We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for budget travelers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aston Islander on the Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Aston Islander on the Beach to your Saves list
Aston Islander on the Beach
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   440 Aleka Place, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great place for budget travelers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Great location - next to the beach and close to everything you need on the island. Price was very reasonable given the location. There is 15 USD nightly amenity fee that covers parking, wi-fi and DVD rentals. No restaurant, but you can easily buy anything you need or eat at nearby Coconut MarketPlace. Very good place to explore Kauai for budget travelers..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    492
    185
    70
    42
See reviews for
124
743
56
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had a week long reservation at the recommendation of a friend. Although the condo was clean and we got a great deal, unfortunately, the Aston Islander has seen its day. The pool area is small and crowded. The sand at the beach was coarse and the beach was not swimmable at least when we went (Feb). The shops area that is within walking distance was similarly run down and, quite frankly, depressing. There is laundry on-site, which was convenient. The location is also pretty decent in terms of its proximity to the airport and being able to explore the S/SW side of the island. We did, however, end up leaving our reservation early (and eating the cost of the remaining days as we were paid in full) to go to another hotel. Just don't get a nice "resorty" feel here. It reminded me of the cheap vacations to Virginia Beach I took as a kid vs. being in Hawaii for a nice getaway.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
itsumi, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Aloha & thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor.

The beach is rough, especially during the winter when the surf is high, making it not a swimmable beach. It's a great spot to sunbath and watch the sunrise. If you were were when the moon was full, it's breathtaking to see it come up on the horizon.

The Coconut Market Place was recently bought and it is undergoing major renovations. The great spot there is Eggberts with their wonderful banana pancakes.

I'm sorry to hear that you were not happy with your accommodations but do hope you were able to find a property with full service and you found many wonderful spots to see on our special island of Kauai.

With warmest aloha,

Sandi Kato-Klutke
General Manager
Aston Islander on the Beach
440 Aleka Place
Kapaa, HI 96746

Tel: 808 823-7600
sandi.kato-klutek@astonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stayed for two weeks and this central Hotel was clean, well furnished in ideal for our self catering needs. Laundry on site very convenient and the staff extremley helpful. The beach was quiet and the pool a little cramped but if you hired a car, drive to Anini beach, Hanalei bay or Kips bay.
The cafe across the way is good, if you want to pay for breakfast each day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed in an ocean front room here for 7 nights. The hotel is very charming, especially the open lobby. Our room was clean and our good-sized balcony provided plenty of room for dining and it provided a wonderful view of the ocean and Hawaiian sunrises. Unfortunately, the beach was not appropriate for swimming and pigeons were a bit of a nuisance. We felt the reception desk staff could have been a bit more friendly & helpful, and we found the $15 per night "resort" fee a bit much, especially considering it included free DVD rentals from a machine that was broken for most of the week. Nevertheless, we would stay here again, as it was very clean, comfortable, and a most convenient location to explore the rest of the island.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are quite reasonable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The property was clean, close to the ocean and close to shopping/ dining. The Islander is not bad if you know you're not getting any frills, service or romantic setting. Probably great place to lay your head at night while you explore during the day. Most of the clientele appeared to be smoking their last cigarette and enjoying the sun for their last few days of life. So, if expecting atmosphere at the hotel, this is not your place.

We had a second floor ocean view room. The room lacked privacy. Folks walk along the trail along the beach were able to see into the entire room. There was a fixed curtain on the right side that covered about 1/3 of the view.

TIPS AND FAVORITES:
There is a nice cement trail that lines the ocean and starts about 3/4 mile to the north. The trail takes you along the ocean through Kapa'a, beaches and is a nice flat, beautiful ride. You can rent beach chairs, bikes, snorkel gear, etc. right in the parking lot of the Islander. If you like fish tacos check out Monico's about five minute walk south and/ or Tiki Tacos 15/20 minute(???) walk to the north. Starbucks is a 10 minute walk to the north.

Room Tip: The "oceanfront" rooms do not have enough privacy to leave the curtains/ door open without...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
itsumi, General Manager at Aston Islander on the Beach, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

It's always great to read comments from our guests. I am sorry to read that you your stay was not to your expectations.

Yes, our ocean front units all front the jogging path. The drapery has a black out drapery that covers the entire sliding glass door and the stationary drapery over the window. We will go and check all of our ocean front units to be sure that the drapery covers that entire area.

I do hope you were able to enjoy the sunrises and the beach frontage during your stay with us.
Everyone is looking forward to the completion of the bike path that will go from Lydgate Park to and including Kealia. Come back and experience the unobstructed view of the ocean from the path that traverses the resorts in the Wailua to Kealia areas.

Should you have other questions, please do not hesitate to contact me.

With warmest aloha,

Sandi Kato-Klutke
General Manager
Aston Islander on the Beach
440 Aleka Place
Kapaa, HI 96746

Tel: 808 823-7600
Fax: 808 822-1947

sandi.kato-klutke@astonhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The rooms have been clean. The staff has been helpful. One of the best experiences at the Aston Islander are the conversations with a great bar tender! However, the hot tub is a touch too warm. There are construction noises and distractions at times, which is excusable.
The location is central location to island activities and the price is reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reno, nevada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Rented a studio through the owner at this complex. The space was an older remodel, nicely decorated in Tommy Bahamas island style, and had all the necessities except a dishwasher. We had a partial ocean view, could hear the surf. The grounds were pretty, the office staff was helpful. The beach was beautiful to look at, but tough to swim, with coral reefs abundant. It was a quick walk to a nearby secluded beach for swim and snorkeling. The town was easy walking distance for groceries, trinkets, etc. Good restaurants were nearby. We traveled during a very busy week and couldn't get a rental car until the last 24 hrs of our stay. (We used the local bus, which was easy, timely and cheap.) We encountered a busy parking lot at night, but we found a place behind the local bar. There was plenty of street parking. The clientele seemed older, which added to the serenity to the place, (except during poolside happy-hour). For a moderate priced place in Hawaii, it met all my expectations and then some.

Room Tip: stayed in 216. If I go back I'd like to stay on the front oceanfront row
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aston Islander on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Islander on the Beach

Address: 440 Aleka Place, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kapaa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Islander on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This oceanfront resort offers guests contemporary island-inspired decor, six acres of beautifully landscaped grounds, a sparkling pool and a stunning beachfront location. Enjoy the convenience of the adjacent Coconut Marketplace's 60 boutiques and restaurants. Oceanfront location and plantation-style charm make this relaxing resort the most enticing retreat on Kauai. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Aston Hotels & Resorts, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Aston Islander on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Islander On The Beach Hotel Kapaa
Aston Hotel Kapaa
Best Western Kapaa
Resortquest Islander Beach Kauai
Islander Beach Kauai
Aston Islander On The Beach Kauai/Kapaa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aston Islander on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.