We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Save Saved
You added Aston Islander on the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aston Islander on the Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   440 Aleka Place, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - from $135
Ranked #4 of 12 hotels in Kapaa
Los Lunas, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I got married in Kauai last summer. We stayed at the Aston Islander, along with most of our guests. We had a beautiful ocean view room. The room was very nice and clean. The staff was so nice. The price was unbeatable. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    414
    469
    182
    72
    40
See reviews for
115
690
52
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had an ocean view room on the second floor.. Nice views of the pool and beach. Beautiful watching the sunset on the balcony. Check in simple and easy.. No hidden costs etc or surprise parking costs. The hotel room was nice and clean, safe and quiet. air con worked really well. Our room was equipped with basic kitchen appliances like a microwave, fridge and sink which was handy for breakfasts. We ate out for most other meals but I was quite disappointed with the choice of food nearby. Nothing like in maui or Oahu. Might be worth getting a full kitchen here. Massive malls close by with Safeway etc. Free wifi and complimentary dvd rental. You cant swim at the beach and I would suggest heading to some beaches near poipu or up to tunnels for a day of snorkelling etc. hotel is located about 15 minutes drive from the airport. Pretty good location, close to food in lihue and plenty to do close by. Only annoying thing about the hotel was the parking would get full at about 8.30pm. If there was no spots left we had to park in a deserted car park near the highway. 5 minute walk away. We then had to move the car before 10am the next day back to the hotels car park. Kind of inconvenient as it happened 3-4 times in our week long stay. Overall we had a really good stay.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

There was good and bad about this hotel. First the good. I highly recommend staying on the third floor ocean view. And what a beautiful view it is!!! The ocean has every shade of blue and greens, gorgeous!!! It was nice sitting on the balcony, enjoying the breeze and watching the waves. The room had a small coffee maker, dishes for four, fridge, hairdryer, play station and unlimited DVD's. There are also several stores and restaurants in walking distance. The bad...lots of construction going on at the hotel that we were not told about in advance. Sitting by the pool wasn't very enjoyable with all the drilling, sanding, sawing, pounding, banging etc.. The décor in the room was pretty dated too. You are unable to swim at the beach in front of this hotel. There are signs posted advising the risks. There were also only three lounge chairs on the beach to use.

Room Tip: Having the ocean view room, we didn't hear any of the construction from that side of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Having read a number of past reviews of this facility, I was a little apprehensive. So it was a pleasant surprise to find the check-in easy and straightforward, the staff courteous and helpful, and the room clean and reasonably well equiped. Our room was ground floor with a great view of the ocean. The grounds were beautifully landscaped and well maintained with paved walkways. Although we had intended to make use of the attracive pool complex, our schedule of activities was such that we never got around to it. At the end of our week, since we had a relatively early inter-island flight, the staff checked us out the night before and allowed us to print out our boarding passes. Perhaps management has changed from what it was when those less than complimentary reviews were submitted.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was a great place to stay. It is close to everything and in a beautiful location. There are several restaurants within walking distance and the beach is right next to the hotel. We had a really lovely time and hope to visit again sometime soon.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights and really liked everything about this place. The staff were really nice and attentive, the pools and greens were well maintained (we saw the pool being cleaned and tested every morning). They have freshly brewed coffee every morning along with some pastries. For the resort fee they charge ($15) you get beach/pool towels, 2 free movie/game rentals, and free wifi and free parking. We really liked the location of this hotel. It was centrally located for all our activities. The nearby Kapaa town was also nice and had good dining options (and coffee places. Do visit Small town coffee and Java Kai). We will definitely stay here again on our next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camas, Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel/condo property with an interesting feature. All of the rooms are studio units, with a combined sleeping/living area, kitchenette, nice full bathroom, and a balcony (always referred to as a "lanai" in Hawai‘i). As far as I can tell, most of the property is the corporate hotel, run by Aston, but interspersed, in the same property, maybe in the same building next door to each other, are some studios that are privately owned condo units. The grounds of the whole property are meticulously kept.

We stayed 5 days in Unit 224, which is a privately owned condo in this resort. Renting a privately owned unit, rather than a traditional hotel room, made me VERY nervous. What if we got there and it was a bait and switch? Well, all I can say is that for the price that we paid -- which was about what a room in a Days Inn in Iowa would cost -- it was beyond my best expectations! It is a gem. We found the unit clean, well stocked and nicely appointed. Most of all, however, was the view and location. We would definitely stay here again, and would recommend the cost saving of renting private unit without hesitation.

Another bonus of going with a privately owned unit, is that you are selecting the actual unit you are going to stay in, rather than just a class of room.

This particular unit, #224, truly has a million-dollar view (and I mean that literally, if you were looking to buy a house in Kaua‘i with this view, it might easily cost you a million bucks!) Being on the second floor is great, too. You are up just enough to see over the low dunes, for a full ocean view, and yet feel secure in leaving the sliding glass door open with the screen closed, to hear the surf lull you to sleep. Early risers will love the balcony -- the "lanai" -- to enjoy a cup of coffee, read and watch the sun come up.

