We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would give it 3.5 if I could.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of WorldMark at Kapaa Shores

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kapaa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
WorldMark at Kapaa Shores
Save
You added WorldMark at Kapaa Shores to your Saves list
4-0900 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level Contributor
228 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Would give it 3.5 if I could.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This place is above average for many reasons and deserves more than a 3 for view of ocean and large sliding balcony doors, pleasant large yard facing the ocean, 2 flat screen new TV's, decent pool and hot tub, staff friendliness, cleanliness and proximity to many things including grocery stores, restaurants, shops etc.
It is below average for its layout. The suite could not accommodate 2 couples well. The bedroom is at the back by the parking lot and outer walkway goes right by it. The windows are high and you would never know you were in Hawaii...maybe some little town in mid America where you need a quick stop to sleep. We pulled down the Murphy bed in our living room since we are only 2 of us staying here and we had a great sleep listening to the ocean and watching the sunrise in the morning.
It does need to be updated and refurbished ..bathroom fixtures worked but are old and the shower is just weird. Outside lawn furniture definitely needs to be replaced.
All in all we are not disappointed because we have the ocean everyday and every night the way we have structured our sleeping!

Room Tip: The second floor units seem to be the best. The two bedroom upper floor aren't really that and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    16
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Odenton, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I was looking for a fairly inexpensive place to rent out while on our honeymoon in hawaii. This place was perfect. Good location, view of the ocean, clean cabin, great pool and hot tub. Not super luxurious, but perfect for what we were looking for. It's in Kapaa, so there is good access to both the north and south of the island.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
101 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Staff were great. Place was clean but small units that are not well laid out. You can tell it needs some TLC overall. Kitchen was way to small for our family of 4 and not laid out well. The kids enjoyed the pool, and we liked the hot tub. Location is excellent as far as stores and being in Kappa. Location stinks if you want beach action out your door. Basically all the furniture needs to be improved on the comfort scale. It was quiet and the ocean views were nice.

Room Tip: Stay upstairs if you don't mind hauling your luggage up. We had a unit closer to the water and d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

The place is very outdated & rundown! The decor is ugly and uncomfortable. We got a 2 bedroom & it's only on the 3rd floor with no elevator & the main bedroom is a loft with a half wall so no privacy. There is no air conditioning and is very stuffy even with the lanai door open. We have a couple of people who are disabled and there is no accessibility.I wouldn't want to stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

My Family and I stayed here for a week through our timeshare. After reading a few reviews, I called a few days before we arrived to insure we could stay in a upstairs unit.

Grounds and Location
This place is right on the beach! Yes, you can't play at the beach due to the coral reef but the view is amazing. Pool was great and the hot tub was nice for evening dips. The bbq area is also a great plus but get there early as the grills get packed. It's located off the main Highway- Kauai has one "Main Highway" which is more of a road for us mainlanders. There is a few places to eat close by and a Safeway about a block away.

Staff and Services
Checking in and Checking out were easy and the staff was pretty attentive. Needed more towels and pillows, got them within 10 minutes. They gave us suggestions on dining and were very nice during our stay.

Inside the Unit
The decor is dated, think pastels in the 1980's...needs a facelift. It's off the main street so it can be noisy at times. I could see this being an issue for those very warm Hawaiian nights, also the bedrooms are located right next to the walkways. The unit was clean and pretty spacious, had everything we needed. The bathroom was a very nice size, water pressure could have been stronger. Couch needs to be replaced, just old and not very comfortable.

We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Request to stay on the 2nd or 3rd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Plus side: comfortable bed, ocean and sunrise view, clean swimming pool and jacuzzi, expected amenities
Minus side: too close to road - very noisy,especially when trying to sleep, and parking lot light shone brightly into bedroom
Coral, rock beach

This unit is old, and getting quite shabby, but the general location is convenient

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed 6 days at Kapaa Shores. We were in a upstairs unit. With loft. Had a view if the pool and partial ocean. The two kids had a blast in the pool and beaches. Though you can't play in the beach on the property due to the coral reef. There are plenty of beaches a short drive or walk away. The decor is mid 90s but in good shape, the master tv could use a flat screen updating. But who's there to watch tv anyways. The washer/dryer was a lifesaver. It was a great stay and we usualy had the pool to ourselves or with few others. Our favorite activity at night was to take the kids toad hunting with flashlights! They loved it and the toads were big and plentiful! A great location just across the street from Starbucks, Safeway, the best ice cream I have ever had next to the Panda Express by Safeway. Hope to visit again soon!

The Storms Family
Keizer, Oregon

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
0.9 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
1.0 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
3.9 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#5 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
0.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach
0.1 mi away
Waipouli Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WorldMark at Kapaa Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WorldMark at Kapaa Shores

Address: 4-0900 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 81
Also Known As:
Worldmark At Kapaa Shores Hotel Kapaa
WorldMark At Kapaa Shores Kauai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage WorldMark at Kapaa Shores, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.