We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Islander on the Beach to your Saves list
Aston Islander on the Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   440 Aleka Place, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I will admit that when we arrived I was second guessing uor choice of places to stay. This was a two week vacation and we wanted a "resort" type location, this wasnt it. However, from the moment we walked in and met their staff, we knew we had picked the right place. This isnt your 5-star resort as far as amenities and such but for service and excellent options nearby, they get that rating from me.
First of all, I cannot say enough about one of the front desk associates, Jaime. Jaime is top notch, just awesome. She was friendly, professional, knowledgable and personable and based on her attitude alone, this would be my first choice of places to stay on Kauai. Sue and Amy, also great associates.
Secondly, with Kilauea Fish market (AWESOME) and Trees (EXCELLENT) in the same vicinity, you cant go wrong.
I would recommend Islander on the Beach every time; it has great associates, great location, quiet, a beautiful beach in front and is close to amenities.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    436
    491
    185
    70
    42
See reviews for
123
742
56
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coupeville
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We spent 10 days in Kapaa at this great little condo just a few steps from the beach.it was about a I minute walk to the pool and the poolside bar.
Quite most of the time. Nice location not too far to anywhere.
Traffic in Kapaa is sooo slow at times ,you would think you are back on the mainland.
Close to good restaurants.Very relaxing .

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fombell
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We booked a package through Alaskan Airlines and spent 8 days at the IOB and loved it. We stayed in unit #352 in the Ni'ihau building. We had all the anemities required for a beautiful stay.

The entire property was beautiful and well maintained and any staff we had to deal with were friendly, helpful and courteous.

Our oceanfront view from the third floor was beautiful and wonderful to fall asleep to the sound of the ocean waves. You are only about 100 yards from the beach and while it's not the most ideal swimming beach, you can take a dip if you choose and several folks enjoyed snorkeling.

Parking can be full but the resort gives you an extra pass to allow parking in the adjacent lot to the IOB property.

Room Tip: The Ni'ihau and Kaua'i building are the only two building directly facing the ocean. First...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We booked through Kreller’s Island Getaway; they manage 15 condos at the Islander on the Beach. Brad was very helpful with the booking process and with information about the property and the oceanfront condo we chose. If you search “Kauai Revealed” and click on “Free travel info”, then choose “Islander on the Beach”, you will see an aerial photograph of the complex which shows how close the oceanfront condos are to the water. To see the location of each unit in the complex, go to vrbo(dot)com, and search property 399391.
In our unit on the third floor we didn’t hear any noises from other guests. We left our lanai door open (which automatically shuts off the air conditioning) to hear the surf for most of our stay. It was loud enough that we weren’t able to hear the roosters crowing, a problem on most of Kauai.
Arriving from the airport, turn towards the ocean between mileage posts 6 and 7, just north of the Coconut Market Place, turn right behind the market place at the mini-roundabout, past the Kauai Beach Resort. If you miss the turn off the highway, continue to the next right turn, just past mileage post 7, and double back on the road that parallels the water. If you arrive in the evening, parking in their lot can be challenging but we were always able to find a spot.
The beach in front isn’t good for swimming but Lydgate State Park has safe swimming and reasonably good snorkelling (we found Poipu better for snorkelling) and is only 2 miles south.
The Hukillau Lanai restaurant at the adjacent Kauai Beach resort is rated #1 on Tripadvisor. They have a 5 course tasting menu for $28 without wine or $40 with wine with each course from 5:00 – 6:00 pm. They replaced a meat dish with a fish dish for us. They also have a similar 5 course tasting menu for vegetarians. We found that by walking over to talk to the restaurant hostess, we got better times than were available on Open Table. It is very popular so definitely reserve. The best meal of our holiday.
A typical Safeway grocery store is less than 1 mile north so walkable. For a more Hawaiian grocery experience, we preferred Foodland, 0.7 miles north.
This is an older development, and with the excellent price, there are a few compromises, but overall, we were happy with our stay.

Room Tip: No elevators or bellhops so you carry your own luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We stayed five nights in a ground floor suite and enjoyed our time. The rooms are convenient ( with pineapple lights and coverings :)) with 2 queen size beds and a large bathroom. The kitchenette was useful for making breakfast. All the lanais are overlooking a well kept garden area, some also have sea view. You can pick some frangipangi flowers or enjoy the sunrise at the beach. The whole atmosphere is really relaxing and easy going - nothing posh but perfect for taking some days off. The beach is nice but not really suitable for swimming, the pool area is cosy and offers drinks until 7 pm. What was very unusual for us were the sweet roosters waking us up early every morning but it added to the charm of the place.
Laundry area and the free dvd service was useful. Wifi was tricky to install ( i had to try 6 numbers until it finally worked), but run well.
The location is very central, just a couple of miles north the airport. If you plan to visit Hanalei and Napali coast or Waimea Canyon in the south you are just in the middle. Supermarkets are 2 miles north and if you are up for going out for dinner the hotel next door offers great menu sets with winetasting. For small shopping coconut market place is just next door.
Great stay, would come again!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronan, Montana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Convenient, very nice staff, ocean right there! Clean and a nice pool area with cocktails available. Walking path goes a long ways. Shops and dining close by..walk a short distance for breakfast or any meal. Having BBQ available (and clean) helped with the budget as did frig and microwave. 2nd or 3rd story would be nice..next time! We will come back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We had a great relaxing time here. The hotel has an old plantation feel to it, and the décor has an old school feel. The rooms were clean, the waves crashing on the beach at night were delightful. The staff was excellent, and housekeeping was perfect. They even had Hawaiian band playing music by the pool one evening. The beach is gorgeous, but it's not a swimming beach. There was a microwave, a coffee pot, and a mini fridge. Just right.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Islander on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Islander on the Beach

Address: 440 Aleka Place, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kapaa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Islander on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This oceanfront resort offers guests contemporary island-inspired decor, six acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, a sparkling pool and a stunning beachfront location. Enjoy the convenience of the adjacent Coconut Marketplace's 60 boutiques and restaurants. Oceanfront location and plantation-style charm make this relaxing resort the most enticing retreat on Kauai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aston Islander on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Islander On The Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Best Western Kapaa
Resortquest Islander Beach Kauai
Islander Beach Kauai
Aston Islander On The Beach Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Islander on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.