We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ocean Front Property” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Islander on the Beach to your Saves list
Aston Islander on the Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   440 Aleka Place, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Take 15% Off Your Stay
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
New Ulm, Minnesota
Level Contributor
139 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Ocean Front Property”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed at the Aston Islander on the Beach the first night of our stay in Kauai. We arrived around 9pm and the check in process was smooth. There are steps and we stayed on the 3rd floor of the main building. This wasn't bad, but we were tired from travelling and had to lug all of our bags up the steps.

Parking was a bit of a challenge, they to have overrun parking in the Cocnut Marketplace backlot, but you need to have a ticket from the security guard to use this overnight parking.

The rooms were roomy, but the beds were extremely soft. The bathroom is spacious and the rooms were clean. The rooms also have a small kitchentte area with a small sink, fridge, glassware, and microwave. The property is a bit dated, but I think many propertied in Kauai are what I would call "dated". The ocean view from our 3rd floor lanai was great. We have a view of the pool area and could see over the top of the pool to the ocean.

The one large complaint I have is the situation my parents ran into. My parents stayed at Aston Islander on the Beach for the last 3 days of their Kauai trip. We stopped after checking out of our timeshare resort around 10:30am to see if by chance their room would be ready for check in. Their room was not ready and we could come back at 3pm. So we ventured out for the day and returned around 5:15pm where my sister and parents would check in. My parents were given a key to a 1st floor room as they requested only to find that someone already had bags in the room they were given...oops and scary (this has happened to me before in Ohio at the Great Wolf Lodge and it really opened my eyes that anyone could have access to your room when your things are sitting in your room). So they went back to registration and they were told that they had no other rooms, however there were 15 or so people that were in line to check in or checked in while my mother was waiting for resolution. My father told them that they had confirmed their room before the trip from MN to HI and they better resolve the situation they did not want to stay at another property (keep in mind I stayed here, my sister, and my parents were planning to), I stayed the Friday before to ensure they had a 1st floor room, and we had stopped that morning...all along they had a reservation. So the front-desk clerk was calling around to hotels and my father realizing she did not know how to handle the situation suggested she contact the hotel manager to help resolve the situation.

In the end they worked things out and my parents were upgraded to a first floor ocean front room. Unfortunately, I wonder if someone else was bumped from the hotel room that they reserved or if she was not 100% honest when she explained that the hotel was sold out and she would see if she could find them a room at another property.

Room Tip: 3rd floor room for a nice view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
itsumi, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Aloha!

Please convey my sincere apologies to your parents for the incoveniences they experienced during their stay with us.

I am happy to read that they were upgraded and got an unit on the ground floor. But, this does not excuse the behavior of the guest service agents nor the long wait that your parents had to endure.

I do hope you will come back to Aston Islander on the Beach and please don't hesitate to contact me should you need any assistance.

With warmest aloha,

Sandi Kato-Klutke
General Manager
Aston Islander on the Beach
440 Aleka Place
Kapaa, HI 96746

Tel: 808 823-7600
sandi.kato-klutke@astonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    535
    200
    74
    43
See reviews for
157
802
57
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Great location - next to the beach and close to everything you need on the island. Price was very reasonable given the location. There is 15 USD nightly amenity fee that covers parking, wi-fi and DVD rentals. No restaurant, but you can easily buy anything you need or eat at nearby Coconut MarketPlace. Very good place to explore Kauai for budget travelers..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had a week long reservation at the recommendation of a friend. Although the condo was clean and we got a great deal, unfortunately, the Aston Islander has seen its day. The pool area is small and crowded. The sand at the beach was coarse and the beach was not swimmable at least when we went (Feb). The shops area that is within walking distance was similarly run down and, quite frankly, depressing. There is laundry on-site, which was convenient. The location is also pretty decent in terms of its proximity to the airport and being able to explore the S/SW side of the island. We did, however, end up leaving our reservation early (and eating the cost of the remaining days as we were paid in full) to go to another hotel. Just don't get a nice "resorty" feel here. It reminded me of the cheap vacations to Virginia Beach I took as a kid vs. being in Hawaii for a nice getaway.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
itsumi, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Aloha & thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor.

The beach is rough, especially during the winter when the surf is high, making it not a swimmable beach. It's a great spot to sunbath and watch the sunrise. If you were were when the moon was full, it's breathtaking to see it come up on the horizon.

