We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for traveling North or South to attractions!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Save Saved
You added Aston Islander on the Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aston Islander on the Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   440 Aleka Place, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% OFF FALL TRAVEL
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Folsom, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Location for traveling North or South to attractions!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

As this is a review of the resort itself I can only comment on the limited contact with resort employees. We rented a condo here and everything was handled thru a rental agency. The resort does have units you can rent directly from them.

The grounds were well kept and employees were very friendly. We did have one problem with another tenant violating the no smoking rule and filling our unit with smoke. We were located right above them and from smoking on the Lanai it came right up into our unit. There is a no smoking rule on the complex coupled with a $ 450. fine. If they catch u in a owner owned condo you also lose your security deposit. The matter was handled by the resort immediately upon us reporting it.

Other than that the complex was very nice and quiet. The beach is not really the best for swimming but you can drive just up the street to Lydgate Park and swim where there is a rock breakwater.

Parking is a problem if you return late in the evening. All the spots will be taken and you will have to contact security or the desk and park at one of the complexes next door with an overnight pass. The plus is that there is no daily parking fee.

I might mention that there are no evaluators and you will have to use the stairs to lug you luggage up and down to your room. The buildings are three stories tall so if you have a mobility issue you
need to take that into consideration on booking a unit.

Overall the price and value for these units is great if you are budget minded.

Room Tip: I'm pretty sure that not all room have air conditioning. We didn't need it the first few day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    475
    176
    69
    42
See reviews for
118
710
54
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Post Falls, Idaho
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Three words, LACK OF PARKING!

When we got to our hotel, which was relatively easy to find and not far, in general terms, from the airport. They told us they were upgrading us to a 3rd floor, oceanview room. It was not front ocean, but still very nice. The room was clean, but further housekeeping left a little something to be desired, especially since they came so early.
There was a pigeon nest on the deck behind the a/c compressor. It was fine and we had not the heart to tell the management for fear they would remove and in the process kill the chicks. By the end of the trip, the young birds were growing and getting little louder in their chirps. This left us a bit irritated in the early morning when they wake up. We still tolerated the poor animals.
By the last couple nights the safe -which was a handy thought for the security of my life-saving Rx meds- decides it would break and we were up until 12:30am the night before flying out, waiting for the staff to figure out how to fix it so I could take my evening medication. I do have to say, the night manager & maintenance(?) were rushing to get it done as efficiently & friendly as possible.

Aside from the birds, the safe, drunks from the pool yelling until early morning, AND THE LACK OF CLOSE PARKING (WHICH THE FRONT DESK WILL TELL YOU NOT TO BELIEVE WHAT IS WRITTEN ON THE INTERNET & does not help when it is raining on you), the hotel was an enjoyable vacation for our 10th anniversary, because the Island IS all that and more.

Room Tip: Just go ahead and go for an oceanview - partial or full. It's worth it if you are coming here, e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My wife and I arrived from Oahu on day 7 of our trip to the wonderful Aston Islander on the Beach. We were pleasantly surprised with the clean, well presented hotel and lush, green grounds!

At the front desk we were met by a slightly frosty gentleman who was quick to brighten up once we got talking to him. We had a 3rd floor room with an Ocean View which was well worth it! We were in the Molokai block which has room at 90deg to the beach but the balconies have great views of the beach and hotel grounds alike.

The room itself was simple and clean with slightly outdated décor that was quite endearing actually. It was great having a small kitchen area allowing us to make lunch for some of our hiking days and have breakfast on the balcony. The hotel is located very close to 2 big supermarkets and the Coconut marketplace is right across the street - it's more of a touristy place but not too bad.

The pool was lovely and the hot tub even better but the star of the show within the hotel grounds was The Sandbar - the small hut/bar located next to the pool where guests can gather and chat while being served some amazing cocktails - I'm not kidding when I say these were some of the best drinks we had on our trip! Especially the Mai Tai's, pina colada and Long Island ice tea - good value during happy hour too!

