We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel near beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Islander on the Beach to your Saves list
Aston Islander on the Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   440 Aleka Place, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Take 15% Off Your Stay
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel near beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Nice hotel, rooms are decent, hotel is remodeling right now. Located right next to the beach.
Nice hotel good location in kapaa. Decent hotel for the price you pay. Coconut market in close walking distance. we Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    538
    201
    74
    43
See reviews for
157
809
57
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Nice alternative if you decide to only stay in one spot during your trip (but we do suggest you spend some time up North and some time down South instead of always traveling from Kapaa). We had an Ocean view room and we really enjoyed it. The room itself was really top notch (we had a good price since we checked in with no reservation). Note that there is no restaurants in the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed four nights at the Islander as part of a package deal through Hawaiian Airlines. We knew we weren't going to be in the room much so we didn't want to spend a lot of money on our room, and the rates were very affordable. We were quite surprised at how clean and nice the room was. The hotel grounds were especially well kept. The lobby was open air and had that Hawaii feeling. We didn't care about ocean view or beach front because like I said, we weren't there much. We did spend a few evenings sitting in the comfortable chairs at the back of the lobby. It was a great place to talk, or read, or just look at the beautiful landscaping and flowers.

The pool was clean and well kept, the BBQ's were clean and all worked, and they had free DVD rentals with some very current movies. They also had a cabana bar at the pool that always had people at it and they seemed to be enjoying themselves.

The beach was just ok, but that was because it was quite windy during our stay. I'm sure during summer weather it is quite nice. We made it a point to get up early one morning and view the sunrise from the beach there. It was well worth it.

They had a nice little shopping mall with a few kiosk type eateries right across the parking lot. We ate at several of them and had no complaints. It wasn't five star dining, but it wasn't supposed to be and it was good for the price.

The only complaint I had is there wasn't enough parking. I was fortunate enough to find a spot every night, but some folks had to park in front of the shopping mall, which resulted in a longer walk to the hotel. They did have a security guard at night in the parking lots and they did help you with the parking.

They had a new general manager (sorry, I can't remember his name, but he was a big Hawaiian man). He was a great guy and we had a long chat at the front desk one afternoon. He was locally born and truly had a buy-in to the island and the property. I can only see it improving with him at the helm.

Overall, based on price, cleanliness, grounds, and extras, I have to give it five stars.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Had an ocean front condo on the second floor in March 2013 and woke up to whales on the horizon every morning. Love this hotel, the location, and Kapaa. This has everything you need. Going back to the same room Feb 2014!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Customer service
- the concierge was not the greatest and unhelpful. We did get a discount on a catamaran tour though (i think $20?)
- My boyfriend forgot his passport in the safe after we checked out. We had to call over 4 times over a period of 3 days to find out what had happened to it. We talked to a few different people and they kept transferring us and telling us we needed to speak to very specific people at very specific times when they are in about it. We live in a 5hr different time zone! Couldn't they just take a message?? Once they said they'd call us back in a few mins and of course, there was no call. Called again the next day to find out they had already shipped it to us. They never asked address we wanted them to send it to. Passports are very important documents and can be worth hundreds of thousands of dollars if in the wrong hands. Luckily the address they sent it to was okay.

Cleanliness
- beach had a good bit of debris on it. you can't walk with bare feet on the sand
- Room was pretty clean except the toaster had grease all over it and when i pulled the toaster out of the cupboard, my hand was coated in gross grease. Also, there was a roach crawling around in the middle of the day.
- Housekeeping seemed to do an okay job. There was a sign that said if we hang up our towels they won't replace them b/c it'll mean we want to save energy. It seemed as if they replaced them every time anyway.