The Coconut Market Place was recently bought and it is undergoing major renovations. The great spot there is Eggberts with their wonderful banana pancakes.

I'm sorry to hear that you were not happy with your accommodations but do hope you were able to find a property with full service and you found many wonderful spots to see on our special island of Kauai.

With warmest aloha,

Sandi Kato-Klutke
General Manager
Aston Islander on the Beach
440 Aleka Place
Kapaa, HI 96746

Tel: 808 823-7600
sandi.kato-klutek@astonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed for two weeks and this central Hotel was clean, well furnished in ideal for our self catering needs. Laundry on site very convenient and the staff extremley helpful. The beach was quiet and the pool a little cramped but if you hired a car, drive to Anini beach, Hanalei bay or Kips bay.
The cafe across the way is good, if you want to pay for breakfast each day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed in an ocean front room here for 7 nights. The hotel is very charming, especially the open lobby. Our room was clean and our good-sized balcony provided plenty of room for dining and it provided a wonderful view of the ocean and Hawaiian sunrises. Unfortunately, the beach was not appropriate for swimming and pigeons were a bit of a nuisance. We felt the reception desk staff could have been a bit more friendly & helpful, and we found the $15 per night "resort" fee a bit much, especially considering it included free DVD rentals from a machine that was broken for most of the week. Nevertheless, we would stay here again, as it was very clean, comfortable, and a most convenient location to explore the rest of the island.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are quite reasonable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The property was clean, close to the ocean and close to shopping/ dining. The Islander is not bad if you know you're not getting any frills, service or romantic setting. Probably great place to lay your head at night while you explore during the day. Most of the clientele appeared to be smoking their last cigarette and enjoying the sun for their last few days of life. So, if expecting atmosphere at the hotel, this is not your place.

We had a second floor ocean view room. The room lacked privacy. Folks walk along the trail along the beach were able to see into the entire room. There was a fixed curtain on the right side that covered about 1/3 of the view.

TIPS AND FAVORITES:
There is a nice cement trail that lines the ocean and starts about 3/4 mile to the north. The trail takes you along the ocean through Kapa'a, beaches and is a nice flat, beautiful ride. You can rent beach chairs, bikes, snorkel gear, etc. right in the parking lot of the Islander. If you like fish tacos check out Monico's about five minute walk south and/ or Tiki Tacos 15/20 minute(???) walk to the north. Starbucks is a 10 minute walk to the north.

Room Tip: The "oceanfront" rooms do not have enough privacy to leave the curtains/ door open without...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
itsumi, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

It's always great to read comments from our guests. I am sorry to read that you your stay was not to your expectations.

Yes, our ocean front units all front the jogging path. The drapery has a black out drapery that covers the entire sliding glass door and the stationary drapery over the window. We will go and check all of our ocean front units to be sure that the drapery covers that entire area.

I do hope you were able to enjoy the sunrises and the beach frontage during your stay with us.
Everyone is looking forward to the completion of the bike path that will go from Lydgate Park to and including Kealia. Come back and experience the unobstructed view of the ocean from the path that traverses the resorts in the Wailua to Kealia areas.

Should you have other questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With warmest aloha,

Sandi Kato-Klutke
General Manager
Aston Islander on the Beach
440 Aleka Place
Kapaa, HI 96746

Tel: 808 823-7600
Fax: 808 822-1947

sandi.kato-klutke@astonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The rooms have been clean. The staff has been helpful. One of the best experiences at the Aston Islander are the conversations with a great bar tender! However, the hot tub is a touch too warm. There are construction noises and distractions at times, which is excusable.
The location is central location to island activities and the price is reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
Kauai Beach Resort
#5 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Garden Island Inn
#2 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 stars 500 reviews
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Islander on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Islander on the Beach

Address: 440 Aleka Place, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#6 Family Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Islander on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This oceanfront resort offers guests contemporary island-inspired decor, six acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, a sparkling pool and a stunning beachfront location. Enjoy the convenience of the adjacent Coconut Marketplace's 60 boutiques and restaurants. Oceanfront location and plantation-style charm make this relaxing resort the most enticing retreat on Kauai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aston Islander on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Islander On The Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Best Western Kapaa
Resortquest Islander Beach Kauai
Islander Beach Kauai
Aston Islander On The Beach Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Islander on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.