There is no restaurant at the hotel but there are plenty located within walking distance - including Kintaro (Japanese), Monaco's (Mexican), Cafe Coco (Bistro) which were all fabulous.

We were very keen to explore Kauai and this hotel is ideally located to do just that! An hours drive from the farthest reaches of the North Shore and just under 2 hours away from the canyon trails it was perfect! Also factor in that it is only 20-30mins from the airport and it's a winner all round!

All in all a great place to stay for people wanting to see the whole of Kauai!

Room Tip: Try and get at least an Ocean View room - if you do make sure it's 3rd floor - stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Defiance, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We were happy with the location. Walking distance to stores and restaurants. Pool was very tiny, we didn't bother going to it. No lounges or anything on the beach. Room was clean. Kitchenette includes microwave, dorm size fridge, coffee maker and sink. A toaster would have been nice. We had partial ocean view and were pleased with view. Spent time on our balcony every day.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
itsumi, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Aloha and thank you for staying with us.

It's wonderful to hear from our guests on their experiences during their time at the property and on Kauai.

Yes, we agree that the pool is "small" for the number of units on property. We wish there was a way to increase the size. Maybe one day in the future, the association will look to expanding the pool area.

Aloha!

Sandi Kato-Klutke
General Manager
Aston Islander on the Beach
440 Aleka Place
Kapaa, HI 96746
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Highly recommend the oceanfront rooms. These are nice studio rooms with granite counter tops and tile floors. There is a kitchenette. Nice sitting area and a relaxing lanai. Nice pool in view of the ocean with a poolside bar. Overall, highly recommend this property. It is within walking distance of the Coconut Marketplace, there's a lot of shopping and a good breakfast place, Eggbert's. Don't miss Hukilau Lanai for dinner, walking distance at the resort next door, just make sure to make a reservation.

Room Tip: Go for oceanfront. You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Overall this was a nice property. We have stayed at properties on the Big Island and Maui and they were always nicely decorated with a Hawaiian feel. This room had one picture on a 30 foot wall..one. The furniture was nice and a big perk was the bed which was very comfortable. We had a good sized refrigerator, a sink and microwave and there were utensils and plates/glasses/cups. A coffee maker was provided with two filters of coffee each day. A nice lanai overlooking the pool area was also very cool. The staff was awesome and the people keeping the grounds did a great job as the grounds were immaculate. There was the Coconut Market within 2 minutes walking distance and other shops and places to eat that made this property very comfortable. I would stay here again but would recommend that owners would do a little "decorating" to make room 242 feel like a vacationer was in a tropical room. The Tiki Bar near the pool was a very nice thing to have right there.

Room Tip: There is no restaurant at this property however, several very nice ones close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is the first time I've done a review but our time spent at Islander was so great I felt I had to congratulate them in some way. Our room was perfect, anything we ever needed, from advice on where to eat to help with figuring out the DVD player, was done promptly and courteously. The property was beautiful, well-kept and peaceful. You'd never know that only a short walk away you could reach restaurants, shops and entertainment. We'd highly recommend this hotel resort to anyone looking for a relaxing time in Hawaii. P.S. Sue at the front desk and Mome in the concierge's office were exceptional and Esther did a great job taking care of our room.
Pam and Doug

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Islander on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Islander on the Beach

Address: 440 Aleka Place, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kapaa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Islander on the Beach 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This oceanfront resort offers guests contemporary island-inspired decor, six acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, a sparkling pool and a stunning beachfront location. Enjoy the convenience of the adjacent Coconut Marketplace's 60 boutiques and restaurants. Oceanfront location and plantation-style charm make this relaxing resort the most enticing retreat on Kauai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Aston Hotels & Resorts, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Aston Islander on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Islander On The Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Best Western Kapaa
Resortquest Islander Beach Kauai
Islander Beach Kauai
Aston Islander On The Beach Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Islander on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.