half open. No privacy.
2. Second bedroom is very noisy due to the ocean. Hard to close the windows.
3. No elevator. Carrying luggage up and down was a PAIN!
4. Gave us two beach towels for a room of five people. When we asked for towels, they said that we have to return the two we have to get two other ones.
5. Flooring bothered me.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor are noisy, but have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This place is above average for many reasons and deserves more than a 3 for view of ocean and large sliding balcony doors, pleasant large yard facing the ocean, 2 flat screen new TV's, decent pool and hot tub, staff friendliness, cleanliness and proximity to many things including grocery stores, restaurants, shops etc.
It is below average for its layout. The suite could not accommodate 2 couples well. The bedroom is at the back by the parking lot and outer walkway goes right by it. The windows are high and you would never know you were in Hawaii...maybe some little town in mid America where you need a quick stop to sleep. We pulled down the Murphy bed in our living room since we are only 2 of us staying here and we had a great sleep listening to the ocean and watching the sunrise in the morning.
It does need to be updated and refurbished ..bathroom fixtures worked but are old and the shower is just weird. Outside lawn furniture definitely needs to be replaced.
All in all we are not disappointed because we have the ocean everyday and every night the way we have structured our sleeping!

Room Tip: The second floor units seem to be the best. The two bedroom upper floor aren't really that and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odenton, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I was looking for a fairly inexpensive place to rent out while on our honeymoon in hawaii. This place was perfect. Good location, view of the ocean, clean cabin, great pool and hot tub. Not super luxurious, but perfect for what we were looking for. It's in Kapaa, so there is good access to both the north and south of the island.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Staff were great. Place was clean but small units that are not well laid out. You can tell it needs some TLC overall. Kitchen was way to small for our family of 4 and not laid out well. The kids enjoyed the pool, and we liked the hot tub. Location is excellent as far as stores and being in Kappa. Location stinks if you want beach action out your door. Basically all the furniture needs to be improved on the comfort scale. It was quiet and the ocean views were nice.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs if you don't mind hauling your luggage up. We had a unit closer to the water and d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland, Washington
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

The place is very outdated & rundown! The decor is ugly and uncomfortable. We got a 2 bedroom & it's only on the 3rd floor with no elevator & the main bedroom is a loft with a half wall so no privacy. There is no air conditioning and is very stuffy even with the lanai door open. We have a couple of people who are disabled and there is no accessibility.I wouldn't want to stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

My Family and I stayed here for a week through our timeshare. After reading a few reviews, I called a few days before we arrived to insure we could stay in a upstairs unit.

Grounds and Location
This place is right on the beach! Yes, you can't play at the beach due to the coral reef but the view is amazing. Pool was great and the hot tub was nice for evening dips. The bbq area is also a great plus but get there early as the grills get packed. It's located off the main Highway- Kauai has one "Main Highway" which is more of a road for us mainlanders. There is a few places to eat close by and a Safeway about a block away.

Staff and Services
Checking in and Checking out were easy and the staff was pretty attentive. Needed more towels and pillows, got them within 10 minutes. They gave us suggestions on dining and were very nice during our stay.

Inside the Unit
The decor is dated, think pastels in the 1980's...needs a facelift. It's off the main street so it can be noisy at times. I could see this being an issue for those very warm Hawaiian nights, also the bedrooms are located right next to the walkways. The unit was clean and pretty spacious, had everything we needed. The bathroom was a very nice size, water pressure could have been stronger. Couch needs to be replaced, just old and not very comfortable.

We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Request to stay on the 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Plus side: comfortable bed, ocean and sunrise view, clean swimming pool and jacuzzi, expected amenities
Minus side: too close to road - very noisy,especially when trying to sleep, and parking lot light shone brightly into bedroom
Coral, rock beach

This unit is old, and getting quite shabby, but the general location is convenient

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to WorldMark at Kapaa Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WorldMark at Kapaa Shores

Also Known As:
Worldmark At Kapaa Shores Hotel Kapaa
Worldmark At Kapaa Shores Hotel
WorldMark At Kapaa Shores Kauai
Address: 4-0900 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Specialty lodging in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your WorldMark at Kapaa Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WorldMark at Kapaa Shores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.