We heard no roosters crowing during our stay, but be forewarned, they are everywhere on Kauai. It's like a Caribbean island, everywhere! This property is not any different from any other on the whole island. You could have a rooster decide to crow outside your window at any hour. Anyone who would complain about it hasn't done their research.

The location of the unit, in Kapa‘a, is also great. It is the perfect distance from everywhere. You will want to go to the south and west side to drive up Waimea Canyon, but you will also want to go to the north coast, which is incredibly lush, but more touristy, and accordingly more expensive. From the Pu‘u o Kila overlook, at the top end of Highway 550, in the extreme far west, it is 1 hour and 45 minutes to the unit. From Ke‘e Beach, at the end of the road on the north, it is just under 1 hour. Wal-Mart and Costco are just 15-20 minutes down the road in Līhu‘e, where the airport is located.

Amenities of the unit include a couple of lawn chairs, and two beach towels. (Bring a couple more of your own towels. Assuming two people, it is good to have ones for the sand, and clean ones to dry off with.) There are a couple of boogie boards on the patio, but read your guidebook about dangerous surf in Kaua‘i before getting in the water! There are robes in the wardrobe, and plenty of extra soaps and shampoos in the bathroom, which is a nice touch. The air conditioner worked great, but we mainly just left it off, and opened the screen door. Free Wi-Fi was a breeze to access.

There are some basic things in the kitchenette, like salt/pepper, silverware, knives, cutting board, plastic forks, paper napkins, etc. Be prepared to make a run to the store for paper towels, or whatever else you need. (Foodland seemed nicer than Safeway, and had a killer selection of fresh poke in the deli.) There is a microwave and toaster over. Don't do what we did, and overlook the blender tucked under the sink. Pina Coladas over the rocks are just not the same!

If you want to be more sociable, without actually driving anywhere, the Sand Bar at the complex's pool is a nice thatched roof palapa-style tiki bar, that draws a lively group every evening to hangout for sunset cocktails. If you have drinks at dinner, or drive anywhere to go out, remember that Kaua‘i does have surprise DUI checkpoints, although, we never saw one. Luckily, the most popular nightspot on the island, Trees Restaurant & Nightclub, is within walking distance, literally across the parking lot from the front of the property.

If you have kids, or are having a more family style vacation, the owner of this unit also owns the adjoining unit 225. A pass-through door allows both units to be opened up into one larger space.

Of course, at this price, you will understand that there is no daily maid service. I guess that is the biggest trade off staying in a private unit vs. in one of the corporate hotel-style units. No one is going to bring you fresh towels everyday. There are, however, self-serve laundry facilities in the complex. Remember also, this is a tropical island, and the unit is like 40 feet from the surf. It is humid. We did NOT detect any mildew or bad smells, but if you open the door, the air is damp. If you don't want dampness or humidity, you might want to consider Palm Springs, rather than Hawai‘i.

My only frustration with the unit was in trying to figure out how to unlock the door for the first time. This could have set a bad tone for the stay, if we hadn't finally sorted it out. It was dark and late when we arrived, so that made this more difficult. Hopefully, the following will help clarify the procedure of getting in for anyone else renting the unit:

First, note that there are two lock boxes. Both accept four digit codes. Use the one with the physical buttons to push, not the one with the combination-lock style tumbler.

Once you have figured out which lock box to use, begin by hitting the "Clear" button. Of the two buttons in the center, this is the bottom one (almost impossible to read in the dark). Then, enter the four-digit code provided to you, using the push buttons. Next, press down on the top button-looking thing in the center, which is actually kind of a latch that moves slightly down.

The latch doesn't move much, so the first time you do this, it can be rather hard to realize that you are trying to press it down while pulling it out at the same time. Also, salt air is hard on everything made of metal, and has made it a little hard to slide. When done correctly, the latch moves down, the top pulls outward, and the whole face comes off.

There is one key inside the lock box. Use it to get in the unit, and then put the key back in the lock box, in case you accidentally lock yourself out. There are two keys on wrist straps inside the unit to carry about.

Room Tip: The ocean side rooms are amazing, and have a great sunrise view. On the other hand, you're goin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aston Islander on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Islander on the Beach

Address: 440 Aleka Place, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Islander on the Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This newly-renovated oceanfront resort offers guests contemporary island-inspired decor, six acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, a sparkling pool and a stunning beachfront location. Enjoy the convenience of the adjacent Coconut Marketplace's 60 boutiques and restaurants. Oceanfront location and plantation-style charm make this relaxing resort the most enticing retreat on Kauai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Aston Islander on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Islander On The Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Best Western Kapaa
Resortquest Islander Beach Kauai
Islander Beach Kauai
Aston Islander On The Beach Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Islander on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.