We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Islander on the Beach to your Saves list
Aston Islander on the Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   440 Aleka Place, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Take 15% Off Your Stay
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Hawker, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good value and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

spent a week in February 2013 in Room 372 up on third floor, with partial view to ocean. Used Interval International for a great rate, and found that the accomoodation was clean, comfortable and represernted good value for money. Parking is mentioned a lot in these reviews - we managed to get a spot every after returning from snhorkelling trips or excursions. While it has no catering facilities, the excellent restaurant next door (Hukilau Lanai) was first class, and for cheaper alternatives there are a few places in the village shopping centre next door. Reception staff were friendly, the service included free wifi in the rooms, and overall the stay was very pleasant. While the pool is very small for a condo of this size, as the wind was really strong at that time of year, it was no trouble going down to Poipu for great beach and snorkelling trips. At the prices the Aston is charging, you get good value for money.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms have good views, if you can get your luggage up the 2 flights of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    491
    540
    202
    74
    43
See reviews for
158
810
57
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This hotel is in a good location presuming you want to see the whole island during your trip. While clean and comfortable, three things were annoying. First, the hotel does not have enough guest parking. You can get a pass to park in the adjacent shopping area but that was inconvenient. Second, the air conditioning controls did not work well causing us to be a little too cool or warm at night. Finally, the door on our room had a very strong spring on it to ensure it closed. This took us by surprise early on resulting in a deep bruise on a forearm.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, ID
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The room we had was nice. The view from the balcony was guidebook perfect and the sounds of waves crashing was great. The sound deadening was enough that with the balcony door closed the room was quiet. The room was clean and has a small sink, refrigerator, microwave, a few dishes and silverware. It served very well for light breakfasts, a place to reheat leftovers, and a way to take advantage of the fresh tropical fruit from the local farmers markets. Almost everything in the room worked. The curtains and the screen door on to the balcony were hard to open and close.

The folks on the desk when we checked in left something to be desired. While they were not unfriendly they definitely did not present a welcoming attitude and I sure can’t say I felt well informed about the facility. Parking is a problem. If you get there when the front lot is full you have to go inside get a second parking permit and go park in the back of the adjacent Coconut Marketplace shopping center. This second permit expires the following day at 10:00AM so you have to move your car and if you come back after the front lot is full again, and if it is after about 6PM it will be, you have to get another one day permit.

They do not have any elevators in most of the buildings so if you are on anything except the ground floor you are looking at dragging your luggage up stairs. I never saw anyone who looked like a bellhop during the time we were there. The Islander is located a block or so off the main street which makes it quieter but also makes it harder to find. I did not see any sign on the road and if it were not for a guidebook we had it would have been extremely to find especially in the dark. It also did not show on the maps from the car rental. Look for the Coconut Market Place and turn right on the North end (towards Kapa’a) and go behind it.
Once you find it it is easy to find your way back. Getting out on to highway 56 southbound can be difficult during part of the day. It is extremely congested.

You will get to pay a $15.00/day plus tax amenity fee for the privilege of having WiFi, ”free” DVD rentals, daily newspaper, in-room coffee and tea and in-room safe. Guess the hotels are following the airlines lead and adding “fees” on to everything

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
159 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had left the Hilton Hawaiian Village on Oahu and decided to see Kauai for a few days. We booked at the Aston Islander on the Beach in Kapaa. We had a room on the top floor right in one of the units on the beach. It was great. We would leave the lanai door open at night and you could swear that the waves were going to come right in your room. What a great nights sleep. The room was extremely clean and reasonably priced. The lobby was very cozy with all the necessary amenities (computers, etc.). The front desk staff was extremely friendly and knowledgeable with regards to area sites and attractions. Sue and I loved this place. We would sit on the beach at 5am with coffee and watch the sun come up. It is adjacent to the Coconut Marketplace which is another nice feature. Great place at a good value!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel twice. It's a very reasonable priced hotel with a swimming pool hot tub and barbeques that are all included with your stay. The hotel rooms were nice sized with lots of storage. The view from our oceanfront room was breathtaking. I have stayed here twice and will stay again

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The rooms are large and comfortable. A hot tub, bar and swimming pool are open on the property. They are open even in the rain. Shopping center and coffee cafes are near by. Parking after dark at the hotel can be a challenge. A wonderful restaurant, Hukilau is within walking distance of the hotel. However, you need reservations. The hotel is within driving distance of an excellent Mexican restaurant, Monicos. This is in a convenient location and is not far from the airport.

Room Tip: Select a room in the main center with the office of you are coming in late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowen Island, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Terrific view from the room (and sound of the surf) for a modest price, one minute stroll to the (non-swimming but very lovely) beach. Everything you need is in walking distance -- we only rented a car for 3 days of our 3 week vacation to go to some of the farther-away attractions and beaches. Kitchenette is great though it lacks a stovetop (has a microwave and decent size fridge). Pool is well-located and convivial place to meet others at the hotel, which is easy to do. Close to 1/2 of the rooms seem to be owned by residents (and are often sublet), so the competition probably keeps rates down. Cleaning staff are wonderful and thorough. Everyone was hospitable. It's like home away from home -- felt like I could settle in for months, or even live there. My first visit to Hawai'i and I was entranced by the natives -- I've never felt so welcome anywhere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
3.0 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#5 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 1,724 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
0.3 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 stars 510 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Kauai at Coconut Beach
14.9 mi away
Sheraton Kauai Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Islander on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Islander on the Beach

Address: 440 Aleka Place, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#6 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Islander on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This oceanfront resort offers guests contemporary island-inspired decor, six acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, a sparkling pool and a stunning beachfront location. Enjoy the convenience of the adjacent Coconut Marketplace's 60 boutiques and restaurants. Oceanfront location and plantation-style charm make this relaxing resort the most enticing retreat on Kauai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Aston Islander on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Islander On The Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Best Western Kapaa
Resortquest Islander Beach Kauai
Islander Beach Kauai
Aston Islander On The Beach Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Islander on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.