Amenities
- on site laundry room was great! it was about $3 to wash and dry 1 load.
- In the kitchen we got a knife, cutting board, plates, bowls, utensils, dishwashing soap, sponge, drying rack, coffee maker with free coffee and tea, fridge, microwave, toaster
- hot tub sucked. lukewarm. fit about 8 people
- free parking, but don't be shocked if you can't find a parking spot at night
- close to Safeway and ABC stores for groceries/souvenirs
- beach had random shabby beach chairs spread sporadically. They are first-come-first-served and there were about 4 nearby. The others are near the other resorts.
- we got the ocean-front view and it was okay. We were on the ground floor, and there were people on the beach in the morning who could see into our room. Would have been nice to open the window to let the breeze in and hear the ocean. Would've had to lug our luggage upstairs but would've been worth it.

Room Tip: upstairs ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaniela N, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Aloha!

Thank you for sharing your experience while staying at the Aston Islander on the Beach. We strive to accommodate all of our guests with the best customer service possible. It is necessary to understand our guests experience while staying at the Resort in an effort to identify ways in which we can improve our customer's experience. We have recently added a light Continental Breakfast on Friday & Saturday mornings (very shortly offering 6 days a week) and live Hawaiian Music on Saturday Evenings. I hope you'll give us an opportunity to share some of these amenitities with you, please consider the Islander on the Beach when returning to the Island of Kauai,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atascadero, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is a nice place to stay, but it is lacking many things you would expect a "resort" to have. There is no restaurant on site,there are restaurants in very close walking distance, but if you're expecting room service food, it's not available. Eggberts right out front in the Coconut Plaza has a great breakfast and there's a walk-up bbq place in the plaza that has good food also. There are no soda/water/food vending machines on site either. The pool and hot tub are average. The poolside bar is cool, but doesn't open until 1:30 in the afternoon and closes at 9:00 p.m. Trees Lounge is right out front and would be your best bet for drinks later into the night.
The room was nice, a bit dated though. The location of our room was incredible, beachfront at its best.....I could throw a rock and hit the ocean from our balcony, we were that close. We left the slider open every night with the sounds of the waves to put us to sleep.
Although the beach was just steps away, this is NOT a snorkeling beach in any way, shape, or form. You can get into the water, but there are rip tides that make it less than safe to go out very far. It is also very, VERY windy on this side of the island. We made trips to Poipu and Waimea on the south side of the island and found the weather to be MUCH better and beaches great for snorkeling.
The staff was friendly and helpful. I'd say this place is just average as best and the traffic here in Kapaa can be HORRIBLE. If you're in a hurry to get somewhere, allow for ample time to deal with the traffic, the INCREDIBLY SLOW pace of traffic on the whole island, and know that the max posted speed limit you will EVER see is a whopping 50 m.p.h. It gets quite frustrating to say the least.
If you're looking to zipline while you're here, go with Koloa Zipline. Their crew is awesome and extremely safety conscious. It's a great time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enumclaw, Washington
Level Contributor
252 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed in a condo at the Aston Islander and really enjoyed it. We had an ocean front view (and what a view!). I wouldn't really call it a condo because it is just a hotel room with a "kitchen" which was really a wet bar with a microwave ad toaster oven. The room was very comfortable though and the hotel is close to Kapaa town. The pool area is very nice and there is a bar in the pool area. Even though we had read that the beach is not swimmable, people were swimming at it and we did too. You just have to be aware of ocean conditions. We would definitely stay here again. We found out about this on VRBO-contact is www.krellersgetaway.com.

Room Tip: Get a room/unit facing the ocean. The Kauai building is a very good one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
3.0 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#5 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 1,722 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
0.3 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 stars 508 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach
14.9 mi away
Sheraton Kauai Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Islander on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Islander on the Beach

Address: 440 Aleka Place, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#6 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Islander on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This oceanfront resort offers guests contemporary island-inspired decor, six acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, a sparkling pool and a stunning beachfront location. Enjoy the convenience of the adjacent Coconut Marketplace's 60 boutiques and restaurants. Oceanfront location and plantation-style charm make this relaxing resort the most enticing retreat on Kauai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Aston Islander on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Islander On The Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Best Western Kapaa
Resortquest Islander Beach Kauai
Islander Beach Kauai
Aston Islander On The Beach Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Islander on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.