We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, well located room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Islander on the Beach to your Saves list
Aston Islander on the Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   440 Aleka Place, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Take 15% Off Your Stay
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable, well located room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The room was small but very functional. Air conditioning, Fridge and microwave worked well. Very clean, You can sit out at night at your room on a good size patio. Good size, very clean pool close the beach

The $15 per day additional amenity fee was a surprise and would have been quite expensive for a longer stay. Our wifi did not work - They use an eight digit alpha numeric access code which was difficult to enter. The coconut shopping centre was close by.

Overall it was a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Beware of the $15 per day amenity charge above the posted room rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    518
    192
    72
    43
See reviews for
140
777
57
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (311)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Selah, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This place was paradise!! Loved everything about it! Great location right on the beach, pool and hot tub was excellent with a poolside bar that has a big screen to watch sports, live music by the pool on the weekend evenings. The staff was awesome!! So friendly and helpful. Free pastries and coffee each morning. Very clean, the grounds were beautiful with all the plants, flowers and palm trees. It was the perfect central location for exploring the whole Island. I would highly recommend this resort for anyone wanting to visit Kauai.

Room Tip: I prefer the ground floor so I can just walk out my door and be on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The Aston Islander on the Beach was a welcome site after our flight across the pacific! Nestled just beside the ocean, all rooms are just a quick walk from the pool/bar area or the beach with stunning sunrises welcoming you in the mornings. There were DVD movie rentals, and local retail stores and restaurants within a casual walk, but we did not see much in the way of room services. Everything was clean and the staff were all very friendly with advice on where to go and what to do if you were looking for ideas. The stay was very quiet and relaxing for most of the week until they had a large weekend evening party at the local shops with live bands playing which wrapped up around 10pm. Would love to return to this island paradise and would definitely recommend the Aston Islander.

Room Tip: The third floor rooms have better ocean views, but they are so close to the beach, you really can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulfport, Mississippi
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed Sept 13 for 2 weeks or so. Business. Beachfront unit.

Pro's
-Very close to beach.
-Very close to small shopping area an a handful of eateries.
-Not far from airport.

Con's

-Not a very useful 'business center' Printer and internet access at the lobby is vendor operated and will not give a receipt. ( I understand 95% of all visitors are here on vacation so this doesn factor into the overall score.)
-Somewhat flakey room keys. Frequently needed to have them rekeyed.
-No staff at the front desk through the wee hours of the night. Can make the issue above a bit of a challenge to get back into your room.
-Parking in the evening can get full so you need to walk a bit more of a distance.

Overall impression was a good one. I was able to wave to family at home through their little webcam site from outside my building.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed at the Islander for 15 days. We arent ones to hang out at our hotel alot, so this place was perfect for us. The private lanai is amazing. We had a beautiful view of the beach. We would go and get dinner and bring it back to the hotel and eat on our lanai. It was perfect. The pool area is beautiful and the pool bar has great drinks. The bartender would often have freash fruit he had picked that morning for the drinks. If you are looking for something fancy and very commerical this isnt the place for you. There are no elevators so beware if you have a third floor room. :) It made us laugh, we arent ones to let things like that get to us! :) Overall a great great place to stay! We will stay here again next time in Kauai for sure!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We booked the Aston Islander on the beach and splurged on an ocean view studio. And the sunrise was spectacular! For a first night in the Islands I'd book it again! Rooms are large and have a kitchenette, nice and comfortable, we liked it very much.

Room Tip: Ocean front for spectacular sunrise views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I rented Unit #252 through Krellers Getaway for a week. The place is nice. The rooms are somewhat small (comparable to a hotel room) so I wouldn't have wanted to stay any longer or with more than the 2 of us, though you could technically fit another person. Our unit had an ocean view, which I would recommend. There is nothing better than opening the shades to see the ocean each morning! Note that the ocean in front of this place is quite rough with signs noting the rip tides - we did not swim in it but we saw an occasional person out there. Parking was a bit of an issue at times, but nothing worth worrying about. There were a couple restaurants within the complex (Trees Lounge and Kaloa Fish Market), both of which were quite good. Very nice to have that option after a long day of sight-seeing. The location of the condo is extremely convenient, with bustling old town Kapaa nearby with restaurants, etc, the Wailua river a 5 minute drive away, and about equi-distant from the North and South shore sights.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Islander on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Islander on the Beach

Address: 440 Aleka Place, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kapaa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Islander on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This oceanfront resort offers guests contemporary island-inspired decor, six acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, a sparkling pool and a stunning beachfront location. Enjoy the convenience of the adjacent Coconut Marketplace's 60 boutiques and restaurants. Oceanfront location and plantation-style charm make this relaxing resort the most enticing retreat on Kauai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aston Islander on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Islander On The Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Best Western Kapaa
Resortquest Islander Beach Kauai
Islander Beach Kauai
Aston Islander On The Beach Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Islander on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.