We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Stay at the Islander Beach Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Islander on the Beach to your Saves list
Aston Islander on the Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   440 Aleka Place, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Helena
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Our Stay at the Islander Beach Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Overall this was a nice property. We have stayed at properties on the Big Island and Maui and they were always nicely decorated with a Hawaiian feel. This room had one picture on a 30 foot wall..one. The furniture was nice and a big perk was the bed which was very comfortable. We had a good sized refrigerator, a sink and microwave and there were utensils and plates/glasses/cups. A coffee maker was provided with two filters of coffee each day. A nice lanai overlooking the pool area was also very cool. The staff was awesome and the people keeping the grounds did a great job as the grounds were immaculate. There was the Coconut Market within 2 minutes walking distance and other shops and places to eat that made this property very comfortable. I would stay here again but would recommend that owners would do a little "decorating" to make room 242 feel like a vacationer was in a tropical room. The Tiki Bar near the pool was a very nice thing to have right there.

Room Tip: There is no restaurant at this property however, several very nice ones close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    473
    523
    191
    72
    43
See reviews for
144
785
57
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is the first time I've done a review but our time spent at Islander was so great I felt I had to congratulate them in some way. Our room was perfect, anything we ever needed, from advice on where to eat to help with figuring out the DVD player, was done promptly and courteously. The property was beautiful, well-kept and peaceful. You'd never know that only a short walk away you could reach restaurants, shops and entertainment. We'd highly recommend this hotel resort to anyone looking for a relaxing time in Hawaii. P.S. Sue at the front desk and Mome in the concierge's office were exceptional and Esther did a great job taking care of our room.
Pam and Doug

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My wife and I got this resort through priceline, although after some more research found almost the same deal on normal websites. We ended up with a ocean view room on the 3rd floor. The grounds are beautiful and the beach is literally a step or two away from the property. The pool has a bar and a few BBQ's to grill your own food. The rooms have a sink, microwave, mini fridge and a few dishes/glasses/silverware for use. There is a resort fee of $15 per night in addition to whatever rate you get, however there are no other fees for parking, internet, playstation2 in the room, a movie kiosk, BBQ, newspaper. The lanai (deck) has two chairs and a table. Perfect location right in between north and south shore activities. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galt, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I did a lot of research and read a lot of reviews before booking, I heard all of the complaints about the parking and some of customer service, but in all reality when we got there we only had to park at the adjacent lot a few nights, the security guard was a pleasure to speak with when we did have to get a pass those few nights, it was so NOT a problem! The walk was maybe an extra 25 feet from parking at the actual Islander. So please don't let that stop you. We did have a problem with our hotel keys not working, but we reported problem and door was fixed, problem came back and we were changed to another room immediately. New room did not have a single problem and keys worked every single time. Bar was great, amazing Mai Tai's from Jason who loved to share knowledge of the island. Tree's next door had great live music, would return here again and again, would recommend to friends and family. Slept Beach Front with Slider open to sounds of waves crashing every night, monk seal was beached right in front of the hotel all day one day, amazing and beautiful views. great location, Kapaa has all food and store nearby, great travel point for the island.

Room Tip: Oceanfront is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

My spouse and I travel to Kauai often and we have stayed at The Islander on a number of occasions. Each time, we have enjoyed our stay with no issues. The Aston Islander is in one of the most convenient locations on the island, but right on the beach, which is nice.

Each room has a simple, but very nice wet bar, complete with sink, fridge, microwave, and serving ware. There is no stove or hot plate, but being right next door to the Coconut Marketplace, you're within walking distance to several restaurants (including those in the hotel next door). If you can, I would recommend an ocean view room for incredible views of the water and the peace and quiet most of us want while on the island. The hotel has a nice pool (which we don't use as we prefer the ocean) and hot tub with a pool bar on the patio. The complex also has laundry facilities and several grills for guest use.

The rooms are well appointed with comfortable beds, flat screen TV, and comfortable AC. Amenities for the bath are provided, as is iron and ironing board. There is also an in-room safe which is nice for laptops. The office personnel have always been helpful and friendly and we have always had great luck with the friendly housekeeping staff.

The only gripe I have is that wi-fi is only available in the lobby. Some privately owned rooms do offer wi-fi in room, but often ate cost. There are, of course, the standard resortnfees, which I find annoying. Also, please note that swimming in the ocean at the hotel site can be dangerous - be very cautious if you you swim and know that there aren't ant lifeguards nearby.

But you sure can't beat the price, the location, and the views! Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This condo is great. It's basically one of the hotel rooms without maid service. Sitting on the deck, there is a partial ocean view but the beach is like 100 yards away. Really easy to walk to. It's a pretty nice beach too. There can be good swimming and boogie-boarding days as well.

The condo came with beach chairs, a boogie-board, coolers, umbrella, beach bag, mat and towels. It was so nice having these. Just carry them right to the beach or haul them to other beaches.

The bathroom is pretty good size and nice. The room has tile floor, which is really nice for sand etc. The TV and stereo are nice to have and the couch is comfortable.

The AC and heating unit is awesome. It is new and works great. It can even dry the room out if it's humid.

The kitchen is all you need. Dishes, silverware, refrigerator, microwave, toaster oven, blender and coffee maker.

Overall a great place to stay. Can't beat the price and you get so much.

You can hear the upstairs and next door neighbors a bit. Mostly running water or if they are really loud. But turn on the AC unit to help cover the noise.

The grounds and area are really nice too. And there is Coconut Marketplace right next for you to walk to.

The location is central too, so you can drive up North one day then go South the next. And the weather and beaches on the East are nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This would be a great place to go for a Romantic getaway OR a family vacation. Our room was right on the beach, on the third floor. We slept with the screen open so we could hear the beautiful ocean noises and birds serenading us. There was a little area for groceries/microwave and all, so we had everything we needed. It's nice being between the sunny and rainy area in Kauai so that you can head either way. We loved our trip. I definitely recommend the helicopter and movie tours to see the parts of the island you can't drive to!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Islander on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Islander on the Beach

Address: 440 Aleka Place, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#6 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Islander on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This oceanfront resort offers guests contemporary island-inspired decor, six acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, a sparkling pool and a stunning beachfront location. Enjoy the convenience of the adjacent Coconut Marketplace's 60 boutiques and restaurants. Oceanfront location and plantation-style charm make this relaxing resort the most enticing retreat on Kauai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, EasyToBook, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Aston Islander on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Islander On The Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Best Western Kapaa
Resortquest Islander Beach Kauai
Islander Beach Kauai
Aston Islander On The Beach Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Islander on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.